We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location Ideal for Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central Location Ideal for Price”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Can recommend this hotel for business and leisure, esp for location & price. Stayed for business 2 nights then joined by spouse for w/end. Loved being able to walk out door to CBD shops, trams and laneway cafes. Close to everything. Conference was at Convention Ctr and some colleagues (with spouses) stayed at adj Hilton for more$. Wives said later they should have stayed at Novotel Collins - Hilton too far from CBD action (shops/theatres/cafes).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFamilyBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 18, 2010
Dear JFamilyBNE
Thank you very much for your post. I was very glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay at Novotel Melbourne on Collins.
Best Regards
Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    1,925
    526
    125
    80
See reviews for
1,148
1,617
332
804
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Have stayed at many Novotels around the world (Bangkok airport) being the most amazing staff...... beds bigger than Texas .....willows to die for ..... clean and the food amazing..... How ever Melbourne's is by far one of the worst hotels i have stayed in. The hotel is in the middle of the theater district on Collins St .... the staff are friendly but the Hotel itself is run down and not worth a 4.5 star rating at all . We where upgraded to an executive suite upon arrival and was very excited but the room had a view of the inside shopping mall and dusty ledges. The light filtering from the window has a dull green so you looked ill in the mirrors! .... the bed very very soft .... and pillows provided flat!...... they do have a pillow menu which i find weird that they supply nice pillows upon request .... why not supply then in the first place? towels where thin as a sheet not plush as you would expect. The Novotel chain and Melbourne City Novotel should be ashamed to have their name to this building its extremely poor !! got this room on lastminute.com and yes only stay here if its a quick find and your not concerned about comfort or amenity's ...... So to sum things up friendly staff .... great location .... but don't be fooled into thinking because its a Novotel its a nice place to stay its very poor for an amazing city!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrensugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you fo choosing to stay with us and for your feedback.
I have passed on your kind words about our staff freindliness to the team, this is much appreciated. Regarding your concerns out the rooms, you will pleased to know for future consideration that our newly built Premium rooms are almost complete and will be available for mid July 2010, and these will set the benchmark for future renovations of the hotel. They are a modern design, featuring a floor to ceiling and wall to wall window overlooking the Atrium and consist of a deluxe King bed and linen package, including king size feather pillows, 37inch LCD TV, and an original Eames designed Herman Miller lounge chair. They are very stylish and comfortable and I look forward to many of our guests enjoying them into the future. Once again thank you for your feedback, it is certainly taken seriously and we appreciate the opprotunity to hear what people think about our hotel and services so we can make imnprovements. I hope you will return soon.
Yours sincerely,
Hayden Hughes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was one of the most pleasant hotel stays we have enjoyed recently. As others have commented, the Novotel's location is excellent for walking or taking a tram. The room was clean and spacious (with two very comfortable double beds - useful for when one partner's still gripped by jet-lag!), a good bathroom and a shower that worked. We found the staff extremely helpful - we needed a doctor, they found one; we needed a cell phone charger, they found one ... We, too, were stung once by the outrageous $30 continental breakfast before we'd got our bearings, but like the earlier reviewer, soon found plenty of cheaper alternatives elsewhere. A few more hangers in the wardrobes would be nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Dear Andy066

Thank you very much for your post. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious and our location excellent.

I hope you have the opportunity to return to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The Novotel on Collins is a Novotel: that means that one knows in advance what the rooms will be like, roughly what the rates are likely to be. In keeping with the standards of Novotels elsewhere, this Novotel is modern, the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are functional, the staff helpful and the facilities are what one would expect from a contemporary 4-star city hotel. Luxurious it isn't: if one wants luxury, then the place to go is its sister Accor hotel further up Collins Street, the beautiful (but more expensive) Sofitel Melbourne.

But where the Novotel on Collins excels, and what makes it a good choice for a hotel in downtown Melbourne, is its location, on Collins Street between Elizabeth and Swanston Streets. It would be impossible to find somewhere more convenient for just about anything one would want to do in Melbourne.

On the negative side, I think the prices for breakfast a steep: A$30 for a "continental". But since the hotel is located above one of Melbourne's busier shopping arcades, with a basement "Food Court", unless one is committed to having breakfast in one's room, it is a very easy matter to pop downstairs and have breakfast for under A$10 … except, of course, if it's Sunday!

Internet access isn't free, but at A$66 for a week's unlimited access, it's quite inexpensive.

Provided one isn't looking for luxury, but simply a comfortable, very convenient place to sleep in the heart of Melbourne's shopping and dining temptations, close to galleries, museums etc., then the Novotel on Collins is hard to beat on a cost/benefit basis.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felipeordonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear felipeordonez

Thank you very much for your posting. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the hotel. We are very proud of our location in the middle of Collins Street and are glad you could take advantage of it. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast pricing. I will discuss this with our Food & Beverage Manager, however please rest assured our prices are very competitive with our competitors.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The hotel has a central location, on the main street (Collins St), close to the main attractions. The room is spacious and clean; however, we are not impressed with the service. When we ask the front desk to recommend a restaurant nearby, the girl had no idea and had to get on the internet to search. When we ask a general question about what time the stores usually close, the front desk had no idea and again, had to ask around and search the internet. I had the feeling that I am dealing with foreigners like myself ! When I asked the front desk to call Novotel in Cairns/ Australia to confirm our stay the next day. They handed me a piece of paper with a toll free number and told me to find a phone and do the confirmation myself - Is this called a service?
BTW, the hotel charges for the use of the internet - If you have your laptop or Iphone with you, take a few steps down to the shopping mall right below the hotel and use the internet for free. That's where all the business people hang around with their laptops.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear Jade9999
Thank you very much for choosing Novotel Melbourne on Collins and thank you for your valuable feedback. I was glad to read you enjoyed our spacious rooms, location and cleanliness. I am however very sorry to hear you did not find the team helpful. There is no excuse for this and I will certainly be following this up with my team. We pride ourselves on guest service and I am sorry we did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion. If you wish to discuss this further with me please do not hesitate to contact me direct.
Once again thank you very much for your feedback.
Best Regards
Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

My Mum and I stayed here for a week during the Australian Open. The staff we accommodating and always plesant. Great sizes rooms and fantastic location. Rooms are quiet except for when someone uses the shower in an above hotel room. All in all... enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Dear tlc1986

Thank you very much for your posting. I was very glad to hear your mother and yourself enjoyed your stay with us over the tennis and found our team accommodating.

We look forward to your next visit to Novotel Melbourne on Collins.

Best Regards

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

great acess and a comfy place to live in. The morning buffet somehow good, the entrance sign require much to be upgrade, people just tend to miss it.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sanosagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
Dear Sanosagara,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. Our great breakfast is certainly something we are renowned and we appreciate your acknowledgement.

If ever you choose to visit again, please feel free to contact me personally.

Warm regards,

David Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4,412 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing