We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for F1 4 day visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Booked this hotel with the F1 GP advantage scheme ie tickets and hotel package combined. Located by Gate 8 Albert Park ( over a road bridge) taxi from airport 60 dollars. Hotel is modern and obviously one of the top choices for a variety of people working at the F1 together with visitors. Although the reception staff said the hotel was full it wasn't noisy and we weren't disturbed during our stay. Given a bright corner room with a partial view of Albert Park ( combined with other apartments and car parks) Room exceptionally clean and modern with a sitting area and desk. Mattress was so comfortable and a choice of pillows if required. Liked the dressing area with the mini bar and tea/ coffee making facilities. Bathroom with walk in power shower ( no bath) Good quality hairdryer available. Sampled food in both Lime restaurant and from room service, both excellent quality (sirloin steak huge and very tasty) As expected not the cheapest place to eat but convenient ( especially as the weather was appalling on one night of our stay) Internet not free in rooms and in the lobby and restaurant where it was, reception and speed, not the best. Seriously believe that free wifi should be available to all, and this needs addressing ASAP. Staff friendly and efficient. Pleasant stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight as we were going to the tennis (Australian Open night session). The rate was one of the cheapest for this standard of hotel. The room had been recently renovated & was quite large with good quality fittings & plenty of storage space. We elected the cheapest room that did not provide any view. I understand some rooms have views of parks opposite. The hotel was approximately 3 km from the CBD & tennis. We walked this & it took approximately 45 mins. You also can catch a tram directly from the CBD. Trams run regularly. Also the hotel is very close to Albert Park & the Royal Botanic Gardens. We did not have a meal at the hotel however the facilities including the foyer looked very nice. The only negative is some staff (only some) were not overly friendly. Perhaps something for the hotel to work on. Having said that this was only a small matter & would definitely recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5starbudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Lovely spot, close to the city and very comfortable and quiet. I asked for a room well away from the elevator and got a room right on the end of floor five facing the park. It was quiet and sunny. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was so easy to walk to the tram station and to get into and out of the city from here. I would highly recommend this hotel for service, comfort and value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at the Parkview Hotel for 5 nights for a business trip, and overall it was a great experience. The room was clean and very spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable... making it hard to get up in the morning!

Room service was very average, however I mentioned that I was unhappy with my meal and the meal was fully refunded. Breakfast was very nice, great selection of food at the buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

First trip to Aus for business and this hotel has a great locations for jumping on the trams to get to various locations. The rom was good and kept very clean, the maid even arranged my things in the bathroom, which was a nice touch. the bed was comfy though so got a good sleep while there.

The food in the restaurant was good but not outstanding, personally just go over the road to the places outside better options and they were happy to serve us one evening at almost 10pm.

Niggle.

Why can they not make the wifi free in the hotel, it soes seem a little strange to be charged for it. Though I did find if you connect in the free area then it can also work for a while in the room.

Quite surprised when I checked in that I had to pay for all the nights upfront.

Plus.

Right next to Albert Park for getting out and running if so inclined. There is a gym at the top though it did get very warm in there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bleddyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Need to be aware of what you are booking if you do it on line through wotif. Their site states guest room has double bed, decided to ring hotel direct to ask if double bed in guest room? and told no they are king beds and they could not match the wotif price so booked 2 rooms through wotif. On arrival was asked if I was aware that booking online that rooms had double beds, said no I was of the understanding after ringing the hotel first that guest room beding was king. Thankfully the hotel was not full and both rooms were upgraded to deluxe. Nice spacious rooms good decor, quiet, good location for easy tram access into CBD. Not a grand view but booked on room price. $10 onsite parking a bit tight but be aware you can park in the reserved parking bays on weekends which eases concerns. 11 o'clock check out also good as is IGA & 7/11 stores nearby. You also need to be aware that your minibar fridge is locked so if you need to keep things cool arrange at desk for it to be opened. These things are not explained at sign in times and they should be. A nice stay all the same.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry-Jezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Perfectly situated in St Kilda Rd with a plethora of trams traveling to and from the city. Great rooms lots of space and an excellent restaurant. wonderful breakfast. The gym has the best view over the park and city. A brisk 45min walk into the city. I will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheryleMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#41 of 161 in Melbourne
3,394 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,139 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing