We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel at a great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel at a great location ”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I must say I was a bit skeptical when I first arrived at the hotel as the entrance was kind of small and hidden among the shops.

But once I've arrived at the reception and was served by the friendly reception officer, my view has changed.

The hotel was well located in CBD within good walking distance to some good cafes, restaurants and shopping. Everything was within 5-15mins walk. Trams and trains were also easily accessible.

I stayed in a standard room with a queen bed which I found a bit too small to my liking but it works just fine. I wish they have firmer pillows though.

Bathroom was small but refurbished to a modern design. A slight disappointment on the toiletries. Only bath gel and 2 in 1 shampoo was provided. The shampoo wasn't great for someone with long hair like myself. Cotton wool, cotton buds and body lotion was provided which is downside for me.

Wifi was also not available in the room and I had to subscribe to daily data roaming using my mobile phone. Most hotels these days provide free wifi in the entire hotel. That could be something Novotel should look into.

Ohh...and I love that they provide red apples at the reception where you can pick one up on the way in or out of the hotel :) Australian apples are sooo yummy!

On the whole, it's a well located hotel and good enough if you're not looking for a 5 star treatment with turndown service. I would definitely stay there again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    1,925
    526
    125
    80
See reviews for
1,148
1,617
332
804
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed recently for four nights on business.
Location is great being right in the centre of one of the main shopping areas. There are lots of restuarants, coffee shops and shops right on the doorstep of the hotel.
The reception is on the sixth floor although concierge desk is at ground level. The staff are pleasant, friendly and efficient.
The public areas are fine - some room to sit and a fairly open plan bar area/restaurant. It's not particulary enticing to hang about in.
The rooms are large with all the usual amenities. In a city known for its coffee though, some real coffee in the room woudl have been nice rather than a couple of small sachets of instant coffee. The rooms were clean.
The bathroom was a wet room and was clean and well appointed.
My window looked out into the very top of the interior of a shopping mall - it certainly wasn't much of a view.
As there were so many inviting places very close nearby for breakfast, I didn't eat at the hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

On a our first trip to Australia this hotel was the very first we stayed in. Its position in the center of Melbourne was ideal to explore the city center on foot, as well as being very close to tram, bus and rail transport facilities so we could easily visit other parts of this great city. We were on a room only basis which suited us both as there were many cafes, restaurants and pubs within walking distance of the hotel. The only downside to our stay was that our room was adjacent to the service lift and the laundry was delivered at 06.00 hours which is when we were subjected to lots of banging a thuds, so avoid room 925, otherwise the room was superb and very spacious.

Room Tip: Not room 925, unless you like getting up at 06.00 hours, it is next to the service lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family of six stayed at the Novotel on collins this past weekend, and this was our second negative experience with the Novotel in as many stays. We had booked 2 double rooms, which were to be interconnecting. Our children were exhausted after a day in the city and looking forward to getting to our room and having a swim in the pool.We arrived after the set check in time to be told our room was still dirty as they had offered late check out to the occupying guests, without consideration of our booking. We were advised it would not be ready for at least 2 hours, with no apology for the staff member, we were assured that we would be called when the room became available, so we dragged the kids around the city for a further 2 hours and made our way back to the hotel to be told our room was ready , which no one bothered to inform us. Once in our room the kids were keen for a swim, and we were then informed that the pool was unavailable due to a major leak.
The specific staff member at the check in needs to develop more empathy for guests travelling with children. However I must compliment the staff in the restaurant at breakfast, all were exceptional and the valet/concierge staff were also very professional and helpful. It was a shame the level of professionalism did not present it self at check in.
Other small but important issues are the attention to detail in the room. Very limited in- room bar snacks and supplies, and also bathroom provisions were not what we were accustomed to.
Unfortunately this is the second time we have had an issue with getting into our booked accommodation at a Novotel hotel, with our previous experience our room had been double booked and we did not get the accommodation we had booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4,412 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing