We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overal Excellent! But No Free Wifi In Room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 16, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shakhair
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 4,528 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for 1 night while in Melbourne for Moomba Festival. Hotel was busy at the weekend, but felt like I was the only one the way staff helped me in any single way they could. from the greeting at the entry from Collins Street, to the staff at the check-in desk. Was checked into my room at 10am, very thankful for such an early check in! I had a room on level 9 overlooking the city. Room was tidy and well up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. highly impressed. I had a slight issue with the light over the day bed which was fixed promptly once telling staff. amazing to have the large windows to open in the morning and greet Melbourne. close to everything for shopping and sporting events alike.. a short walk to the Yarra River, Fed Square and Bourke Street Mall.

Special mention to Aleesha behind the desk who was absolutely incredible in arranging an earlier Skybus pickup with 20 mins notice.. was taken care of in very high quality service. thankyou!

I visit Melbourne often and I will definately be back for AFL season and be choosing to stay here again. a very happy customer even if it was just for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for writing a review. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that we made such a positive impression on you. Thank you also for mentioning Aleesha's 5 star service. AFL season has just started and we hope to see you soon and often.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed over a weekend for a Christmas party, and as such, work paid for hotels (I think they may have booked out most of the hotel). As the title suggests, the hotel is located in the heart of Melbourne's CBD.

Whilst there was nothing particularly special about the hotel, there wasn't anything bad about the hotel either. I didn't have much interaction with the staff, but by all accounts they seemed to go out of their way to accommodate people's requests (I know that a few of my colleagues needed things done and the staff assisted them with their enquiries).

The room itself was large, particularly by Melbourne CBD standards. If you're after a particularly big room, there are disabled access rooms which are even larger still. The room was also clean and well maintained. Even though my room faced Collin St, I had no issues sleeping whatsoever.

In terms of value for money, I feel it was a little pricey - you could get a more established hotel for more or less the same price.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thalius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your post. Nice to read that you still remember having had a great stay last year.
Hopefully you do not have to wait for another staff Christmas party before you visit again.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gstrengers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our girl's (3) stay at Novotel on Collins was very pleasant - but we weren't there long as we were out & about in Melbourne enjoying Moomba & the Beatles Exhibition, among other places.The room was nice and spacious but the only disappointment would be that the beds were double & not queen size as two of had to share. We were granted at late check-out of 12.30 on the holiday Monday morning which was appreciated. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have experienced.had everything you could wish for - fabulous! May venture into the city again just for this brekkie!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for having stayed with us. Wonderful to learn that you discovered we are one of Melbourne's little secrets. Hope you find the time to have many more adventure's.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I often stay here when travelling for work.

Rooms are always clean, comfortable and it's quiet.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast buffet has a large selection. Only downside is the wait for a cappuccino. When the restaurant is very busy on occasions it took 10-15 minutes for the coffee to arrive.....Whilst ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem (for me) when I am travelling for work I am basically "eating and running" and am looking for speedy service.

Great central location in the city; means it is easy to walk or get public transport around town.

Room Tip: King Rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your continued loyalty, your feedback helps us to improve our services . We are planning to make changes to the coffee service and hopefully you can see those when travelling next. Thank you for kind words about my team and for your review.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,027 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,451 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $127 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing