We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, location and style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service, location and style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions. The service is always excellent, the food in the restaurant and bar is fantastic and the rooms are well appointed and quiet. We usually book an executive room for the extra space. Every time we have had a very quiet room on a high floor overlooking the Australia on Collins arcade. Any small problems are fixed promptly by the staff and we are always greeted with a smile. Location is right in the centre of town with trams virtually outside the door. Definitely the place to stay in Melbourne .

Room Tip: Go for the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welovetravelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,897
    516
    124
    79
See reviews for
1,130
1,602
328
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Novotel in Collin's Street is very central to everything and the service was excellent.

Everything is virtually within walking distance and if you need to catch a tram then there is a free city circle tram for you to hop on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

A little difficult to find at first as the lobby is behind shops, but the reception desk staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and plush ... very modern decor. The top floor pool was a bonus for the kids. This was our first time to Melbourne and we will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for your post. Happy to know that you and the family enjoyed your visit.
We hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montemesola
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

we'have been here for our honey moon in may 2011. very comfortable room e very very good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contevalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

To see & experience Melbourne, you really can't beat the location of this hotel.
The downside is due to being located within the shopping arcade, we had no idea what the weather outside was like. (Our room looked down over the multiple shopping levels - not ugly but no natural light. With this lack of natural light however, the lighting in the room was also sadly lacking.
We were upgraded to a much bigger room - huge in fact. But so much wasted space. In such a room, why not have a King bed? (Ours may have been a small queen or even only a double)
And the bathroom was small for the space available. We also were travelling with our 4mth old and were given a room without a bath. (Even though I'm sure we asked for this in the booking notes). At a previous hotel we recently stayed they were able to give a microwave for the duration of our stay for warming and sterilising baby bottles. They couldn't do that here - however, the front desk staff were super nice and any time we wanted to use it - they took us to one to use.
The front desk staff were lovely as were the concierge staff - probably the best front of house service I have come across in a very long time (& I often forget to enter my reviews here).
The baby cot provided was functional & clean. Great to have an ipod dock clock radio in this day and age.
We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Melbourne as long as its not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing