We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent, no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$20 Off Food & Beverage
Ranked #26 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent, no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed with one friend for two nights for an architectural site visit, coming from Sydney. Unfortunately the only reason I rate the service 3/5 is because I was constantly hassled to submit the OurDeal voucher I required for my stay: fair enough, but it required a lot of correspondance with family in Sydney at less than ideal hours. The voucher was e-mailed through and I was still told it was not received. Having a CC of the e-mail, I showed it to the front desk who confirmed the email was correct and yet it had not gone through, despite going through to my own email. Obviously there are some email issues or something of the like.

Other than that, which was a minor blemish on an otherwise great trip, I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Great value for money (using the voucher) which included free breakfast, which was great. The surrounds are quiet despite being near a major road, facilities good and really nothing else to say. 10 minute tram ride to the CBD, and the tram stops about 100m from the hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Anthony Z

I'd like to apologise for the problem you experienced with your voucher during your stay. The voucher is the method of payment for your booking and without it we don't get paid, which is why you need to provide it on check in. We did allow you to check in without the voucher as you were getting your family member to email it through to us. Unfortunately they emailed through the wrong item, it was a copy of the deal and not the actual voucher. We replied to them letting them know that and followed it up with you. The voucher was then received the following morning. There were no email issues, just a small mistake made by your family member which was rectified reasonably quickly.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel though and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    867
    152
    38
    28
See reviews for
373
924
118
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We bought a coupon of the internet and have to say it delivered on everything that was advertised. Great location and well appointed. We arrived early and the room was not ready, but that was fine with us. Very helpful front desk. They offered to hold our bags until the room was ready.We went out and returned in the evening after dinner to find our bags in the room. Room was very nice and plenty of space. Hugh bed and very comfy. Carpark was a bit of a challenge with a big sedan but we managed. Great breakfast buffet that catered for everything. Will be back to this beautiful Hotel, enjoyed our stay it was just to short. Hope you will have more of these specials as I will use them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Sabine E

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. The deals are really good value and a great way for us to introduce a new audience to the hotel, If you like our page on Facebook you will be amongst the first to know about our new promos.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamieson
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very centrally located and if you have a car, very easy to get too, and leave. Rooms and bed were awesome and they have some very special deals. We got the parking and breakfast included, and I stay in Melb a fair bit, this is the best deal available. On top of all this, staff great, position excellent and value better than none!

Room Tip: Keep an eye on their special deals. If you need to be East/South of Melbourne, this is the place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamieson3723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Jamieson3723

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. If you enjoy our deals don't forget to like our page on Facebook to be amongst the first to know about all our new promos. I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here twice in July with my wife and two boys.

The room was well laid out and the decor quite modern and stylish. The beds are super comfortable. Rooms were well serviced and very clean.

Buffet breakfast offered a great variety and the hot food was constantly being replenished.

Despite what others are saying, it's really not that far from the CBD. The trams are very frequent and it only took 5 - 8 minutes to get to Flinders St.

The staff are great. They had great advice on how to get around, what to see and do in Melbourne and were very helpful with the baggage issues we had with our airline. They had activity packs for the kids on arrival - nice touch.

All in all, a very comfortable, relaxing stay at a well appointed hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeymike73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi mikeymike73

Thanks for your great review, I'm really pleased that you and your family had such a nice time. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights and although it's a fair way from the CBD there are trams close and the service was superb. Loved the gym and will definitely be back again when we come to Melbourne. We had breakfast and although it was expensive there was plenty of food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Sharon S

Thanks for your great review we appreciate it. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the service is something we work really hard at and it's great to hear your positive comments. We currently have a free breakfast special on some of the websites at the moment so could be a good time to grab a room.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night as we were in Melbourne to watch the Liverpool FC v Melbourne Victory game. Having stayed at many luxury hotels around the world my expectation is generally high of hotels. This hotel did not disapoint one bit, free wifi and free breakfast was included in an already amazingly low price of about $130 a night. Both my fiancee and I loved our stay, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was clean and looked modern. The only thing I did not like was our view which was of another highrise building next to us and the distance away from Melbourne CBD (10 minute tram ride or 45 minute walk). Overall, a lovely stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jogti811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi jogti811

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. Next time book a city view room and you get guaranteed a front facing room that looks out over the park and the city skyline. It's usually around $20 - $30 more on the website.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We left it a bit last minute to book a hotel for our anniversary, and not wanting to spend a whole lot we ventured a little out of the city center and found this great hotel.
The deal we got was pretty good and included parking and a buffet breakfast. The staff were kind enough to let us leave the car at the hotel until after lunch so we could explore the area on foot. Probably not really walking distance to any tourist attractions, but we certainly had a good wander around.
The layout of the room was great, with a small dressing area before you walk into the bathroom, and the spa/sauna facilities on the top floor, although not huge were nice and clean.
Check out was 11am, which was much appreciated.
We stayed in a City View room with a king size bed. Only complaint, which again is my pet hate, no extra blankets in the room for people like me who freeze at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Kathiiy

Thanks for your great review and I'm pleased you had such a nice surprise at the Parkview. You can always call down for extra blankets if you wish, we have extras in housekeeping for this eventuality. Check out our facebook page if you like offers, we put them all up there for our fans to see.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#30 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing