We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable hotel with great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #57 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in a Queen room. I loved the pillow menu - definitely recommend having a look if you're not a big fan of the usual hotel pillows. There are a few good alternatives to choose from. The room was nice and clean.

The location is so handy for shops, and there's also a tram stop a few metres away.

Buffet breakfast was nice. Nothing out of the ordinary, but I enjoyed it. They also had a juice maker available so you could make your own freshly squeezed juice.

On leaving the hotel, the concierge staff were very helpful and helped get my luggage into my airport shuttle.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the pillow menu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drusinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,828
    499
    116
    73
See reviews for
1,078
1,544
315
758
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our organisation regularly uses ACCOR hotels the ALAEA has a large account at the Brighton le Sands Novotel and has had for over 10 years. I am also aLe Club member. Unfortunately on the day I had booked accommodation for in Melbourne Novotel Collins street I was called back to Sydney and did not stay at the Novotel Melbourne VIC. I was charged for the room anyway which is annoying, seeing that we are regular customers of the group I would have thought some sort of credit could have been arranged toward future accommodation? E.g. I'm travelling to Melbourne this Thursday and booked again with Novotel Collins Street.

Gary Norris

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank garyjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for review. I have looked into your recent stay with us and you booked a prepaid non refundable rate. We have a variety of different rates available which might suit your travel needs and are flexible. As you will be staying with us this week, I am hoping we can meet up to see if we can discuss the options of a more suitable corporate rate for future stays at Novotel on Collins. Please ask for me upon your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quirindi, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fantastic hotel, in what is an even better location. Our room overlooked 4 stories of shopping centre, right in the middle of Melbourne. You can walk to everything, and the meals at the restaurants in the surrounding area of the hotel are as good as you will get anywhere. The hotel and its staff are beautifully presented and can't do enough to help. Well done, and thank you. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graceluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Novotel on Collins is in an excellent location in the heart of the city. Nice quiet rooms. Very clean and spacious, Have stayed here several times and will stay again. Great friendly service. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I arrived about 1pm and was able to check in with no problems, the room was nice and there was a nice comfy chair with a foot stool which I could've slept on it was so comfortable.
One warning about the chair it had a wooden edging which I found sharp and I have numerous bruises on the backs of my legs from this chair.
I was in room 1128 and I found on Friday night that I could hear the thumping of music from somewhere which was a bit annoying.
I had no problem with the pillows but I did find the bed uncomfortable and woke up with a sore back the 2 nights I was there.

In the lift area to the room is also a circular stairway which leads down to the Australia Arcade but there is also a lift that you can use further around which will take you down to the arcade too.

The pool and spa looks nice but my partner and I found that it is a long walk around to get to there.

The buffet for breakfast was nice but I was turned off when I saw people using their fingers to take food items out of the trays instead of using the utensils.

I found that it doesn't matter what star rating accommodation place you stay at people still do not consider others in the rooms and still make a lot of noise to disturb others. Maybe when checking in people should be given a reminder to be considerate of others staying there.

Location is great with The Block Arcade a couple of doors down from the Novotel where you can find Haighs Chocolates and the Tea Rooms and across the road is Lindt Chocolates, unfortunately I didn't get the time to go through the Australia Arcade but I did find the food hall quite good.

The Novotel is in a very good location we stayed here as it was for my partner's birthday but I did find it a bit pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relic1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for three nights in October in a twin room with two double beds. We were told there was a maintenance problem with the room we had booked so we were given an upgraded queen room with rollaway bed for the first night. We were moved to the twin room for the remaining two nights. Because of the changes, we were given complimentary breakfast each morning and a late check out which was appreciated. Reception staff were efficient in dealing with this problem.

The room was spacious,clean, quiet and well appointed. The bed was the very comfortable. The location is fantastic with trams nearby and most attractions and shopping, restaurants etc within walking distance. I would say this hotel is very close to a 5 star. Thankyou Novotel on Collins for a very enjoyable stay. I would definately return to this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perth6463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Overall great hotel. Excellent location, buffet breakfast highly recommended as children eat for free. Rooms clean but very dark during day. Pool also not very exciting.....................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenz252010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing