We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #59 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel on Collins from the 8th to 11th August on my way home to WA.
The room was nice and clean, The bed was nice comfortable. The water in the shower was nice and hot which was great.
The food was a little pricey on what you got.

The only let down was the passages leading to the lifts. They where not vacummed for 2 days and to me public areas are first impression.
Also having the mini bar person knocking on ur door between 5 to 6pm is not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    1,772
    482
    113
    68
See reviews for
1,051
1,502
309
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good hotel in Melbourne, Australia for business trip.
Walking distance to everywhere (attractions area, food, convenience shop & etc.)
The staffs very friendly and the front counter is helpful.
I love this hotel, rooms are clean, comfortable bed and good shower.
I stay 5 nights at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaynePGMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend with our three liitle kids. Was very happy overall with the stay, good comfortable room, good position, good restaurant etc., but the thing I was most happy with was the friendly and extremely helpful staff. We made a couple of requests and sought advice a few times over our short stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. Thankyou

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be beaten and the rooms and service are great.
I have stayed here now for both work and pleasure and I think it will meet your needs either way.

If travelling for business, bring your partner as it is so close to Burke Street Mall. the rooms are nice and large with all the comforts you could want. They even provide cots for children free of charge. The late night room service is also useful for those travelling for work.

I would absolutely stay here again, for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good 4-star hotel in Melbourne CBD offering good rooms. the premier rooms, whilst very nice are a fair walk around the hotel so if weighed down with luggage get something closer to the lifts. Gym and pool were closed for maintenance which was disappointing but other than that had a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on other side of floor from lifts unless you like a fair walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My spouse and I just spent three nights here celebrating a birthday.

The staff are helpful and courteous. The concierge desk gave us great assistance on getting around and the room was kept in an immaculate condition. Unfortunately our room was at the furthest extent of the hotel and involved a circuitous walk from the lifts. There was a selection of pillows in our room but I still could not find a comfortable one.

We only had one breakfast there, but the food seemed to be standard hotel fare. The dining area itself is more like an airline lounge than a hotel - very minimalist decor that some will not like.

The hotel is situated brilliantly for shopping, theatre, dining and sporting venues and this alone makes it one to consider for short stays in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for one within an easy walk from the lifts, otherwise you could be walking a similar distance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newmsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,550 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#37 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing