We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was ok.”
Review of Quest on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Lonsdale
Ranked #128 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. Moved there from the Lindrum as Lindrum weekend prices were $300 plus. We managed to get some of the mid week nights at the Lindrum for $170 ish which is a good deal. Quest was $199 and wouldnt hold a candle to Lindrum. We had a one bedroom apartment. The rooms are quite small. The one bedroom is really just a closed off door from the living/kitchen area. Bedroom had a wee walk out balcony that overlooked Lonsdale street. high rise buildings across the street overlooked us though! Wasnt too noisy given right in town. Fixtures were ok - not real quality. Very fast lift! Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The thing I found with Melbourne is to shop around as you can get some very good mid week prices. Weekend prices go through the roof depending what sports/events are on in town.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank G-rad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear G-rad D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. If was a pleasure to have you and if there is anything we can do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Quest on Lonsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 389 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and location well situated for getting around attractions in Melbourne CBD. Would definitely stay there again very pleasant. Clean and roomy. Excellent kitchen facilities. Nice and warm. Furniture very comfortable. Television in both the lounge and bedroom. Laundry facilities. Quiet location too and always someone around at night so felt very safe returning after being out. Close to great restaurants and other eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Christine2010,
Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay with us at Quest on Lonsdale. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our Front Office Team. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Lonsdale in the near future. If there is anything we can do to assist, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was rather happy with our stay here, we chose the Quest based on it's location and price as we were going to dinner and a show.

The rooms could do with a bit of an update honestly...
The dining chairs were stained and the table chipped and scratched, the bathroom honestly needed a good clean and was poorly planned out - the door opened into the toilet so I had to warn my partner every time I used the bathroom so he wouldn't walk in and bang the door into my knees!

My partner complained about the noise on the street throughout the night, I'm a heavier sleeper though and had no problem.

On a plus side, the front desk staff were friendly and parking was just next door and only $20 overnight.

Overall I was pleased with our stay, after all you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longweekender_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Longweekender_Jess,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our location and service were some of the major highlights of your stay. Might i suggest upon your next stay, requesting a quiet room to ensure no disruptions in future. Thank you again, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Quest on Lonsdale in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in a queen room. Room was clean and quite small compared to the photos. With a rollaway in the "living/kitchen" there wasnt much room. And the way the bedroom was set up, it was that dark that you lose all concept of time.

Asked the conceierge on their advice on a dat trip, and they couldny advise as their normal clientele wouldnt do those sort of things. Also had an issue with them trying to book a shuttle for me.

Was in an alrite location, would stay here again if desperate for somewhere, otherwise would stay closer to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Amy K,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and I will ensure to pass on your comments to Management regarding local and tour concierge knowledge and lighting in the guest bathroom. Might i suggest upon your next stay to book a 2 Bedroom Apartment to ensure there is enough space for yourself and your guests as we provide a roll-away bed at an additional cost per night on the basis the guest has agreed to this set up.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Quest on Lonsdale again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed to make our 3 night stay quite pleasant. They're fairly compact however with 2 young children we still had space for them to play. Some of the chair backs were a little loose (screws) but management were quick to replace them with minimal fuss. The pantry shopping order I placed prior to our arrival was already placed in our fridge/ kitchen bench when we walked into our room. What a terrific service and they had everything I ordered! The rooms are clean, service is friendly and our stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roast_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quest on Lonsdale is a good mid-range option for business travellers and families. Though it clearly targets the former, families would find the apartments agreeable. Even though there is not gym on the property, Genesis Fitness is right across the street, and offers half-price entry for Quest guests (ask at hotel reception, as Genesis doesn't have the tickets). The gym is only open weekdays.

My only qualms are that a) the bed was too hard, b) I couldn't seem to get the aircon right, and c) (and this is a biggie) internet access is via ethernet, meaning that YOU CAN'T GET WIFI FOR YOUR iPAD. You also have to ask for a cable to connect to the ethernet from reception, or use the business centre (a bit of pain, especially when it takes multiple goes to log onto the internet there!). As for the aircon, I was either too hot or too cold while sleeping. The fact that the aircon blows straight on to the bed in the room I was in didn't help. But the doonas/comforters were more than adequate to compensate for the constant air. I did try to fiddle with the thermostat, but, not being much of a tech head, I failed.

But, all in all, with the fabulous location, good price, and good service from reception, I would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room where there isn't an air vent that blows straight onto the bed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaiChai11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear ChaiChai11,
Thank you for sharing such a lovely review from your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Lonsdale in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very compact but well laid out little apartments. Everything you need is here. Very practical for a few days.

Only criticism I have is that they could use a bit of soundproofing. Heard way too much of the screaming baby in the next room....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear WorkerBrisbane,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Quest on Lonsdale.
We appreciate your feedback and I will ensure to pass on your comments to the Management regarding soundproofing.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Quest on Lonsdale again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
893 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,760 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
2,255 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#103 of 160 in Melbourne
544 reviews
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#134 of 160 in Melbourne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Lonsdale

Address: 43 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Oakford Gordon Towers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Lonsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Lonsdale provides 4 star serviced apartments in the centre of Melbourne. Located at 43 Lonsdale Street, between Spring and Exhibition Streets, Quest on Lonsdale is at the heart of the theatre, restaurants and government departments. Melbourne's key attractions are all within walking distance or if you prefer, a short tram ride. With apartments suitable for long term stays, Quest on Lonsdale can offer weekly and monthly rates for extended corporate and leisure accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing