We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, friendly and efficient staff made it a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #61 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best location, friendly and efficient staff made it a great stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had not stayed at Novotel on Collins for a while and when a great deal came up while we searching Tripadvisor we grabbed it as we knew we couldn't better the location. We arrived early after a long flight and were made to feel really welcome, our bags whisked away efficiently to be taken to our room.

You can't see much of Novotel from Collins Street as there is just a small entry lobby with lifts that take you up to the main lobby on the 6th floor. In between are shops of the adjacent mall (which was all but vacant during our visit with many major tenants having vacated - perhaps a revamp is on the cards - worth checking if building work is about to occur). When you arrive at the 6th floor and exit the lifts you are facing the bar and restaurant area and by turning left you soon find the check in desks.

We were again warmly welcomed and checked in in a few minutes, even though we were a few hours early. We ended up in a room with twin double beds at the end of a long and winding corridor, but we didn't mind that at all as it was a nice quiet location. The only downside was that it faced the internal atrium that overlooked the shopping centre mall and was very dark. Even with all the lights on it still felt dark (at all times). Nice if you want a restful time, but not too cheerful.

The décor was modern and clean and the room had everything we needed, including a great desk area to work at. The facilities included a mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities, which unfortunately were not replenished daily, but as we had some of our own we didn't worry too much. I'm sure they would have bought more supplies had we asked, it was just disappointing that they weren't replaced without asking.

The bathroom has a shower over the bath, always an issue as you get older, and had better lighting than the room. It came complete with some common items like shampoo, soap, bath gel, but no luxury little extras, like body lotion or hand cream (which would have been nice). My wife commented that it had a good hair dryer (not the on-the-wall type that are usually useless and noisy).

The beds were comfortable. There was a good size built in robe with sliding mirrored doors and a room safe in the wardrobe. There were also adequate drawers in the room for storage.

We are glad we chose to revisit as the location is ideal. A short walk to the Burke Street Mall, through some quaint alleyways and malls and handy to a great range of restaurants and cafes. I used it as a business base and found getting around easy with a cab rank out front and a short walk to tram stops. My wife loved it for the shopping!

We are going back to Melbourne in a few weeks and have booked to stay at Novotel on Collins again, but this time in a premier king room, which has a bit more space. We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for clean, comfortable and centrally located accommodation with really friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: An outside (street) facing room may be a little brighter, although perhaps noisier - perhaps a trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holymanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for revisit and for your time to post this feedback. There is always room for improvement and your constructive as well as kind comment is noted and will be addressed with my team to upkeep the standard we are known for and what keeps you coming back.
Beginning in late 2014, Australia on Collins will undergo a major redevelopment, which will elevate the centre to a new retail and dining experience., and at the same redefine our location as Melbourne's premier shopping, dining and accommodation destination. As the Hotel has been fully renovated recently, and it operates independently of the shopping centre, it will be business as usual at Novotel on Collins.
Our King Premier rooms have walk in shower's so you will not have the hazard of stepping over a bath. Please let my friendly team know what you like. We certainly can have moisturizer for your wife in the room prior arrival and have the request for a Collins Street view. Contact my Reservations team or Guest Relations.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    1,913
    523
    124
    79
See reviews for
1,141
1,609
330
795
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Novotel Hotel at Collins in Melbourne is my hotel of choice whenever I am in Melbourne. The price is decent and the location is fantastic. It is very close to southbank (just behind the railway station..Take the underpass). And it is walkable distance to Chinatown and the rest of the melbourne City area. Breakfast spread and quality of food is also quite good. The rooms are clean but the downside is there is not much view except for the atrium which is looking into the middle of a shopping centre. The executive room which i booked was a little dark and the lights do not totally illuminate the room. This is not too much of an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for calling us your Hotel of choice and for sharing your experience via trip advisor. Stay safe while travelling so we can meet again.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The location is excellent and the large room was very quiet. The bathroom had a great self-lit mirror and the shower recess well made, with no water spilling out to the floor. Reception staff were very good indeed. Our two suitcases fitted onto the generous suitcase rack, which is rare. The desk was actually a long bench and was very useful. The bed was very comfortable and huge.

We absolutely hated the lack of adequate lighting and there was only one comfortable place to sit - which was a kind of chaise longue. The crockery was just 2 mugs, cutlery 2 teaspoons. The concierge gave me one bit of wrong advice and omitted to tell me something he should have.

Although the lobby is at ground level, Reception is at level 6. To get to our room involved walking to another set of lifts. This became tedious each time we returned to the hotel.

So almost up to the mark all up, but not quite there. I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Please accept my apology as we did not provide you with a stay that was memorable for the right reason. Feedback helps us to change what guests do not like and I truly thank you for your time to provide this review.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I booked into the novetel on collins for our 33rd wedding anniversary and we were greeted with a cheerful pleasant staff that made our stay one of the most enjoyable times that we have had for a long time.The room was lovely and clean and comfortable and added to our experience.The staff from the front desk to the restaurant were terrific and couldn't do enough for us to make our stay pleasant.We thank you for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, your compliment is greatly appreciated. I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and made your Anniversary one to remember. Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travellers.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were here for a conference - excellent facilities. What a great place to stay in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. It was very quiet and comfortable. The room was huge as was the bed. The air con was able to be adjusted and so was very comfortable. Check in and out was easy and staff very helpful and pleasant. We arrived late and we're able to easily order room service breakfast for the next day or you could join breakfast buffet for a cost. So easy to get to great city shops and a comfortable walk to many attractions. Easy walk to public transport and to Southern Cross station to get the bus the the airport. Only slight negative was the "mood lighting" - it was a bit too muted for my liking, although bathroom light was fine. Definitely recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on floor 8-14 are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. It is wonderful to know that we ticked all the right boxes. You will be happy to know that we are making changes to the lighting in our rooms, so it will be brighter, especially needed in Melbourne during winter as the days are shorter. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have stayed at a large variety of accommodation establishments in Melbourne over the past twenty years and have become very fond of the Novotel Collins after only a few stays recently. Besides it's central location and modern décor it is exceptionally private and quiet for a hotel in a major CBD location. The staff at all levels are extremely polite and aware of your needs. We have planned additional stays in Melbourne over the next few months and will not hesitate in staying at the Novotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usa4july2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to count you as a valued return guest and look forward in providing you with many more joyous times in Melbourne and the Novotel on Collins.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing