We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, not far from Melbourne CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely hotel which I'd been told had recently had undergone an $8m Refurbishment.
You could really tell, as appeared very clean and modern.
We stayed here for 4 nights in a City View Guest Room. Lovely room with a massive king size bed! Bathroom clean and modern with a very large walk in shower.
All the things you could ever need in your room for a comfortable stay. Even His 'n' hers bathrobes.
Had buffet breakfast daily. Food very vice and plenty of variety.
Staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help. Hotel manager invited us join him for complimentary drinks and nibbles on our first night!
Hotel is situated on on the edge of a Tree-Lined Boulevard which leads you down into Federation square. Not 'out of the way' like some people say. Nice walk into the city, or a 5-10 minute tram ride (tram stop is a 1 minute walk from hotel)
You can buy a tourist pack at the tourist info centre in Federation square, which incldes a 'Myki' card which enables you to travel around the city on the trams and buses. We found this very helpful. and quite cheap. If you need a taxi, they are right outside the hotel.
Because it's not right in the city it's more peaceful, with next to no traffic noise.
Would highly recommend this hotel.
We are already planning to go back again next year for our 10th wedding anniversary on valentines day!

Room Tip: City View room gives you a beautiful city views. Also lake views if you are 3rd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiawamutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,922 - 2,928 of 3,102 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went to the opening of the restaurant in this hotel 20 years ago and had fond memories as the opening was hosted by Sheila Scotta. However, I have just stayed at this hotel and was most annoyed by the service and the staff.
1/ I contacted House keeping for a double adapter and the staff member did not know what this was or if they had one. Finally I got a power board.
2/ The room smelt of some kind of air freshener, not sure what but it permeated my clothes.
3/ I ordered a burger and said it needed to be within 15-20 minutes and it must have taken 45 to 1 hour. I went to bed. They did not call me to advise the food was there (obviously they knew they were late) and it was sitting outside the door in the morning. When I looked outside the door again it was gone so they were late, didn’t advise me the food was there by trying to call ( as other hotels do) and removed the food from in front of the door without any further discsussion . When I went to check out and raised this with them they insisted that I pay for it. They charged my credit card without my consent regardless of me advising them of their legal obligations not to do so as they had neither delivered in the agreed time frame and had failed to advise on delivery. Their legal obligations are not to charge a card for services not delivered or agreed yet the Duty Manager who was very disagreeable arrogantly advised he would charge the card regardless.
Unfortunately the hotel now is about the lowest on my list in all of Australia and could not recommend it at all. What happened completely contravenes both their legal obligations as well as commitment to customer service.

Room Tip: choose one with a view of Melbourne as its a great city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalTraveller742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hi GlobalTraveller742

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.

You have made a number of comments, which we have investigated thoroughly and accept some comments as being subjective which of course we act upon if a trend or pattern of comment is received.

I apologise that we could not provide you with a double adaptor immediately which I can honestly advise has not been requested since our recent room refurbishment. The rooms have 16 power outlets with the most convenient being a double point located above the bedside table or next to the desk.

I believe a power board was delivered to your room.

The smell in your room is a deodoriser, which was used approximate 8 to 12 hours before your arrival. We have used this deodoriser for the last 2 years and although we have not received any negative comments in the past, I have taken log of yours for future review.

Our computer records show that your hamburger was ordered at 2am and delivered at 2.25am. After several attempts to awake you by knocking on the door and having the manager on duty call your room, it appears we were unable to awake you or you may have left the room ? The meal was left for you outside your room.

The duty manager at check out was advised by the night manager of the communication with you and confirmed that your room service meal was delivered. The duty manager who spoke to you has been a member of the hotel team for a number of years and received numerous compliments regrading his friendly service. Your comments are certainly out of character and may have been influenced due to the manager’s decision not to refund your room service charge.

We believe that the room service charge to your credit card complies with your registration at the hotel, which clearly states that you will accept all charges that you incur.

I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kind Regards
Laurie Littman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a 5 day stay in this hotel. Its cozy but clean. The staff are very accommodating. Its far from the center of the city but its near the train station thus going there did not give us a bit of a problem. There's a nearby convenient store, hospital and a park. All in all we had a relaxing stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

on arrival we asked for a room with twin beds. the request was acted upon although we had
to wait until about 2 p.m. the room we had was one of the best for space and movability.
the bathroom and shower were excellent. the small room between the bedroom and the
shower , was terrific. it had the fridge, coffee making equipment, the safe, the closet and
space for luggage. the staff was very friendly and helpful. only one thing to find fault
with was the buffet breakfast for $29.00 . the scrambled eggs were cold, bread stale,
and not much else. there was no service from staff as to clearing plates and so on.

Room Tip: choose one not to close to st kilda road because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lovely hotel with friendly staff but not ideal for a short stay in Melbourne as it is a bit further out of the CBD. Even though it is a short tram ride to the city what you make up in price you spend on taxis (ie going out at night or if you are in hurry) The hotel is not on the list of hotels on the skyline shuttle run but the best way to get there (apart from an expensive taxi ride) is to catch the FAPAS shuttle from Tullamarine airport which takes you right to the hotel in about 30mins at a cost of $19. The beds were super comfy, and the showers excellent but our room had a view of a concrete wall and was fairly noisy as it was close to the elevator and we had a lot of noise from the hallway. It was a good location to explore Chapel Street though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park or St Kilda Rd and not too close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenzie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in a pleasant location on leafy St Kilda Road, south of inner Melbourne.
From the tram stop outside Flinders Street Station take a 3/3a, 6, 16, 64, or 67 tram heading south. Approximate 10-15 minute tram ride. Get off at stop No 25 (Commercial Rd/St Kilda Road. The Parkview hotel is located a short distance from the stop, looking southwards on the right hand side the hotel is easily spotted; a sports oval on one side and the Loreal Building behind.
Our King room looked over the adjacent sports oval and the distant inner city skyline. Large picture window, modern interior decoration, room light and very spacious. (A section of the window can be opened if fresh air is preferred although some road noise is then experienced.)
Careful thought has gone into the fittings and fixtures; the placement of little things which add to the look and room comfort.
The modern bathroom is fitted with a glass partition walk-in shower, huge rain shower head, contemporary shaped hand basin with fitted, open shelf underneath for bath amenities, hairdryer etc. Large fluffy towels and white waffle cotton robes.
The roomy, separate dressing area outside the bathroom cleverly incorporates a counter top backed with another large mirror, fitted robes, luggage storage, in room safe, minibar fridge and coffee and tea amenities counter storage....stylish, functional, uncluttered.
The minibar is locked and can be opened by phoning reception if its use is required. The downside is a lack of refrigeration for personal treats, like yoghurt, etc A stainless steel electric kettle (not cheap plastic thankfully) mugs as well as cups, and a good variety of teas are supplied.
In the bedroom/sitting area - good lighting, flat screen TV neatly fitted into a timber feature, a comfy lounge chair, oval table/desk with one chair. ( A second chair for the desk would be make in-room dining more comfortable). A pillow menu is also available.
We selected this hotel on this visit to Melbourne because of its location close to the Palais Theatre, St Kilda; this hotel's location being more convenient than an inner city hotel on this occasion, and were pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a 4 night hassle free stay here. Convenient location - close to tram stop 25. Friendly, professional staff at reception & housekeeping. Room is very dark in morning so great fora sleep in! Overall, a great stay!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jetlagciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,573 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,604 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing