We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night when we were over house hunting. Very convenient location, trams close by and shops. Although after a long first day i woke the next morning (early) to the house keeping staff talking and laughing outside our room. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the city, while staying the Australian open was on and we could see the courts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Chiara S

Thanks for your review, we appreciate the time it takes to let us know what thought of our service. I'll pass your comments about the noise in the corridorson to our Housekeeping Manager and she will address it with the staff. Hope the house hunting was successful.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    1,027
    172
    43
    29
See reviews for
452
1,119
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The position allows for spectacular views up st kilda road of the shrine and city, take a corner room, very spacious with floor to ceiling windows on bother sides, just magical at night to lie in bed and be surrounded with views... Newly renovated, bed very comfortable. Bedlinen plush, bathroom has been made smaller with no tub to accommodate a dressing room/ coffee making area.. Allows for room to remain neat and relaxing, still would like a bath though... Have stayed here a number of times over the past ten years and always found staff friendly, not true 5 star service but pleasant enough. Handy to have trams at your door, beautiful parklands opposite too. 7/11 and cafes across the road also. I have stayed 'in' the city, crown, langham etc, but I really enjoy the views and authentic melbourne tram experience and noise that his hotel offer. To top it off the price for under 150$ per night is real value. The Belgium beer cafe, now village brasserie, is such a gorgeous venue both inside and out and from this hotel you can walk (crawl) home...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HkgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi HkgMelbourne

Thanks so much for your awesome review we really appreciate it. We do have 5 Family Rooms that have baths, along with 2 spa suites but, as you said, the rest of the rooms only have showers.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a meet and greet on Wednesday, free drinks and horsd'oeuvres. Staff were exceptionally kind and friendly. Room with king bed was comfortable. 24hrs room service. Trams were across the street. 7/11 was close so we could buy Tram tickets.2 disappointments, no pool a large spa instead and chefs do not understand Hard Fried. our eggs were always undercooked. Apart from that had a great stay.

Room Tip: Great for couples. Quiet, Cosy, just a few minutes from city by Tram and also lots of restaurants on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmed5162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Charmed5162

Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it. Glad to hear you enjoyed our guest drinks evening which we do just about every Wednesday from 6.00pm on the Mezzanine level. I'll also let our chef Thomas know about your feedback on the eggs.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a night at The Parkview Hotel and were really pleased. The location was terrific and we even managed a quick dip in the water at St Kilda beach. Check-in was easy and probably the quickest ever! The room (overlooking a huge green oval) was large and comfortable. The bed - King Size. Next morning we went down for a buffet breakfast in the Lime restaurant - everything we could possible wish for before a big day at the races. We parked our car in the on-site underground parking bay which was fantastic because the day was 37degrees hot so the car started off cool. Will definitely stay there again and hightly recommend to anyone wanting a bit of pampering.

Room Tip: room with a view over the oval was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi HelenT4

Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate the effort it takes. It's also great to hear from such a happy customer.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got a great deal from Travelzoo that's why I said "great place for a great price with a free wifi, free buffet breakfast and free car parking onsite". The room 415 we had was so nice and clean with a great view outside. The kids enjoyed the spa pool on the top floor. We walked around to the Albert Park Lake which was relaxing. Surely we will be going back there in May because I already bought a voucher for it again.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher City view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Ruby143

Thanks for your great review, it's so good to hear from people who love the place as much as we do. See you in May

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and location to the city, Chapel street and St Kilda were excellent. The tram was close by and easy to use. There was also a 7/11 nearby so that we could buy our Myki cards.
The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.
The pool wasn't a pool it was a spa which was a little disappointing. Other then that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Macfamily09

Thanks for your positive review we really appreciate it. We also sell the Myki Visitor Packs in full fare and concession, which come with $8 of credit and can be topped up at 7/11. Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Parkview in a number of occasions. Each time the staff have been well mannered and pleasant to deal with and always are willing to go that extra mile to ensure a perfect stay.

The rooms are well kept and clean, with a confinable bed and pillow menu for those who need it.
The hotel is along St Kilda road so travel into the city is a 10 minute tram ride, taxis available from out the front of the hotel also.

Breakfast is a buffet with freshly cooked options and they also cater for gluten free guests.

Thanks to the staff and management for maintain such high standards
See you again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi spiceoflifetravel

Thanks so much for your great review, we really appreciate hearing it when we get it right as well as wrong. I'll share your comments with the staff.

Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing