We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't panic it's ok good value comfy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments
Ranked #152 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't panic it's ok good value comfy and clean”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If like me you read the other reviews after you had already booked and was worried about entering the dungeons of hell it's fine.
If your looking for a good central location and are going to get out and about and enjoy Melbourne and are not the type to sook over the little things it's a good choice.
If you want to spend your holiday at your hotel and require luxury amenities, sweeping veiws and spacious fully appointed surroundings and decor it's not for you.
We enjoyed our stay 4 nights in a standard 2 bedroom. Sure the furniture and carpets are a bit dated and worn but not badly and it was no big deal. The room was clean. We made use of the gym and sauna. Vic markets are 100 metres away and tram stop 50 metres. Staff were helpful and friendly. I agree with another reviewer it's received unfair criticism.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    46
    71
    51
    53
See reviews for
62
63
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Do not go there
I booked two double rooms thank goodness I took the print out because they said I had only booked one and suggested I share a bed with my sister in law ( I like her but not that much plus what would we tell my brother )
Then they said I had booked the "crap" rooms and they would upgrade us to "superior" apparent
Sooo glad I never saw the "crap" rooms!!!!
We bought bleach to clean the shower
Good news is we had a great weekend despite the accommodation but I am now officially banned from booking motels
Lucky I am still allowed to do pubs/restaurants!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We are a mature couple and booked in for five nights. I have to say that even though a touch apprehensive after reading reviews we were very pleasantly surprised. The outside of the buildind and the foyer area were modern. The staff on reception helpful and pleasant at all times. So happy that there was a fast lift as we had heavy luggage. Our view was over a tin roof but i have to say that everything else about our stay here mire than made up for it. Talk about value for money! The location was amazing. Around the corner from Victoria Markets where you could buy fresh produce. The free tourist shuttle bus plus free city circle tram plus railway station, all easy walking distance. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Couldnt believe that our coffee, tea, milk was replenished daily plus towels replaced daily. Air con was good. Just an amazingly good experience. Don't hesitate. This place is just great and i will be back and highly recommended already to my friends. Well done Nova Stargate for making a great, very reasonably priced comfortable apartment with cooking facilities available in a capital city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sil_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived after 3 hour drive to the Stargate Hotel, staff friendly and helpful, however when viewing the two bedroom apartment I was very disappointed when I walk in to the bathroom to find hair and very unclean bathroom. I spoke with the helpful staff and they offered me to look at another three rooms and to my disappointment they were just as dirty. I told the staff that the house clean is not very good and requested a refund as I was not going to stay in a place so dirty. Full refund give with an apology. Wall, blinds, bathroom and furniture very old and dirty please have a full makeover before renting more rooms out to the public.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughesy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Upon already having booked the room then reading the reviews I was extremely hesitant but due to the fact we were in Melbourne for the formula 1 majority of placed were booked out and it was too late to alter our plans. I was expecting an awful place!!!!This it was not, not it was not of our usual standard but it most definitely was not as bad as some of the reviews imply. It's what you would expect of any serviced apartment. There was no rubbish left over from previous guests the sheets were in fact clean. We left every morning to attend our even and came back to a made bed, rubbish bins that had been emptied, towels replaced new soap and so on, for the price that we payed or the prices they charge it really was not that bad all. I do however think that the reviews on hear have been very dramastised if your expecting the hilton then perhaps book at the hilton....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleylm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yuck, dirty kitchen, dirty furniture, dirty walls, noisy residents, bad pillows, just don't do it!
I found this one on Wotif, self rated 4 star - 1 for a TV, 1 for running water, 1 for microwave.....geez. what a bend on the 4 star experience - I rate it as a 1.5 star - I wish I had the time to check the reviews before I booked!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank anon4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rooms clean but very shabby, bed very uncomfortable, wire sticking through the mattress and no underlay on the mattress. Very limited kitchen utensils and the china had lots of wear and tear.the daily housekeeping was neat. on departure no enquiring about our staybut reception was helpful.this is the third visit and it will be the last!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#141 of 160 in Melbourne
244 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,171 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
208 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
379 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#110 of 160 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments

Property: Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments
Address: 118 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Star Gate Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing