We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #65 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    1,946
    534
    131
    81
See reviews for
1,157
1,633
336
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newtown
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We checked in on New Years Day, it was quick and the staff were very friendly. You do have to take a lift from Collins Street up to reception and then a different lift to your room, but not once did we have to wait more than 30 seconds for a lift. Our room was on level 7, and it looked out over Collins Street, we had 2 double beds, a large desk and 2 desk chairs. The room was well laid out, & clean with no traffic noise whatsoever. My only complaints, and I am being picky, were the TV was probably a little small, you can not read the menu for the TV if you are sitting on the bed, the lighting is dull in the room of an evening, and the bathroom was a bit grubby. When I laid in the bath I looked straight up into the vent which was full of dust, and obviously had not been cleaned in a long time, there were also some pinky spots on the ceiling which I don't know what that was. The soap provided claims to be eco friendly but from what I read its made of palm oil, so not really enviro-friendly. Despite that, I would have no problem in returning to this hotel, the staff were wonderful, the concierge could not be more helpful, and the breakfast had everything you could want (well except banana's) but it was the most extensive range I've seen in a hotel for a long time. You could even get Organic Jam! The location is brilliant, so close to everything, and as 2 single women we were not worried about walking back to the hotel late in the evening. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtownLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Dear 'NewtownLiz'

Thank you for taking the time to provide such an extensive review of the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback.

I'm really pleased that you had such a great stay. We're very proud of our staff and it's great to hear that we looked after you so well.

Thank you, also, for the feedback on the bathroom. This helps us improve further.

'NewtownLiz', thank you again for the review and we look forward welcoming you back before too long.

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Arrived @ 630am after a red eye flight from Perth. The 2 gentlemen at reception were lovely - I think one was a trainee. They let us check in when we arrived at no extra charge. Check in is normally after 2pm! The hotel was in a great location, the room was clean, and the bar area was great for a coldie. World recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Very Friendly Staff and quiet rooms even though the hotel was in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I thought that when one is staying 4 nights in a room which is $475.00 per night and you have a maximum charge of $450.00 limit prior to paying the account is silly as we also dined at the hotel. This means you have to pay every second day. I have never come across this previously as you normally pay the account at the end your stay. We normally stay 6 days with you at christmas so that would have meant 3 payments during our stay.

Regards,
Mike Bullock

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,896 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 160 in Melbourne
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing