We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #61 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Heart of Melbourne”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a great hotel! Situated in the centre of Melbourne it provides a great location for any stay. The staff are excellent and very accommodating. Check-in was hassle free and fast, with an upgrade to an Excecutive room provided on the 14th floor. 3 elevators ensure you are not waiting for a long time in the lobby areas.

The room itself was very large and spacious which would be especially welcoming for a week-long stay. Large full length mirrors on the closet provided ample storage space. A highlight of the room was the floor to ceiling windows looking into the Collins St shopping mall atrium. As the mall has a glass ceiling, the room is filled with plenty of natural light during the day. The room is very quiet which is perfect for a good night's rest.

Those staying for business will make very good use of the large desk which had 4 easily accessible power sockets. The softa bed/couch and lounge chair provide a great spot to view the large LCD TV or read. All the digital channels plus a handful of Foxtel channels are also availabe with the usual in-house movies. The air-conditioning is excellent with adjustable temperature and fan speed settings working well.

The bathroom is large and the shower head is great. A real shame there is no bath-tub. The amenities provided are the usual Novotel fare. There is also a pool and gym located within the hotel. Both are in an open-plan space so it may feel awkward lifting weights next to someone swimming by the pool. A nice feature is that one side of the gym is open-aired into the atrium so you do get some 'fresh' air.

Parking is valet and at $35/night, reasonable for the CBD. There are some nearby bays with 1hr parking, or free between 7pm-7am, depending on the day. One of the minor inconveniences is there is no dedicated bay for hotel guests to drive into. As it is one of the main streets in the CBD, you do have to on occassions park the car opposite the hotel or a little further down the street before handing the keys to the valet.

All-in all, a great hotel. The small inconvenience of finding a place to leave the car whilst you unload is far outweighed by the excellent staff, rooms and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and your feedback. Your compliment is an encouragement to all of us as we continuously strive to deliver quality service and experience to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    1,906
    521
    124
    79
See reviews for
1,137
1,607
330
791
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great hotel. Nicely located in the haeart of the CBD and free from the throbbing thump of night clubs that have kept us awake before at other hotels. The staff are fantastic and very helpful.

I thought the restaurant manager at breakfast time needs to master the fine art of task delegation better as he seemed to be doing most of the general tasks and was racing around a lot.

I've given rooms 3 stars because on Sunday our room wasn't serviced. We were out all day and came back after 4:30 to start getting ready for dinner, the room was in the mess I left it in and at some point before 5:30 a note was slipped under the door from house keeping advising they couldn't service because we were there. This is probably due to budget and staffing issues due to Australia's antiquated penalty rate system for wages. I sympathise on a business management level however it did effect my stay which annoyed me.

Other than that it's a great hotel and I'll be staying there again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for having stayed with us. It is a disappointment that the housekeeping experience distracted from your overall stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apology. I will investigate and review in how and why this happened and thank you for your feedback. Thank you for giving myself and my team the opportunity to be able to totally impress you on a future visit. Should I be able to assist please contact me.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location, quiet rooms, good gym & close to all that you need in Melbourne when travelling for business.

I stay here when travelling for business as the Novotel provides a consistently reliable service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gw_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Novotel on Collins is the perfect spot for my yearly catch-up with a friend from school days. The location, the great service, wonderful restaurant and bar all compliment our weekend perfectly! The rooms are well layed out and beds very comfortable. The staff are so helpful and friendly - nothing is too much of a bother.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
It is great that you enjoyed our location and took advantage of the facilities we offer. I thank you for your wonderful review.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing