We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lobby on 2nd fl. but understandable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #56 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lobby on 2nd fl. but understandable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is perfect. The hotel is transformed from an old building and has just one shop space as entrance to find the lobby on the second floor. Therefore, it has very limited space for other facilities like meeting rooms. However, the room has been renovated to a very nice condition. Due to limited hotel staffs all the enquiry will have to be made through the operator rather than specific staff for different department like housekeeping or the front. There is WIFI internet service but has to be paid but if you upgrade the room for $30/room/day it is free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prasast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    1,779
    482
    113
    68
See reviews for
1,053
1,505
309
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic location in the middle of Collins Street. All rooms are a couple of floors up so are not affected by the the hustle and bustle of the busy street below. Walk to Federation Square, Queen Victoria Markets, Southgate or just about anywhere from this super convenient location. Rooms are of a good standard (we stayed in a Premier King room). The only comment (not so much a criticism) is that our room was quite a long walk from the nearest elevator through many twisting and turning corridors...not a problem for us but could be an issue if less mobile. Would definitely stay here again when next we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The team at Novotel on Collins welcome and embrace you from the moment you arrive at the concierge. Rooms are excellent and recently refurbished, restaurant is also newly renovated and is excellent to start your day with a buffet breakfast worthy of a melbourne venue. Definitely will return

Room Tip: high floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NavahoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We would have been extremely satisfied with this hotel for its location, room size and amenities, breakfast and facilities but what made it exceptional was the care, compassion and concern shown to myself and family after my elderly mother had a fall while getting on a tour bus outside the hotel. They provided immediatie first aid and also gave us the use of a wheelchair for our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEG065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments about my great staff and our location. I was happy to read the special attention and our service has had a positive impact on your stay. I have shared your compliment with my team especially the Manager on Duty who looked after your mother. I have passed on the note you kindly send to me. Thank you for appreciating the extra step and care my team had taken.
Hopefully we can see you both for another visit.
Yours sincerely
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia and UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter for a pre wedding shopping trip. It was a perfect location for shopping and eating in all the lovely Laneway cafes. We had a basic twin room on level 8 but it filled all our needs and was whisper quiet considering we were in the very heart of the city. Also the two double sized beds were great.
Clean and comfortable with a nice fresh modern bathroom. My only complaints would be that after the first night our room hadnt been cleaned at 3.15 pm, and the next morning when we were going to have tea in bed we found that the room tea and coffee supplies hadn't been refreshed.
These were minor complaints in what was a very comfortable stay. I would return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bluesoftly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the moment you arrive where the staff cannot do enough for you and are extremely polite and helpful to the moment you leave you are made to feel so welcome. The food is terrific, the wine list is a little resticted but for a short stay quite acceptable. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the beds are a good receipe for a great nights sleep. I cannot recomend the Novotel Melbourne on Collins highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank shortysgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for exploring Melbourne. Concierge, restaurant and bar staff all great, reception not so much. Rooms are lovely and facilities good. Disappointing to have spa out of order the 4 days we were there. Location easy for shopping, trams, Southgate, Flinders station. Great breakfast and lovely having real coffee included.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NZLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,569 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing