We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in Melbourne CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #65 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    1,946
    534
    131
    81
See reviews for
1,157
1,633
336
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently stayed with a group of friends, to attend the Australian Open Tennis. We found the whole stay enjoyable, and although the Novotel was undergoing some renovations at this time, there was little inconvience to guests. We found the staff (ie. all staff, from cleaning, restaurant, to reception etc) to be most helpful and extremely friendly and approachable.
Our group had a great time, and I would recommend this motel to all other friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Novotel on Collins is a great Hotel. It's central location means it is close to shops,transport and attractions. The Hotel has excelent facilities and the food(especially breakfast) is great as well. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed here a few times before, being a member of the A Club loyalty program, and my employer pays sometimes, so it's a way of building up free stays. I don't therefore necessarily choose this hotel for any special attributes, but here is a nutshell:

Good:
Good location - in the centre of the CBD
Free broadband
Is unashamedly four star, but the buffet breakfast is not too bad, and if you're lucky, you can get a breakfast seat overlooking Tiffany across the road - makes for a great Facebook check in
Bed was comfy
Very friendly reception - with four (IIRC) staff on - enough to avoid queues
Plenty of light to enable squint free make up
Bathroom mirror does not fog up
Decent size TV
Aircon was not too noisy, easy to adjust and worked to perfection (it was a plus 35C/95F day outside)

Bad:
Ordered breakfast and they forgot to include coffee (now there's a sure fire way to get guests into a mood!)
Housekeeping came into the room despite "Do not disturb sign"
Took two telephone calls to get said coffee delivered an hour after the requested breakfast time on the order card
Broadband is sloooooooow (I'm not writing this review while at the hotel)
Not much room to park the car out front (valet parking is $35 a day) on a very busy road
No (cheap) parking stations nearby
The shower (reasonable water pressure and temperature range) was one of those door-less designs - lots of water everywhere
Unashamedly four star - no robe, slippers, moisturizer, and other amenities, so be warned, BYO or buy from nearby stores
Not many places to hang things in the bathroom
Lobby was being refurbished - a bit messy
One of the lifts was out of order
Hotel was extremely busy - Australian Open tennis tournament was on (the Williams entourage was nowhere to be seen - if that's any indication of the quality of this hotel - I have previously stayed at the Intercontinental and seen a few stars floating around reception and lounge areas)

Ugly:
Wi-fi costs something like AUD25 per day (per device, I suspect - I didn't bother asking) - suggest go buy a mobile wi-fi device (at the time of this review, you can buy a 30 day prepay device for up to five connections for AUD79 which comes with 3GB) - I wish I had brought mine with me on this trip or find a nearby McDonalds/Starbucks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in Melbourne at The Novotel on Collins for our 40th wedding anniversary. The hotel was well located for us to attend The Jersey Boys at the Princess Theatre and to dine at some wonderful restaurants. Melbourne's Lane ways and arcades were right at our doorstep.
Service was exceptional.
They were under going some renovations but this didn't affect our stay.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Family of five stayed at the Novotel for six nights over the australian open. Superb position for everything, the tennis, shopping, food, restaurants. The kids had a large suite and we had a new room over looking Australia on Collins (shopping centre). Bathrooms good and clean, beds comfortable and spacious with good facilities and seating. Didn't use hotel restaurants, no need as so close to coffee shops etc. pool tiny and gym fairly small but adequate. Would highly recommend. We moved to Sofitel for the remainder of our holiday due to availability, and although the Sofitel might have a few more luxuries, for price the Novotel is much better value for money and is a more central position. Great for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,896 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 160 in Melbourne
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing