We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent CBD place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #112 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent CBD place to stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, Melbourne CBD, 24-27 Dec 2013 after booking on-line. Great location, within walking distance of everything we wanted, including good cafes, etc. and close to trams going elsewhere - free on Christmas & Boxing Day. Well-appointed apartment on 7th floor with separate bedroom, living room, kitchenette with hotplates, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine. Small bathroom but good shower/water pressure. Friendly helpful staff. Only downside - in room, lack of mirrors, only one in bathroom & there were 3 girls sharing! Entry to hotel lacks disabled access and two of us had walking problems. Apart from that, would recommend to anyone, though bed-settee was very uncomfortable!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor are best as there is an Indian restaurant below - thank goodness it was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear ValB,

Thank-you for sharing your comments after your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that the sofa bed did not meet your expectations, we always appreciate the opportunity to attend to an issue like this while you are with us so we hope that you spoke to reception or housekeeping staff about this issue.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, and found our staff friendly and helpful and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    181
    100
    44
    24
See reviews for
58
154
46
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. 1 bedroom apartment was clean, comfortable and modern decor. Location was awesome, so close to everything, and the laneway location and nearby cafés etc really made you feel like you were experiencing Melbourne. Yes it was a little noisy on the Friday night however, having read this on trip advisor, I requested a room away from the noise. We were given a ninth storey room so could barely hear the noise over the hum of the air con. Had earplugs but didn't need them. Would highly recommend for an inner city Melbourne holiday experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cruising4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Cruising4eva,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay with us. We love to hear from happy guests and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at this place for five nights on a business trip to Melbourne. I loved the one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette; felt like home. This is just in the heart of the city, close to all attractions and great restaurants. The front desk staff members were uniformly excellent, always ready to help you. They arranged for my sight-seeing tour. As I read in previous reviews, one night (Friday) I did hear noise from a nearby pub. But based on the good experience, I will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello Espi52,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay with us while you were in Melbourne.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look keenly forward to seeing you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night only when in town for business. Have stayed in a lot of Melbourne hotels and this would have to be one of the worst. Small room with a queen bed (I think they called it a "budget queen room") and not much other space, with shoddy curtains and worn bed linen. The (free) wireless internet is pointless - so slow it wouldn't load pages properly - was forced to resort to tethering from my iPhone. Noise from the bars on the street carried into the room (even on a Wednesday night). My key did not work upon my second entry to the hotel, with no apologies from staff for the inconvenience. The bathroom was fine, if again a bit squishy, with refill products on the wall (which I personally am not a huge fan of). Hot shower with decent pressure, but small. You'd definitely feel cramped with two people in this room. I was lucky to have only small suitcases - you would struggle with anything larger than a carry-on size as there is nowhere to put it in the room. The location is the only thing this hotel has going for it - very centrally located if you are after a CBD location for your visit to Melbourne with lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and a short walk to Bourke St Mall. With so many other options in Melbourne CBD, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hello KG0411,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us in Melbourne.

We are sorry to hear that the room you were in did not meet your expectations; the Budget Queen Room is the smallest and most budget-friendly room that we offer and is, as it is advertised, bed and bathroom only. We have larger Studio and One Bedroom Apartments with more space and facilities and we recommend new guests (or their corporate travel arrangers) to contact our reservations department directly to discuss the needs of the guest prior to booking so that they may have the best option to suit their needs during their stay with us.

On the odd occasion that any guests may have issues with connection to our wireless internet network we have 24 hour reception and our staff will do the best they can to remedy the issues. Even if staff on duty are not able to diagnose the issue for you immediately we can follow this up with our IT department; we always appreciate the chance to solve your problems if you contact us during your stay.

We hope that you consider staying with us again, please phone our reservations department to discuss your previous stay and your requirements for your next and we will do our best to take great care of you.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A good property that is right in the heart of the city making it really easy to get around everywhere. The rooms and the level of service are fine and the staff were extremely friendly. The only problem is that the property is right next to a night club which plays blaring music till the early hours of the morning on weekends making it impossible to sleep. So would recommend this hotel if you were staying in melbourne on weekdays but definitely not on weekends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hashem Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hello Hashem Y,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne.

We are located in the centre of the city, and while we are an easy walking distance to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, sporting and leisure pursuits there are also a few night clubs near by which operate on Friday and Saturday nights. The music and street noise of patrons from these clubs can effect some of our rooms, though ensuring that the double-glazing panels are correctly in place dampens the sound. We also have ear plugs available from reception, which is open 24 hours.

We hope that your enjoyment of the other aspects of your stay means that we will get to see you again the next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was looking for accommodation whilst on a city conference and this was excellent value. The hotel is small but the one bedroom apartment was excellent. The rooms were a good size and everything you needed - writing desk, washing machine and dryer etc was there. The only downside is that the bathroom is small and the shower in an awkward corner (it could be difficult if you didn't have full agility). Be advised also that there is an Indian Restaurant in the basement or nearby and the lift had an 'Indian dinner' smell the whole time I was there (I think the hotel should put a note in the rooms explaining the smell). The hotel itself is in a great little lane off Little Collins street and the café / bar on the corner did great breakfast and coffee. All round a very good experience for an excellent price.

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet when I was there (mid week) but I understand the higher level rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hello Imation,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your views after your recent stay with us in Melbourne.

We are very glad to see that you found the room to be a good size and well-equipped for your conference accommodation, and we hope that you will return to stay with us again if you are back in Melbourne for work or leisure.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Noise, a lot of noise from nightclub. Bring your earplugs! Otherwise you cant sleep.
Location is central and good to be close to everywhere in CBD.
Units are also large but you wouldnt use the sitting area very most likely so it us a waste.
I will not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reza-Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Reza-Au,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay.

There are indeed some noise issues from a small number of the near-by licences venues that effect some of the rooms in the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. We are in the process of working with the Melbourne City Council and Victoria Police to ensure that licence conditions of these establishments are enforced and do not impinge so greatly on our guests.

Our spacious One Bedroom Apartments are set out to cater for guests who are looking for a home-away-from-home accommodation experience. As well as corporate guests we frequently accommodate longer-staying holidaymakers in the order of a week or two who are not looking to dine out every night and for whom a kitchen and living area are are a great comfort for their extended stay. For guests staying shorter times like only a night or two and who will not require lounge and kitchen facilities we also offer Budget Queen Rooms and Studios at competitive prices. We suggest that if you are unsure as to what option will suit you best for your stay that you phone our reservations department directly; our staff are always happy to assist you chose the accommodation option that is best for you.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may show you the best we have to offer in accommodation options.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#141 of 160 in Melbourne
244 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 160 in Melbourne
1,071 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Property: Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing