We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and cheap parking”
Review of Quest on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Lonsdale
Ranked #128 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor. Small but workable kitchenette, small table and couch with TV in the loungeroom. Clean an spaciaous bathroom and bedroom with an interesting view down a laneway behind the building. The complex is situated right near Melbourne's Chinatown in Lt Bourke Street and is near to the city's theatre precinct. IGA Supermarket next door and plenty of places close for a great breakfast. Close also to Parliament House and Fitzroy Gardens and just down the road from the Parliament Railway Station. Car parking is avialable three dooors down from the complex. On checkout get a discount coupon from reception. I parked for 24 hours - the normal rate of $103 was reduced to a flat $20 when you use the discount coupon.
Overall a very good stay with clean and working facilities and a very friendly receptionist.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the building to avoid traffic noise in Lonsdale Street
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Pedrovski,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your past stay – it is always heartwarming to hear how much guests enjoy staying with us. Guest service is something we take a great deal of pride in, and we strive to create a welcoming, friendly atmosphere for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Lonsdale again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Quest on Lonsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I needed to stay up that end of town so I stayed in a different quest. While reception is quite small the 1 bedroom apartments are quite spacious. There is an IGA next door if you need milk, grog etc. Only problem is the bathroom which is very small and probably needs a refurb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 4th floor. Size was fine, not too big but just enough for an overnight. Carpark very close is a great option, paid $20 for 24 hours. Very close to everything ChinaTown, Theatres, Bourke st mall and etc. Was quiet did not hear any traffic or any other street noises. Only thing l did not like was the view out of the lounge room window..a lane way with bins and human poo (excuse my vulgarity) and out side my bedroom window was a small outside area that other apartments could access (not us) and before going to bed it was clean, in the morning there were beer bottles, although they were very quiet (as l did not hear a thing), but the thought they were just outside our ceiling to floor window freaked me out a little. Now l dont blame any of this on the Quest but l needed to express myself! Overall nice place a bit pricey, could do with a little uplifting (especially the bathroom), but l do recommend it, especially if you are going to see a show

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear elle2461,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Quest on Lonsdale and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our property. With regard to the small outside area you have mentioned, I am unsure to what area you are referring to. Your apartment was on the fourth floor so no one would have access to your window area. Some apartments on the first floor have a private courtyard and this may be the area to which you refer and perhaps this is why, as you mention, you were not disturbed at all.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back at Quest on Lonsdale again in the future. I would also reccommend you request an apartment towards the front of the building if the view is of high importance to you.
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at 2 bedroom on 2nd floor. Bedroom is small which hardly give room to walk. Bathroom is equiped with washing machine and dryer but I would say it's a bit too small for a 4 person room. Bathroom tiles and sink are dirty and mouldy. Lift does goes to 'sleep' mode at night time. Was told to be patient and ended up I had to hold the up button for more than 5 mins for the lift to come. We saw a mouse running around on the reception area at night time.
On the good side, the location is great and the price is not too high for a run down building.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors might gives a better view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Green Adelaide,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Quest on Lonsdale and we are saddened to see that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Please be assured that your feedback has been passed on to the property manager so that it can be rectified as soon as possible. We hope to see you back at Quest on Lonsdale again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom on the 4th floor and others in our group stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 1st floor.

It is well located and parking is next door in a well maintained and clean carpark for just $20 per night.

Rooms are clean with good kitchen as most quests are. We ate at a great and cheap malaysian restuarant in the QV complex a block away. Great food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Mordi35,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Quest on Lonsdale. We always love to hear positive comments from our valued guests and I will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here for a few days in a one bedroom apartment and was impressed. The reception was helpful (Nadia and the other reception staff were always helpful), the room was comfortable and the location was great. It's close to Chinatown and the theatres. The only drawbacks were no SBS reception and the lack of sound insulation from the neighbouring room. Still, worth staying at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights on a work trip, was doing a series of interviews in the room and the staff were extremely helpful with sorting out people as they arrived to see me. Location is great, just a short 5 minute walk and you are in the very centre of Melbourne, and China town is just around the corner, were there some great places to eat.
The only down side was the heating left a bit to be desired so the room got cold in the evening. otherwise it was quite comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
893 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,760 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
2,255 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
545 reviews
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#134 of 160 in Melbourne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Lonsdale

Address: 43 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Oakford Gordon Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Lonsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Lonsdale provides 4 star serviced apartments in the centre of Melbourne. Located at 43 Lonsdale Street, between Spring and Exhibition Streets, Quest on Lonsdale is at the heart of the theatre, restaurants and government departments. Melbourne's key attractions are all within walking distance or if you prefer, a short tram ride. With apartments suitable for long term stays, Quest on Lonsdale can offer weekly and monthly rates for extended corporate and leisure accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing