We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Novotel - during the Australia Ope”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #68 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
An Accor traveler
Sydney
2511
Reviewed February 12, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,465)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Melbourne on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,979 - 3,985 of 4,465 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankREchuca
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide
1
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I had 2 complaints about my last visit to the Novotel on Collins Street.

1. What has happened to the concept of having a top sheet on a bed? It was hard to get the right temperature in bed because the quilt was too hot and there was no sheet to lie under without using the quilt. Please provide a top sheet on the bed especially in summer.

2. The second complaint relates to the check in clerk failing to advise me that a $10 charge would appear on my credit card account and eventually be reversed once I had checked out without owing any money. I ask why the $10 charge is actually raised. Apparently it is to prove your credit card is a valid card. I cannot understand why the Novotel has to actually raise the $10. No other hotels I have stayed at in the last 2 years have done this. Get with it Novotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the sheets. While we are currently reviewing the bedding, I will pleased to arrange additional sheeting for your room at any stage. As I can't retrieve your details from tripadvisor.com, please feel free to contact me directly on h1587-fo@accor.com or 03 9669 8680 and I'll be pleased to assist.

Regarding your credit card, please allow me to clarify. The $10 transaction is not actually a charge but instead a pre-authorisation. This is an electronic method of checking that the card presented is valid (ie. not cancelled or reported stolen) and is not over its credit limit (hence the $10 check). The $10 is not removed from your account. Should the guest not need to use the card to settle any expenses on departure, the $10 check is released by your bank after a few days or can be done instantly by having the hotel staff contact your bank directly.

I do hope that this information is of assistance. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back again before too long.

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Newcastle
1
Reviewed February 9, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Gol Gol
1
Reviewed February 9, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minyama
1
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. The service was excellent. The service in restaurant was good and we were quickly seated. The room was very clean and comfortable. This is our 3rd visit to the hotel. Their was a mistake in settling our bill but after an explanation by us it was quickly rectified.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It is great to read that our service was excellent and room and dinner to your liking.

Please accept my apologies for the mix up with your bill and I'm pleased that the team could rectify it quickly.

We hope to see you back again before too long.

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,978 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $143 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing