We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average - ok for a very short stay, just a day or two”
Review of Quest on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Lonsdale
Ranked #129 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Service staff are nice but the rooms are quite basic. Older 70s style rooms and amenities. Heating control was an older style dial-based control which did not work! Room was quite cold. Water from the taps and showers take a long time to heat up. This place advertises free broadband but it's extremely slow to the point that you're better off not having it at all! It is very convenient though - heart of the city, close to everything. Then again because it is on the main road, noises from the street can wake you up! Overall well-suited for young travellers, backpackers etc who are looking for something short-term and very basic. For those who prioritize comfort, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Tee432,
Thank you for your review of Quest on Lonsdale, we appreciate your open and honest feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our prime location.
I have noted the issues you had with slow internet, which is unusual and I will follow this up with our IT support. It is likely that you had exceeded the daily limit of 300MB - after this limit is exhausted, the connection will slow considerably. This limit allows for ample internet use for emails etc, but is in place to avoid abuse of the internet connection whereby guests are downloading many movies and therefore slowing down the internet connecton for our other guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Quest on Lonsdale again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 482 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Only stayed for one night but was very happy with it!! Staff were super friendly and accomadated to our late check in!! Close enough to inner city prob could find something a little bettet priced closet to inner city !! Parking is not that easy and pretty pricely!! Overall it was a good stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lusana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Lusana L,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Quest on Lonsdale - of course we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your property and I will pass on your excellent comments to our reception team.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The location is close to restaurants & shopping, and the staff are friendly & helpful. The rooms are on the small side, but have quality beds, sheets & pillows and are all you could want as a base to work or play in Melbourne.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed here last November travelling alone and was quite happy with my room and the service.

On this occasion my husband and I were travelling together from the UK for work. We were booked in for 14 nights, the first apart we were allocated was tiny with a small wardrobe containing an iron board etc and barley room for one persons weekend clothes, let alone 2 people for 2 weeks.

We asked for an alternative room and this was sorted pretty quickly. The rooms are serviced daily and clean linen provided every third day.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. We felt that the service was friendly but not really exceptional.
The lifts were also out for a day or two while we were there, a problem if you have heavy luggage.

I have to say I will stay elsewhere on my next visit to Melbourne I'm afraid. It does the job though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Room was small but excellent. Recently renovated so good new fixtures. Was disappointed as they listed having sbs but did not (just unlucky that it was tour de France weekend!). Also their lift wasn't working (took a great deal of time to arrive). But overall the room and location was great!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at Quest during an overnight business trip to Melbourne. We booked through lastminute.com.au.
It's hard to find a cheaper and more central location that will actually accept 1 night bookings!
We booked a studio, but were upgraded to a 1 bedroom which was a nice surprise. The bed was comfy and the room was clean but a little run down. There were broken hooks in the bathroom and burn marks on the kithen bench. For our purposes though, it really didn't matter.
For a longer stay I probably would have raved about the convenience of the kitchenette and seperate lougne area. Also the fact that our room looked directly at the skyrise next door meant no view... but more importantly no street noise, which was awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear B888,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Our team places great emphasis on customer care and we are pleased to hear that you found the property to be great value for money.
We hope to have you return to Quest on Lonsdale again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed in a 2 BR apartment on the 1st floor for 2 nights. One bedroom had a QS bed and the other had a double bed. There was an interconnecting bathroom which was very useful (you could close doors at either end). The decor looked quite new. The kitchenette consisted of the usual crockery/cutlery and it appeared clean (I didn't use anything out of the kitchen). The bedrooms were comfortable but I found my bed (DB) to be a little hard for my liking. The bathroom had a shower, toilet, handbasin with a small bench to put your belongings, a hairdryer and a washing machine and dryer. Staff at front desk were helpful and friendly. Location wise - Parliament Station is a short 5 minute walk and the theatre is just around the corner. The European is also just around the corner and only a short walk away, as are other wonderful restaurants. Also, there is a parking station next door and you can get discount parking. A pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymother_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 161 in Melbourne
996 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Lonsdale

Address: 43 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Oakford Gordon Towers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $91 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Lonsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Lonsdale provides 4 star serviced apartments in the centre of Melbourne. Located at 43 Lonsdale Street, between Spring and Exhibition Streets, Quest on Lonsdale is at the heart of the theatre, restaurants and government departments. Melbourne's key attractions are all within walking distance or if you prefer, a short tram ride. With apartments suitable for long term stays, Quest on Lonsdale can offer weekly and monthly rates for extended corporate and leisure accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quest on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing