We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“4 out of 4” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #57 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“4 out of 4”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

For a four star hotel, this is pretty much the best you could get apart from the lack of a driveway. However, this is based on their sale price at about 40% off - I would find it hard to pay full price! The one exception is the bed - too hard for my liking. Other than this, fantastic room. We stayed in a standard king room with a great view. Excellent decor, sheets, layout and bathroom. Only other minor point is the instant coffee - would be nicer if coffee bags. I would return if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,828
    499
    116
    73
See reviews for
1,078
1,544
315
758
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Rooms have been recently refurbished, my room was lovely. Nice and roomy with a large King Bed. No view but its in the heart of the city. Bathroom is small but recently renovated with no bath, just a shower. One of those showers with just glass and no door or barrier, the drain was running slow so the shower flooded the bathroom and the water almost went onto the carpet. Reported it to reception on my way out and it was all fixed up by the time I returned in the afternoon. The staff here are really friendly and the location is perfect. The only thing I dont like about this hotel is the street access, you need to change elevators and walk a long way through the lobby just to get to street level, you may find the extra walk and time to change lifts frustrating, there is no just dashing back to your room to collect something at this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location is excellent and the Hotel Skybus stops at the door. Breakfast service on one day was not up to par as the requested coffees did not arrive at all and we had to get our own. A loud television in the next room could be easily heard. A good example of a Novotel with clean rooms, attentive staff most of the comforts of home. Recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jwatsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on business trip. Receptionist seems did not like Asian guests even though some of them from Asia too, very cold attitude. Reading lights were not working, TV didn't work, poor shower room designing since after shower, wetted all bathroom floor. WIFI extra charge. To sum, service were not consisted with price. Will NOT stay in the future, & will let global branch staff stop staying as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecily X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review of the Hotel. It is with regret that we were unable to provide you with a pleasant and trouble free stay. If you are interested to discuss your concerns further please email me on hayden.hughes@accor.com. I welcome further communication.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent place to stay & very good value, Room could have more lighting, a wee bit too dim. Will certainly stay here again. The location is excellent for a Melbourne City Central visit, whether you are from overseas or interstate, so convienient to every thing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 853Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed in Novotel on Collins for four nights recently in April, was thoroughly disappointed with our stay. Our rooms were only cleaned/beds made/towels changed ONCE during that time, and even then the bins weren't empty, we were left with no milk in the fridge and barely any toilet paper, and the pillows for the bed were discarded over the desk rather than made on the bed. I felt as if we weren't welcome. Our discount wasn't applied to our meals upon check out so we had a disagreement with the staff members then. The breakfast was good for the price and the restaurant staff and reception staff were great. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully-119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent patronage and for your time to provide feedback. I was concerned to read about your disappointed stay and this most certainly does not reflect the high standard we aim for. I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate in what went wrong and why. If you would kindly contact me via email: hayden.hughes@accor.com or phone 61 3 9667 5800.
Kindest Regards,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at Novotel on Collins for 4 nights. They had finished a renovation the previous week and the rooms are now quite modern, huge and comfortable. The bathroom in particular is very nice.
The best asset though is the staff who were friendly and happy to help with questions like where to go for dinner.
The location is also good, right in the middle of the CBD.
I will choose to stay there next time I go to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Please allow me take this opportunity to thank you for the positive feedback you have given to my team. Your valued compliment is definitely the encouragement we need to continue to deliver quality experience to our guests. We look forward to your return visit and thank you again for the time to write this review.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing