We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #61 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    1,906
    521
    124
    79
See reviews for
1,137
1,607
330
791
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I booked a Premier King room for my parents, noting that on the website description of the room it stated that internet was complimentary. Using the internet in the room required that you clicked through a payment gateway so during their stay I checked that internet fees would not be charged and was assured that this would not be the case. Upon checkout my parents verified this again.

Surprise surprise, when the invoice for the stay arrived I found I had been charged $46.95 in internet access fees. This is NOT the kind of thing I expect to have to stuff around with, certainly not after going to the trouble of verifying in advance and definitely not when the accommodation is meant to be of so-called "premier" class. Less than impressive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us to point out our error.

I can appreciate the frustration of needing to resolve the internet issue after departure and please accept my apologies for the subsequent inconvenience. I believe that this has now been corrected but it there is anything outstanding, please let me know at your earliest convenience. My direct email is hayden.hughes@accor.com and I'll be very pleased to refund any incorrect charges if not done so already. It is certainly true that our Premier King Rooms have internet included free of charge.

Thank you, again, for bring this issue to my attention.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Thoroughtu enjoyed our stay, Great room, Problem with TV as fixed promptly, our only disappointment was Buffet Breakfast was cold by the time you got it to the table, other than that we will be back .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thanks very much for reviewing the hotel.

I'm pleased that you had a great stay and thank you for the tip on the breakfast - we'll have a closer look at the buffet.

It's great that you'll be back and we hope that it is soon.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldiers Point
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay at Novotel Melbourne on Collins.

The staff were welcoming, helpful and extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. We were in the middle of Melbourne's best shopping and dining and the accommodation was the icing on the cake.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Melbourne and can't wait to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan4257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel.

Your comment on the staff is much appreciated and it gives the team a real buzz to read that our work is making your day better.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing