We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for inner city melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #112 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The rooms were well presented. The staff were friendly. Great location in a quaint little side street in Melbourne. Central to the city and Southbank which made it easy to get around and discover Melbourne. Would gladly re-visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear John N,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments after your recent visit. We are glad to see that you were happy during your stay with us and that our great central location meant that you were able to make the most of your time in Melbourne. We hope to see you again next time you are down from the sunshine state.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 455 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Selected Metro Apartments, as we wanted a hotel in the downtown area of Melbourne for our 10-day stay. Online search showed that Metro was located in a small alley, with 4 restaurants within a few steps of the door, including the Mitre, billed as the oldest pub in Melbourne. Hotel is located in a renovated Victorian stone building (formerly the bank on Bank Place?)

You need to be very clear with the taxi driver that its the Metro, not the Metropolitan that you're going to. Bank Place is a pedestrian street, with vehicle access permitted for deliveries and taxi drop-off. Unless you feel like carrying your kit from the nearest corner, you may need to be firm with the taxi driver.

On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to a suite of rooms on 5th floor overlooking central area at back of the building. Previous reviews suggested quieter rooms are on upper floors away from the street, which is true.

We were looking for a central location and this it certainly is - handy for streetcar lines, walking distance to tourist areas, rail stations etc. But, that means you have to accept downtown city sounds at night - but the heavy stone walls and carpeting made this the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. Its a tradeoff - not much of a view - but that wasn't what we were looking for.

Staff and manager were super helpful and friendly, all requests speedily handled. Staff kept rooms spotlessly clean. Lots of advice about good places to eat (including a super Indian restaurant in the basement).

We had a marvellous time in Melbourne, and having a downtown hotel to stay was one of the good thing about the trip. If I'm back in Melbourne, this is the place I'll be staying.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the street are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Paul B,
Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and that the hotel and our staff have made your trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.
Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very reasonable rate in the centre of town with many places to eat at any time of day nearby.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Can be noisy with the late night pedestrian traffic in the lane - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Grant N,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed location and that our efficient and friendly staff met your service expectations.

We hope that we will see you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Right, so this place is not 5 star, and it is an old building which has been updated over the years in a slightly hodge-podge kind of way, but for the price I paid for this and the location it is in, I was very happy with it. The staff on check in and check out were very helpful and friendly and assisted me with parking validation and a choice of restaurant. There are some great bars immediately downstairs and I only wished that I wasn't travelling alone so I could have gone and checked them out. Location is sensational, it is extremely central, but being in a non traffic laneway it was quiet. The bathrooms are very poky but the remainder of the room is spacious and pleasant. I think this place was really good value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Servicewithasmile83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hello Servicewithasmile83,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, with our central location and helpful and friendly staff.

We are pleased to see that you will be back again and we hope to see you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaranta - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Our room was on the 2nd floor. Building adjacent about 4 feet away. No light in room, dark all the time. Apartment right next to a bar, restaurant and night club. Noise from outside till 3 - 3.30am very bad. Very poor sleep. Once people go home the street clearners take over, more noise. Room small and boxy.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hello Kevin P,

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The Studio room that we allocated you for your five night stay was an upgrade from the Queen Room that you booked online. We did this considering the length of your stay and the fact that you were staying over a weekend as these rooms, despite only being available up to the third floor, are typically a much quieter room than the smallest cheapest Queen Rooms.

Unfortunately we had not been made aware that the neighbouring establishments on that side had planned to operate so late during the weekend of your stay as it was as surprising to us as it was our guests.
In regards to the room being on a low floor with little light; as we are in the centre of the city it is naturally going to occur that there are other buildings very nearby and we have some rooms that window onto walls. This is something that we have no control over and even larger hotels still have rooms on low floors which will have a similar sort of outlook. This is not something that matters to all travellers, though we recommend that anybody with specific requests regarding windows or lighting contact their accommodation provider prior to, or even during, their stay to discuss the options available.

We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again, and we welcome you to contact our reservations department directly to discuss your accommodation needs.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Have been staying here each time I return to Melbourne as they often have great offers, aroung $110 for a studio apartment in a very central and quiet part of Melbourne. A bit shabby in the foyer, but amazing value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorchbearerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello TorchbearerSydney,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us last December. We are glad to see that you enjoy our hospitality, value and central city location.

We have since your stay completed renovations in our reception area and we hope that you will get the chance to see the improvements next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We are disappointed, The beds where very hard and the pillows where like concrete. The room with very noisy you can hear people beside and above you when they are in the barthroom. The building was very hard to get in to for oldest people will not uses again.

Most staff where very helpful but not all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 833Aucklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello 833Aucklander,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We would greatly appreciate the chance to discuss this with you in further detail, so please don't hesitate to contact me directly on the phone or email details appearing on your invoice or booking confirmation.

Thank-you,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#145 of 162 in Melbourne
248 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#87 of 162 in Melbourne
1,083 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $80 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing