We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very good location in the heart of CBD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very good location in the heart of CBD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed there for one night and everything was within grasp. This is a highly recommended hotel for anyone who is on business. You will be surrounded by all the offices and things that you need for business. Even if you are not on business but out on leisure, that's a good hotel with most of the things you need around you. With a tram stop nearby, and on a Main Street, saying that it is convenient location is actually an understatement. The rooms are nice and well designed, making the place look more spacious than what it actually is.

Room Tip: If you like a view, get a room facing the main road. Have your room further away from the lift is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samuelp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,678
    1,874
    509
    122
    77
See reviews for
1,115
1,576
322
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were more than happy with the position of hotel. We would consider to stay next year as well. The hotel is very clean with nice rooms. The bar downstairs is great with happy hour hour whilst we were there great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mpower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

located in the heart of CBD..close to the little lanes and the best vibes of Melbourne CBD. You wouldnt notice the hotel until you get to the address. Breakfast was included in the deal and the overall stay was pleasant and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The title of my review says it all! The hotel is in a fantastic location; to the west we walked to crown hotel in a good ten fifteen minutes. To the east, we went along Elizabeth road to Victoria market! In the heart of it was the shopping district. The arcade alley was my FAVOURITE because I could get my chocolate fix. The hotel was in the middle of renovation when we were there but we were not disturbed by the noise and dust. Lobby is bit small on the second floor but bearable. Breakfast was good, there was a good spread with the buffet. Rooms were clean, modern looking and big! I slept really well considering that usually I have a difficult time falling asleep in new environment! Maybe I was too tired but still thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good clean hotel in the heart of the shopping area. Room was a little small but very clean and well furnished. Staff very helpful. Dining room meals were very good but menu selection was very limited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wenmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good hotel which is close to most things and is walking distance to the city's major attractions. This is a very good operation with nice rooms, Restaurant etc but the best thing about it is definitely the location for me. WiFi very over priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam292123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. I’ve stayed at a few Novotel hotel’s now and in my opinion they are really making a name for themselves. Out of all the Novotel’s I have stayed at, this was the best. I found the room had everything I needed, was comfortable and stylish. The only thing that I didn’t like was I had a room that faced into the shopping centre. I hated the fact I couldn’t look out the window each morning to see if the sun was shining or it was raining. Next time I will ask for a room that faces the outside world.
All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to say hello to you. One housekeeper was inside another room cleaning, saw me walk past but still said good morning.
Probably the most disappointing thing about my stay was breakfast. I thought it was very ordinary, coffee was shocking, had to wait for food stations to be refilled and the taste and flavour of the items had were not really that great.
Next time I’m in Melbourne, I am coming back here for sure but just eat breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing