We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locked out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The room- guest king with city views - excellent. Atho' the bathroom somewhat cosy -walk-in shower OK if you don't mind a wet floor - personally I find it quite challenging.
I would have appreciated being advised (during check-in) that the in room mini bar was locked. Not experienced this anywhere else - even tho' credit card provided for additional charges. Felt most uncomfortable about this it really spoilt our visit.

$25 pp buffet breakfast a little steep - but it was a holiday weekend.
$12 parking fee quite reasonable

Room Tip: Do ask for a room with a view - on a previous stopover (5 nights) I had a blank wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKDBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that the security lock/seal on the mini bar made you feel uncomfortable. The seal does explain that by calling room service the fridge and be opened at anytime. I hope that this procedure does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,359 - 2,365 of 2,915 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, rooms are spacious. Service was fantastic as was the food on offer. Location was ideal as it was close enough to the CBD n other attractions like Luna Park. I would definitely stay there again n would recommend to family n friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for writing a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is great to read that you will be returning in the future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

great for travellers who are visiting melbourne and great for melbourians who want an inner city night or two get away!
great rooms; spacious.
friendly amd accomodating staff.
great amenties ; spa, gym, sauna, undercover parking.
i loved this hotel, i will be staying here again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Eliza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Eliza thank for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Away from a lot of the glitz, but conveniently located for everything, with trams at the doorstep, and a taxi rank. For anyone visiting Melbourne's south side, city or sporting venues it's a great place to stay. Easy car access with free parking after hours can to be found nearby. I got a great Sunday night deal including car parking and breakfast for two which made it fantastic value for this quality hotel. My reservation was handled very efficiently. All the staff were professional, friendly and unpretentious. Rooms and bathrooms modern, comfortable and spotless. I would recommend this hotel as a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliemarriott511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights from Christmas Eve. From our first contact which was efficient and helpful to the checkout which was friendly we found staying here a pleasure in every way. The pool is cute, for sitting in and the washing and drying machines were gentle on our clothes. Breakfast was wide ranging, with omelettes and poached eggs available. The toaster is average and fruits were tasty and fresh. Yoghurts were delicious. The only criticism I would make is that there were signs in the lift advertising lunch when it was not available. We discovered there was no lunch available on Christmas day as on Christmas eve, when we arrived, the restaurant was in operation.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over Christmas. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would also like to thank you for bringing to my attention some signage that should have been removed !
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent hotel, booked a special deal the day before staying, fantastic value. Very clean , looks like rooms have just had an upgrade, fresh paint, bathrooms nice and modern, great little dressing room with make up mirror, perfect! Breakfast was great excellent selection. Tram to Fed Square about 10 min , 5 min to St. Kilda . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Joanne thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

had a lovely room with a king size bed , staff were great, real value you for money , close to the City ,St Kilda and Prahran. Close to the tram stop or close enough to walk . Breakfast was great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Rhonda thank you for writing a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#41 of 162 in Melbourne
3,288 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing