We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here 25 years ago, so why not? Was not disappointed. Check-in and -out were smooth and friendly. Enjoyed the roof-top spa and plunge pool. Taxi rank right outside, so we waited all of 30 seconds for a taxi at 6pm to go to the city ($13 in, but only $9 back later that night). Lovely room view at night, very comfy beds, good shower. Had complimentary chockies in room because of the anniversary. Room air-con was accurate (I hate hotels where you have to fiddle with the air-con, but not the case here). We had the buffet breakfast - was an average buffet but nothing to complain about at all. Coffee was the usual hotel "blerk" brand - seems the same at various Melbourne hotels - but they do have an attached cafe where you can get a great coffee.

Room Tip: We had a corner (deluxe) room overlooking the park (north) and St Kilda Road (east). There are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger-acpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Badger-acpr

Thanks for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & congratulations on 25 years together.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,753 - 2,759 of 2,977 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Park View was in St Kilda Road which was a tram ride away from the city, and also a walking distance of 25-30 minutes.
I lost my money at the Casino and walked back through South Melbourne, across Albert Park Lake and through very busy Queens Road to the hotel quite easily, so I know the walk is possible and pleasant.
The hotel had a fantastic restaurant below as well as a small bar for evening drinks. There were many other eating and drinking places around.
The hotel was used mainly by Insurance and other business groups as it was adjacent to many seminar and training venues and everyone I spoke to was there training or working somewhere.
I was doing a training with Insurance and that is how I stayed here as this was their choice of hotel and thus removed somewhat from a travllers choice.
TV has BBC World, CNBC, local channels and Fox Sport 1 & 2, Pay movies (average AUD$15). Room service fast and averages $14-$25 for main meals with limited choice after 10pm. Room decor (which is why I class this as a 3 star) is a mismatch of styles and could be said to be late 80's/early 90's with plenty of brass (now mottled & chipped) and in need of a freshen up. Lobby decor could definately do with same (seats sometimes worn and different colours). But if your overlook this - the hotel was a very nice stay especially for the price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo66187867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Angelo66187867

Thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I'm not sure what you mean about plenty of brass in the rooms as the only brass items in the hotel are the front doors, lobby lift doors and trims and port clochere. The hotel went through a $8m refurbishment of rooms and corridors in early 2011 and they are very fresh and modern with no brass used at all. Perhaps in the 5 months between your stay and your review you may have mixed us up with another hotel?

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recently stayed here when I had to be close to the nearby hospital whilst a family member was there. The rooms where clean, with a nice view over the cricket ground, city lights and Albert Park.
Location was great, close to the parks, easy to get to the city, and a walk to the hospital. Loved the pillow menu, beds comfy. All the staff I dealt with were helpful and friendly. Had the up stairs spa room to myself on 2 nights, so nice and relaxing. Lobby could be updated a little, but over all very happy and will be back.

Room Tip: I did have a top floor room, facing the city...very nice view and up high so not much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirazinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Shirazinoz

Thanks for the review we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experiences. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope your family member gets well soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and have never experienced such comfortable beds. The hotel is clean and welcoming, the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The pillow menu is an added bonus for those with particular tastes. I found the staff to be exceptional and nothing was too difficult to assist with. It would be nice to have a selection of teas at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi Emma P

Thanks for the great review and I'm so glad you had a good stay.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed from April 10-12th in a city view room 516 (beautiful view). Luxuriously comfortable king sized bed (and plenty of choices on their pillow menu). Lovely modern bathroom, spacious shower, bathrobes and plenty of towels provided.
Extremely pleased with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly, efficient service. Highly recommend it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CounselorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi CounselorG

Glad to hear you had such a good stay, thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for the Grand Prix weekend in early March. Hotel was perfect position for the grand prix, right outside gate 8. The hotel itself has been recently renovated and while the lobby is a little dated, the rooms are gorgeous, large and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is also fantastic and we ate there one night and the food was great then too.
Would definitely stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahsgalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

HI Sarahsgalvin

Thanks for your great review we appreciate it. I'm really pleased that you had a great stay, its a really busy time over Grand Prix and the staff do an amazing job every year. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are regular patrons/clients of the Parkview Hotel in St. Kilda Road, Melbourne. We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions in the past few years and continue to find it one of the best in Melbourne. Location is perfect. We often stay using our pushbikes and being so close to everything it is the perfect base. Also so close to sporting and restaurants - so many different directions that you can head - so many choices. The staff are always so helpful and accommodating and the view across over Albert Park reserve is another advantage. The walk or ride along St. Kilda Road is always one of the highlights. Generally a great place to stay for a weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the park are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamMargery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi TeamMargery

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time people take to let us know about their experiences at the hotel. I'm glad to hear that you like it so much and that we continue to meet your expectations over multiple stays. I'll pass your comments on to our staff.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,405 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing