We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Check in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
11
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Everything about our stay was great. Our only criticism is that we asked twice if we could get in at 1.00pm instead of 2.00 as we were going to a wedding and would have liked to get ready at the hotel rather than at home. As late as 11.00am we were told that it couldn't be guaranteed which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,448 - 3,454 of 4,569 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

you cant beat the location of this hotel in central Melbourne- within walking distance to just about everywhere. The staff was friendly and efficient. Our room on the 13th floor was fine, the bathroom could do with some upgrading but as you only sleep in the room it was sufficient. Shop around for special deals.

Room Tip: I would go for the rooms on upper floors facing the Street- you have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you for your review and for appreciating my teams friendliness. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the Hotels location right in the heart of the city.
Perhaps we can see you back for a future visit especially after the planned upgrade of the Hotel rooms is finished in 2012.

Regards
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
11
Reviewed November 15, 2011

In a new Premier Room, we were disappointed by size of room, by a window cleaning metal 'bucket' on a pulley suspended right outside our window and by the lack of soundproofing via window (children playing in pool 5 floors below, both evening and from 6.45 am in morning were very loud and quite disturbing). General cleaniless was excellent, but let down by the appearance of food trays outside rooms in hallways. Numerous trays on our floor were there when we checked in (2 pm) and still there when we went out for dinner (6.30 pm). Bed was lovely and did sleep well (till kids' noise)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed as we were going to the John Farnham Concert at St Kilda & we work inKew but live in Rowville so it was impractical to go home & get ready so decided to stay in the city. We found the Novotel on Collins to be a Lovely clean hotel in a great central possition for access to many city attractions. The staff were all very friendly, curtious & helpfull, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
As a team we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. I do hope we can see you for a future visit so you can discover more attractions in your home town. John Farnham might have one more last tour.

Regards
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great location, friendly staff and the website I booked through gave a complimentary late checkout on Sunday (2pm!). I expected a little bit of luxury on this weekend away.

However, this did not feel at all like a 4.5* hotel. The room was grim and very dated, bed was soft and saggy and the bathroom was old, old, old. The shower curtains were frayed. and the bathroom products were worse than ordinary. It had a tiny TV and a crappy alarm clock radio.

It is rather coneveniently located atop a mall, but has a real lack of security. It was possible to walk directly from the shopping centre to the lifts.

I would not recommend the Novotel on Collins.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penultim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Dear Penultim8,
Thank you for complimenting my team who enjoy their work and the customer contact. I appreciate your honest comments. Should you wish to contact me and talk about your stay I welcome the opportunity.
My email is H1587-GM@accor.com

Regards
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here when we attended stakes day. The location to flinders street station was ideal. The staff allowed us to check in early and drop our car off without any hassels enabling us to get to the races on time. We dined in the restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast and the food and service was terrific. The pool was a god send after spending a day at the races in 30 degree heat also!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlsmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel is in a great location but is very old and in need of an update, the aircon in the room didn't cool, the hallways smell mouldy and the bathroom was poky. The reception staff were nice and offered an upgrade to a Family Suite on check in, however we didn't need 2 bedrooms and wanted the room we booked which seem to annoy the receptionist!?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,545 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#85 of 161 in Melbourne
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $129 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing