We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #30 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

great location not far from the lake alfred hospital skip and a jump away from the city chapel street yarra river. location couldn't be better . sauna spa on the top story of the hotel, nice. rooms need refurbishment and that can be said for the whole hotel would recommend staying if position is important resteraunt better for breakfast then dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianePd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyAndronikos, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

HI ianePd

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed the hotel's location, it certainly is in the middle of everything.

The hotel underwent an $8m refurbishment from Oct 2010 to Mar 2011 and the product is looking great, as the many reviews here on TripAdvisor can attest. I notice that you stayed in December 2012 so maybe the long period between your stay and your review has seen you mix us up with another hotel? You should make sure to stay here next time you travel to Melbourne to clear it up. :)

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,904 - 2,910 of 3,159 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Overall the stay was fantastic. Few small hiccups but they were sorted and fixed instantly. I have stayed several times and would stay again for sure. The buffet Brekky is fantastic, so good that it ran out early! That was the only downfall.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Lexi K

Thanks for the review, I'm really pleased that you enjoy your stays at the Parkview and keep giving us your positive feedback. The breakfast buffet does certainly get hammered on busy days but there is always more food on the way as quickly as we can possibly get it out there. Looking forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed one night at The Cullen on a TravelZoo voucher, and three nights here at Parkview on another... though the Cullen was a fun little overnight LSD trip, we thought the Parkview won out on how comfortable the room was! Great bed, good workspace, room enough for our stuff... the only thing I missed were a couple drawers for clothes. Great shower, too. Everything here was well designed. And the breakfast buffet is SUPER! Very cheerful service there, too... while they were all working their tails off to keep it all supplied. Also, this hotel is verrry conveniently located near trams to both CBD, StKilda, and Prahran.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear oohl

Thanks for your terrific review, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I overnight around 30-40 nights a year. When time permits go for a low price or mystery option.

This hotel is the best find I have made in many years. $149 mid week. Room wasnt huge (although had two queen size beds and comfortable space around), but he design was incredibly good.

USB /HDMI Power points handy and concealed beside and above desk. Also power points above bedside table, Totally user friendly (you all know what a pain it is to go under and behind the bedside cabinets). Designer smart enough to build a slotted area in the wardrobe so the ironing board stands upright (dont think I've ever seen before).Bathroom small but all amenities and easy to find. Most amazing was to have shower taps at entry of shower cubicle and at opposite end of cubicle from the shower head. Even had an easy to find inroom shopping list with toothpaste combs etc. Unusually helpful and saved me a trip out of room. Desk had two proper chairs in case of two guests eating together or working together on something. Unheard of.

Room heater control easy to find and use. Select temperature and turn on. Worked instantly.
Plus opening window (winder type) to check temp outdoors in the morning.

Cold day in Melbourne but hotel warm was on entry, a feeling I don't get at many 5 stars.

Asked for and offered to pay for extra newspaper at checkin and was told no problem but we certainly wont charge you for newspapers.

Had room service for evening meal, biggest fruit salad I have ever seen for about $12. Similar offering at some of the five stars I stay at would be about 4 servings at $18-22 each.

All staff friendly, efficient and helpful.

Value wise this hotel is superb and inspired me to write my second trip advisor review in about three years! Outranks many of the big name chains in everything except floor area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzietraveller255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Ozzietraveller255068

Thanks for your great review it's awesome to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I'll make sure your comments are passed on at our next staff briefing. Look forward to having you back at the Parkview in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A great city get away, this hotel has done a great upgrade. From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much but inside is great.
Get in early for the buffet breakfast, there was a stampede when I was there and they ran out of scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoulContender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi SoulContender

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate people taking the trouble to tell us about their experiences. Not sure when you stayed but we have been very busy at breakfast over the last couple of weeks with school holidays on. There is always more food coming though so even though there can be a lot of people all at once we all pitch in to ensure the food is replenished as quickly as possible. Look forward to seeing you at the hotel again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is situated near to a 7/11 and a tram stop which makes it convenient for the city and local convenience store. The room I was allocated was spacious and clean. There is a walk in shower and vanity which is perfectly adequate with plenty of towels which I like. The décor is a bit drab (browns) but the bedding is comfy although the bed was too soft for my liking and preference. There is a guest laundry which is very reasonable and includes tumble driers. Next to the laundry is a small but well equipped gym and two spa pools one which was cool and the other a warm Jacuzzi. I put my laundry on and read a book in the pool then had a Jacuzzi whilst it was in the drier. There was a flat screen TV in the room with most popular channels although whilst I was not in the room much it was good to catch up on some news before breakfast. There are two guest lifts servicing the rooms but for most of my stay one lift was unserviceable causing a long wait most mornings to leave the hotel as there were many guests that appeared to be in transit. Reception was efficient; however there is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms. You can get a short session in the lobby but after that you have to pay and it is expensive. If you only need short access reception can give you a code for fifteen minutes in the business area behind the main desk. There is a nice café at the St Kilda road end of the hotel which was good. Overall a nice hotel with very good service and comfort. Get a Myki card for the trams which you can buy at the hotel and it is good value

Room Tip: Try and choose a high floor room with a view of the park. Lower rooms at the back can overlook the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi 0213

Thanks for taking the time to review us we certainly appreciate it.

The lift issue was a stripped governor bearing and it was certainly very annoying but beyond our control as the part had to be manufactured. The lift was operable but on advice from our lift maintenance provider we took it out of operation as it posed a risk to the safety of our guests that we weren't prepared to take. I do apologise for the extra waiting time but on balance it was the lesser of the two evils. On a happier note the hotel now has free wifi 24 hours a day throughout all areas.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

i stayed at the melbourne park view hotel in june 2013.
For the money spent and the service and extras received id give this hotel 10/10.
i paid around $160 with a Wotif.com deal that included one nights accommodation, buffet breakfast, free WiFi and free parking.
The location was great, just on the outskirts of the city, and with the free parking going to and from places was too easy!
Check in was fast, My room was reasonable size, great tv, bathroom looked fantastic almost as if it had just been renovated.
Buffet breakfast was outstanding. On the first night i ate downstairs at the restaurant and the staff bent over backwards to keep me happy. On the second day we had the breakfast brought up to our room.. It was even better!
i have stayed at crown casino, Grand Hyatt etc and have paid twice as much and received half as many freebies,
Great service, excellent value, good location!
Thank you for a great week i will be back!

Room Tip: all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffanyf1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi Tiffanyf1994

What a fantastic review. Thank you very much. It is so good to hear when people are so happy with what we have provided, I'll make sure to read this one out at our next staff briefing. Thanks again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,288 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $101 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing