We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #74 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAustraliaAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,531 - 2,537 of 4,611 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked for a room for several key reasons, location, room features and amenities and quiet nights rest. I did not get the room I booked the premier King option which included bottled water nespresso machine, walk in shower and chaise lounge. The room I got allocated did not have any of the features. When I asked to be moved into the room I had booked I was told there were no rooms available the hotel was full. I had booked 5 days prior to my stay. I was offered free coffee but it didn't come to the room until 5 mins to checkout time and wasn't what I had ordered. really unhappy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please allow me to express my sincerest apology as your stay was not what you hoped for. I was sorry to read that the good will gesture my Management team extended to you was not to your satisfaction and you still feel disappointment. If you would like to talk further about your visit I would welcome the opportunity of speaking with you personally.
You can contact me : phone 61 3 9667 5800 or email hayden.hughes@accor.com
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed several times here at this hotel, however was disappointed this time. We left the room at 10am, and when we returned at 4.40pm the room was still not made up. We called reception and asaked for some clean towels so that we could have a shower, half an hour later still no towels, so called again and they were delivered. At 5pm a caleaner arrived and advised that she finsished work at 5.30pm, my colleague was in the process of showering, so couldn't let her in. Went down to reception at 6.30 and asked for the room to be cleaned. When we returned at 8pm it was cleaned - just. There was also renovations there that were not publised on the website.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review which lets us know where we need to improve our quality of service. The Hotel's website is updated on a regular basis with any news about our Hotel by my Sales team but I shall follow up other providers and see if is mentioned on their webpage.
Please be assured I will investigate with my Housekeeping team why your room was not cleaned as each room is serviced daily and should be at an appropriate time of day. I do hope you accept my apology for the less than perfect visit and would love to welcome you back for an enjoyable stay in the future.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms excellent ,well rennovated and nothing lacking. Breakfast is a real treat lots variety for all tastes.Location ,location,location , right above tiffanys, 100 metres from Royal Lane, its Melbourne ,Melbourne ,Melbourne

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit. With the Hotel's nearly completed upgrade of the public area's we have tried to minimise any impact this might have on our guests. Please allow me to apologise for any inconvenience you might have occurred during your stay because of this. So pleased to read that because of the Hotel's excellent location and my helpful team you enjoyed your time in Melbourne.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christerrific
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel has been going through an upgrade over the past few years, they have managed to improve the rooms and maintain good staff. It is well located and in spite of the renovations it is always nice to be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We travel to Melbourne regularly and now only ever stay at Novotel Melbourne on Collins. Fantastic location, so close to everything. Service has always been good. Spacious clean rooms and all the amenities you need in a city hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
1,582 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $140 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing