We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“In the heart of the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special
Ranked #56 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“In the heart of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed over a weekend for a Christmas party, and as such, work paid for hotels (I think they may have booked out most of the hotel). As the title suggests, the hotel is located in the heart of Melbourne's CBD.

Whilst there was nothing particularly special about the hotel, there wasn't anything bad about the hotel either. I didn't have much interaction with the staff, but by all accounts they seemed to go out of their way to accommodate people's requests (I know that a few of my colleagues needed things done and the staff assisted them with their enquiries).

The room itself was large, particularly by Melbourne CBD standards. If you're after a particularly big room, there are disabled access rooms which are even larger still. The room was also clean and well maintained. Even though my room faced Collin St, I had no issues sleeping whatsoever.

In terms of value for money, I feel it was a little pricey - you could get a more established hotel for more or less the same price.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your post. Nice to read that you still remember having had a great stay last year.
Hopefully you do not have to wait for another staff Christmas party before you visit again.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,752
    478
    109
    66
See reviews for
1,044
1,488
305
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our girl's (3) stay at Novotel on Collins was very pleasant - but we weren't there long as we were out & about in Melbourne enjoying Moomba & the Beatles Exhibition, among other places.The room was nice and spacious but the only disappointment would be that the beds were double & not queen size as two of had to share. We were granted at late check-out of 12.30 on the holiday Monday morning which was appreciated. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have experienced.had everything you could wish for - fabulous! May venture into the city again just for this brekkie!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for having stayed with us. Wonderful to learn that you discovered we are one of Melbourne's little secrets. Hope you find the time to have many more adventure's.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I often stay here when travelling for work.

Rooms are always clean, comfortable and it's quiet.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast buffet has a large selection. Only downside is the wait for a cappuccino. When the restaurant is very busy on occasions it took 10-15 minutes for the coffee to arrive.....Whilst ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem (for me) when I am travelling for work I am basically "eating and running" and am looking for speedy service.

Great central location in the city; means it is easy to walk or get public transport around town.

Room Tip: King Rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty, your feedback helps us to improve our services . We are planning to make changes to the coffee service and hopefully you can see those when travelling next. Thank you for kind words about my team and for your review.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Novotel on Collins is in a perfect location - right in the centre of the city. The staff were very friendly & the services they provided were seamless.
We found the beds to be very comfortable & the room sizes generous - a great addition is the lounge in the corner with a laptop table & the large desk!
We will always stay here when we come to Melbourne.

One note to add is - book a room facing Collins st.. You will be able to see what the weather is like each day and dress accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lovelacelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you, your positive feedback is very much appreciated and I will share your praise with my team. Hopefully we will see you soon for another memorable stay.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,440 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#37 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane (the iconic shopping centre beneath Novotel Melbourne on Collins) is arriving in the heart of Melbourne's most revered retail street, Collins Street. St Collins Lane is due to open soon and will draw on the history of the location and add its own modern twist to create a new fashion, food and cultural destination for the city. During redevelopment works are scheduled from 7am - 7pm, Monday to Friday & 8am - 3pm, Saturday. The hotel guest services will not be affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing