We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #57 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

No complaints from us regarding our stay at the Novotel on Collins. From the valet parking (be ready for a busy curbside) to the checkout, we had no issues. The check in was fast and prompt, the room itself was clean and spacious, the breakfast buffet was of a great standard, the checkout was fast and simple. The walls and door are a bit thin though, I could hear our neighbours and people walking past our room- keep that in mind if you are a noisy romantic ;)

We would return if needed for a night in the big city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank EyeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Heart of Melbourne with trams out the front, shopping arcade next door and walking distance to everything you'd want to see in Melbourne. Only hassle is arrival where there is loading zone area only so doormen have to be right there and ready to go otherwise you can get some grief from passing traffic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank Kentm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were celebrating our two yr wedding anniversary. There was strands of hair on the floor in thr bathroom and on the towels. The bathroom filter hasn't been cleanes in a while. At midnight our clock alarm went off, aircon was rattling all night. Did mentioned this at checkout. The staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our free drink at thr bar.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Novotel for three nights and we really enjoyed our stay. I had booked our room on Expedia and on check-in we found out we had been upgraded from a double room to a family suite which was a nice surprise. We have two young kids so the separate bedroom with two twin beds was perfect. Our room on the 9th floor overlooked the shops so there was no sunlight shining in the room in the morning, this helped the kids sleep in a little longer then normal. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Nespresso coffee, robes and slippers were an added bonus. The location on Collins was convenient with plenty of shops and cafes in walking distance and two blocks from the river. Valet parking is expensive, but I assume it is everywhere in the city. The hotel staff was very friendly and quick to pick up and return our car for us (even after 11pm after our return from a day at Phillip Island). There is a tram stop a block away which we made use of on a cold, rainy day. We did not eat at the hotel so I can not comment on the restaurant or room service. I would definitely recommend the Novotel for a business or family stay in Melbourne!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kmn52706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a delux room, room was very new and looked great. Can't go past the terrific location and the wifi was quickest I have had in any hotel in a while. Will stay again. The pool was shut for repairs ( not a big issue for me but best check if it's something you want)

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Thank thefunfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#35 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing