We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Stay, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a great location mid way between the city centre and St Kilda beaches. Trams run all the time in both directions so you are not more than 5-6 minutes from either. You are also walking distance to Pahran and Greville St shopping districts.

The staff very really helpful and a great asset to the hotel. They were friendly and took care of all our requests, including moving room without a problem.

The rooms were big, very clean and comfortable.

Free Wifi was excellent.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your positive comments about the staff which I will certainly pass onto them.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    899
    155
    39
    28
See reviews for
396
961
120
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Always welcoming , clean and comfortable. Very central. Parking on site a little tricky and small but adequate. All local parking is metered and monitored.
Transport good. Dinner menus in restaurant could improve slightly on variety .

Check in and out speedy. Staff friendly with good local knowledge.

Room Tip: All good from quiet to city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MFTPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great location if anyone has to attend the Alfred Hospital, as my wife did. the rooms are very comfortable & the amenities are first class. The reception personnel are very efficient & friendly. Top class.

Room Tip: corner suites are large & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Gordon thank you for taking the time to write a review. I agree we are ideally located to the Alfred Hospital but hopefully on you next visit you can just enjoy your time in Melbourne !
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stay here frequently and never have any problems. Staff are always very helpful and courteous. We always have a great breakfast and wish it lasted all day! Highly recommend this hotel. Only downside is the car parking is very tight and wouldn't recommend any larger cars. Otherwise excellent stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lexi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Lexi thank you for staying with us again ! I will certainly pass your comments onto my team and I hope to welcome you back again soon !
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We recently stayed here on the night of our work break up. On arrival there had been a mix up with the date booked, however the staff member that checked us in did not make a fuss about it and found us a room straight away and handled it in a very professional manner. The recently refurbished rooms are very nice and hopefully the main foyer and lifts are next to be done (a little dated) All the staff were friendly and courteous and we will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Andrew thank you for writing a review and I appreciate your comments.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent one night there for a show in Melbourne. Staff courteous and helpful, Car park was a bit tight and parking spaces narrow and not many empty but did get one. The room we stayed in was fantastic, spotless, spacious and with a great view of the cricket ground which due to my schedule I was unable to take advantage of my late checkout to sit in the armchair and watch.
Getting a taxi into the city that evening was a bit more difficult than it should've been and the staff member wasn't much help
The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.
The breakfast was also very good with a huge varietey and reasonably hot and although I had to buy a 'proper' coffee it was delicious. Overall a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cricket ground, also gives a great view of the Melbourne skyline of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harry_Sheila2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Harry thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your comments and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie LIttman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

the ro..om we had was lovely. we had a view of a park and the melb skyline. there was everything in the room you would need and the layout was great. I forgot to pack socks for my hubby and when I had a look at their 'motel shopping' list, low and behold you could purchase socks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when I told my hubby he thought I was joking but no went to reception and purchased some bond socks for only $8. there were other things on the list that would be very handy if you have forgotten something. all the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. the tram stop is a very short stroll away so it was very easy going into the cbd and st. Kilda which we did. will definitely stay here again when going to melb.!!!!!!!!!!! forgot to mention we had a 1.00pm check-out which was brilliant after a great night b4!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Karen thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and it is great to read that we had some socks available !
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#19 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing