We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option for inner city value and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #112 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was looking for accommodation whilst on a city conference and this was excellent value. The hotel is small but the one bedroom apartment was excellent. The rooms were a good size and everything you needed - writing desk, washing machine and dryer etc was there. The only downside is that the bathroom is small and the shower in an awkward corner (it could be difficult if you didn't have full agility). Be advised also that there is an Indian Restaurant in the basement or nearby and the lift had an 'Indian dinner' smell the whole time I was there (I think the hotel should put a note in the rooms explaining the smell). The hotel itself is in a great little lane off Little Collins street and the café / bar on the corner did great breakfast and coffee. All round a very good experience for an excellent price.

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet when I was there (mid week) but I understand the higher level rooms are be...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hello Imation,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your views after your recent stay with us in Melbourne.

We are very glad to see that you found the room to be a good size and well-equipped for your conference accommodation, and we hope that you will return to stay with us again if you are back in Melbourne for work or leisure.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Metro Apartments on Bank Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Noise, a lot of noise from nightclub. Bring your earplugs! Otherwise you cant sleep.
Location is central and good to be close to everywhere in CBD.
Units are also large but you wouldnt use the sitting area very most likely so it us a waste.
I will not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reza-Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Reza-Au,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay.

There are indeed some noise issues from a small number of the near-by licences venues that effect some of the rooms in the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. We are in the process of working with the Melbourne City Council and Victoria Police to ensure that licence conditions of these establishments are enforced and do not impinge so greatly on our guests.

Our spacious One Bedroom Apartments are set out to cater for guests who are looking for a home-away-from-home accommodation experience. As well as corporate guests we frequently accommodate longer-staying holidaymakers in the order of a week or two who are not looking to dine out every night and for whom a kitchen and living area are are a great comfort for their extended stay. For guests staying shorter times like only a night or two and who will not require lounge and kitchen facilities we also offer Budget Queen Rooms and Studios at competitive prices. We suggest that if you are unsure as to what option will suit you best for your stay that you phone our reservations department directly; our staff are always happy to assist you chose the accommodation option that is best for you.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may show you the best we have to offer in accommodation options.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment - well appointed, with mostly everything you need for an extended stay - its also fairly quiet as it actually isn't on a road which is either great if you don't have a car with you (we planned not too - it is the CBD after all) or bad if you feel you must have you car nearby. (There is paid parking available down the road). Great location - a short stroll to nearly everything or hop on a tram. (Visit a 7-11 for a myki tram ticket first!) We traveled on Skybus to Southern Cross Station (not mentioned) and then the hotel transfer bus dropped us just down the road from the hotel. We had a great time in Melbourne!

Room Tip: pick a higher floor looking out the back - not scenic, however, no traffic noise!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrnudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hello mrnudie,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay in Melbourne at Metro Apartments on Bank Place.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you stop in with us again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There is no where to park in front of this hotel to unload your luggage. The closest car park they recommend is around the block and the charges are quite high. Best thing to do is be able to find metered parking nearby to check in and unload your luggage first.

Check in was easy and simple. The lift was easy to access and quick to get you up but not very big. It can be very snug with a couple luggage cases. The room was really tiny and was very awkward to get around.

The towels are weird, when you used them all the white fluff came off them and stuck onto your body - eww!

I'm glad that we only stayed in this place the one night, the hotel is tired and needs refreshing. Street noise is a huge

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DJ_Mizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear DJ_Mizit,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay.

The room you stayed in was indeed small, our Queen Room is the smallest and most budget-friendly room that we have on offer. The central-city laneway location of the hotel does mean that it is not recommended to park a car right at the front door of the hotel, and while this is not an issue for interstate travellers coming in from the airport by taxi or shuttle we recommend that drivers stop in the parking spaces on Little Collins Street (20 metres from our door) to unload luggage and check in.

The parking arrangement that we have with the Wilson Parking station is currently capped at $17 per day or per exit for weekdays, which is a far sight cheaper than the general city casual parking fees of up to $80 per day or more with overnight rates. We advertise that parking is off-site and extra though travellers from suburban and regional areas may still find this to be an unexpected extra on their trip.

We hope that you consider booking with us again; if you speak to our reservations department directly we can assist you to book a room which is best suited for your needs during your stay.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great apartment in Melbourne. Stayed on the 7th floor in a one bedroom apartment. Close to shopping and great restaurants.Check-in was fast and efficient as was checking out. No complaints whatsoever! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hello Sue B,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place. We are glad to see that you found us efficient and well-located and that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for one night (Saturday night) recently. My friend slept on a single sofa bed and I slept on the queen bed in the bedroom. The apartment is pretty small but fine for the two of us and perfect for one night. The bathroom was nice and light although the fan sounded like a jumbo jet :) I had asked for a quiet room based on other reviews, and that's what we got. I had trouble sleeping due to the excessive consumption of espresso martinis, so I was aware of the noise from the nightclub nearby, but if I'd been tired I doubt I would have noticed it. There was no 'doof-doof' noise, just people noise, which equated to a few 'whoops' and some laughter every now and then, but it wasn't what I would call loud. So my advice would be to request a quiet room (we stayed in 403) located at the rear of the building, and pack ear plugs just in case. And don't drink espresso martinis before bed. Aside from noise issues, the apartment is in a great location, staff were friendly and helpful and it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room located away from the street.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitsan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hello Nitsan T,

Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place on your recent trip to Melbourne, and for sharing your comments after your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you, except your espresso martinis, didn't have any issues sleeping.

We look forward to seeing you next time you stay in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I went to metro apartments on banks place last week. The look of the room was lovely but the bed was like sleeping on BRICKS! It was horrid! My partner and i are still have sore backs from the bed! The walls are incredibly thin! We could hear the people next to us talking all the time and the people above us EVERY night till the early hours stomping around. At one point the walls and windows were shaking! It is also close to clubs so two-three nights all we could hear where loud and rowdy people and loud music. So if you want peace a quite this isn't the place to stay!
However the location was perfect! Close to cafes, trams, shops, restaurants etc. the cleanliness was also really good.

But the horrible bed, paper thin walls and the night clubs close by were not a hit for us. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hello Karen S,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne.

We are glad to see that you were happy with out location, decor and housekeeping, but we are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable with the mattress in your apartment. We are aware that the comfort level of bedding can be subjective so we are always keen to go to the best efforts we can to make you as happy as possible during your stay, please let us know if there is anything not to your satisfaction.

We urge anybody who is disturbed by factors outside their apartment during their stay, including within or outside the building, to contact reception immediately. While staff are not able to remedy every case we appreciate the opportunity to do what we can.

We hope that you might in time consider returning to enjoy our great location and facilities once more.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#143 of 160 in Melbourne
245 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,182 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#86 of 160 in Melbourne
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#98 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $86 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing