We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyed the sights but not the sound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the sights but not the sound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Overall I had a very nice stay at the Parkview Hotel. My room appeared to be recently updated and I enjoyed the spacious layout. The corner room provided a nice view of downtown Melbourne, a cricket pitch, and the nearby park. In addition to a modern bathroom, a selection of pillows are available to ensure you enjoy a wonderful nights sleep on the feather mattress topper. There are many wonderful nearby restaurants such as il locale along with several cafes. I attended a conference while at the hotel and was pleased with the attention of our needs by the hotel staff. The Lime Cafe offers a nice atmosphere and free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: View or noise? I liked the view but had to contend with unavoidable street noise. If you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    918
    158
    39
    28
See reviews for
403
986
122
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Parkview in a city view guest room as a last minute booking through Wotif which was a cheaper rate than booking direct. The entrance is on the side road which is not well signed and we drove straight past the 1st time. Valet parking a bonus for extra $20. Our room was clean with great views but the best find was the rooftop swimming pool enclosed by a glass dome with spectacular views 360 degrees. Easy access to St Kilda or city by tram. Directly opposite the Shrine which was an interesting Sunday morning visit. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed in a "city view guest room". A lovely, spacious, modern room, with soft lighting, and all the facilities that I needed. The king size bed was super comfy and the room was immaculately serviced every day. I was on the 3rd floor, and although the view was nice, I'm sure it would be much more spectacular from the levels above, where you could see more of the city. In any case, you can always go up to the top floor, have a spa, and enjoy the views there.
Location is good, and in a tranquil area, although there's not much but hotels on that part of St Kilda Road, but it's close to a tram stop and easy to get around.
Staff were lovely, but could take more initiative in telling you what the services they provide eg. they sell tram tickets. If you want something though, you just have to ask.

Room Tip: It's probably worthwhile choosing a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flying_kiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I read reviews of this hotel (amongst others) in preparation for our visit to Victoria and decided we give it a try for a couple of days to see how their refurbishment (in 2011) went. A pleasant stay in a pleasant hotel was the result. Utilising a Wotif deal resulted in a large King room which was clean and quite adequate, with one exception. The bathroom was slightly small, shower no bath but, again, quite acceptable. I had requested a higher level room not facing St Kilda road. Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the cricket ground next door and took in the Melbourne CBD skyline. Perfect. The location of this hotel is very good with a tram stop about 100m away with a stream of available trams into the city (15 minutes away). Buffet breakfast was standard and good in a nice enough setting. A seperate lounge chair in the bedroom complimented the standard desk and chair. Lighting was good. LCD tv good and positioned well. Only fault, for the cost of the room, was the need for a couple of drawers for our 'smalls', probably under the bedside tables. Free internet access for guests in the foyer. The garage under the hotel was acceptable for our rental car but would require a steady hand for drivers of Urban Assault Vehicles, with tight quarters and angles. ALL staff were pleasant, efficient and welcoming. The highlight of our stay here was the great rooftop spa (3m X 4M), along with a sauna, plunge pool, gym and guest laundry in the large atrium with marvelous views of the CBD skyline. The spa revived us a number of times after forays into the city. Happy guests :)

Room Tip: High floor with views of Melbourne CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed at the Parkview because I had a coupon deal. I was surprised at what a great hotel it was. The room was light, big and comfortable. Great bed and more importantly, good shower, unlike many hotels. Extremely pleasant staff, good breakfast and good access to trams to CBD.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petmar035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend and it was great. The room was very comfortable and modern. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bar has a lovely atmosphere and we had breakfast in the restaurant at the hotel.

There is a tram stop across the road, but if you prefer taxis there seem to be plenty around. If you are into walking, then you can walk around Albert Park or even walk to Chapel Street for a spot of retail therapy.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on a higher floor as St Kilda Road can be quite busy, not that noise seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveller0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the top floor had magnificent views and a the service was fantastic - a short way from the CBD but was very tranquil and we would certainly stay there again

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing