We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Saturday 22 June for the first time and were very happy with our stay. Great location on St Kilda Road.

The rooms are very nice, loved the little dressing area with the mirror, a great touch. We had a great view down St Kilda Rd and overlooking the Albert Ground.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

We both enjoyed the beautiful buffet breakfast, with plenty of variety.

The carpark is rather tight and busy and we were a little disappointed when leaving to find a staff car parked right behind us, not even in a carpark, blocking us from getting out. After about 30 minutes we were able to get out.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definately return. We had a great package which included parking, breakfast and late checkout.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room near the lifts, they appear to be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
HI Mell66

Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate hearing from people who have such a good time.

Sorry about the car park issue you experienced but we do try and keep as much of the car park as possible for our guests the staff parking area is quite small and on a busy day fills up and the staff have to "stack park" their cars. It is sign posted as staff parking only as we are trying to avoid this kind of issue. Once again I am sorry it happened though.

Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    918
    158
    39
    28
See reviews for
403
986
122
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday 15th June for the first time and were very surprised.

It was very busy which can always stretch any hotel but we can't say we had any real complaints. The car park is very tight so beware of that. The reserved signs on both levels are misleading as we were informed to ignore them after returning to reception when we couldn't find a spot!

The rooms are very nice. Beds comfortable. Room clean. The dressing room area is a great touch. Lovely view down St Kilda Rd and overlooking the Albert Ground from the 5th floor.

We came back to the hotel late (10pm) and were really happy to find the bar still open so did partake! Well done as many hotels close the bar way too early. The staff were great.

Had breakfast on the Sunday morning and it was the usual buffet but pleasant enough. One toaster makes it a bit slow and another wouldn't go astray. The restaurant itself is okay and there is a front area on St Kilda Rd that adds a nice perspective.

The location is terrific and the tram stop just down the road gives great access to the CBD.

Overall we really enjoyed this. Value for dollar cannot be beaten. We did the breakfast, parking and fuel voucher deal.

Well done Parkview. We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Roy St are terrific. Make sure you understand the car park before heading dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OooRoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi OooRoo1

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. The reserved signs in the carpark are only for weekdays (as you found out) when we have a few permanent parkers using the spots that business travelers don't need. On the weekends we have a lot more people drive in and utilise all the spots. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just spent a 3 night stay at the Parkview. Great location ideal for accessing all of Melbourne. Fabulous views from top floor fitness suite. Lovely clean and comfortable room on 6th floor and staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again on a repeat visit.

Room Tip: The higher the better and either corner or overlooking cricket ground the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley1962642254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Beverley1962642254

Thanks for your great review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay here.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second visit to the Parkview and this time I extended a business trip into a mini break with my daughter who is a student in Melbourne. For her it was a touch of luxury after living in student accommodation and for me it was comfortable and convenient. The rooms are lovely. Modern and fresh with comfortable beds and well appointed modern bathrooms. Just a tram ride away from the centre of the city yet nearby to parks for an early morning walk. The service was very good and we really enjoyed our stay. My one word of caution is if you are using the carpark facility it is very tight. I was glad I had a small car and didn't use it often during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyNIc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi WendyNic

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review we really appreciate it. I'm glad you and your daughter had such a good stay and I hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Parkview and it is still a lovely place to stay, whilst it is nothing fancy it is clean, quiet and comfortable . The staff we encountered were lovely and nothing seemed too much trouble. It was fantastic that we were able to have breakfast bought to our room at no additional charge as trying to navigate a busy buffet with an almost 2 year old would have been a challenge. We had parking with our rate and found the car park to be a tight space to navigate - just a warning to all you 4WD owners, no trouble in finding a space though. The only issues we encountered were the very limited and expensive in room dining menu, the food tasted like it was straight from a packet, not fresh and did not have any childrens options (we ordered a bowl of vegies for the little one) - the meals were not at all nice and could really be improved. The wifi is also an issue while this was included in our rate we did not use it as the code we were given did not work - maybe this could be provided upon check in. Apart from our few minor issues all in all it is great place to stay and is great quiet weekend location. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 9th floor - this hotel always has great deals on offer, so it is worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi cherryred55

Thanks for your review we appreciate the effort you make in helping us improve our business. The children's menu is available in room service, please just ask the attendant next time and we can either bring a menu up or tell you what's on. There have been a couple of changes here since your review and we now have free wifi 24 hours a day throughout the hotel for all guests so a code is no longer necessary to log on. We have also appointed a new Executive Chef so we expect to see a big improvement in this area to.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed in the Parkview on at least 8 occasions and always found the rooms excellent with comfortable beds and walk in showers, the restaurant in the hotel is good but room service has a very limited menu especially for those who travel often.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi OzzieStew

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time it takes for our guests to do these reviews. Glad you enjoy staying with us and we hope to have you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've stayed at the Parkview on 50 occasions in the past 2 years. I have always experienced an enjoyable stay, the rooms comfortable and clean, and since the new menu in the restaurant earlier in 2013 the food has been excellent.

When I checked in the last occasion the male asked me had I stayed here before!
On no less than 20 occasions the male employee had checked me in.
I certainly do not expect to be gushed over or anything extra, but I would have thought a very regular guest would be noted on their register or recognised! I'm not being biased towards Parkview female staff, but I can confidently say on each occasion I have checked in they have welcomed me back!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms beside the lifts as you can hear the lift movement, the doors opening and closing and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Pamela B

Thanks for your review we appreciate it, particularly from one of our regulars.

I don't know for sure why you wouldn't have been welcomed back as the system tells us how many times you have stayed before. One reason may be if you booked through a 3rd party website, like tripadvisor, and we don't have enough information in the booking to match it to a history. A mobile number or address is what we look for and unless we have information that makes us certain it's the same person we don't merge the history until after checkout. So in that case it may look like it's a first stay to person on the desk.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing