We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #110 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Got to say its better staying in a self contained apartment like this if your in town for more than a couple of nights. Arrived at airport and tock the bus to town. Quick and usually includes a shuttle to hotels around town for free. Trundled my bag in search of this establishment. Finally found it amongst table and chairs that spew out onto Bank Place from restaurants and pub. Check in friendly and given apt on top floor. There is a little hum from the restaurant clientel below but this is a city and to be expected. The apartment was comfortable although a bit run down in parts. Renovations were happening on lower floors. Just around corner is a small mart but a little walk down town Coles Supermarket will have most of required items. A good price for this accom and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Waikatosflyingkiwi,

We appreciate your lovely comments after your February stay at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We are indeed 'hidden' in a lovely tree-lined laneway with restaurants and cafes nearby for your dining pleasure.

Our renovations on the guest rooms have now been completed and all of our rooms are now fresh and revitalised. We hope to see you again so that you may enjoy our fresh new apartments.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    157
    90
    37
    18
See reviews for
44
131
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights. We also loved the location and the easy access to all of Melbourne ciyty's attractions. Very easy to walk into the CBD and to check out the fascinating little laneways off Little Collins Street and Flinders Lane. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We will definitely be staying again on our next Melbourne trip and will recommend to our friends.A very special thank you to Hashmi.
The French Patisserie nearby is delightful As is the Curry Vault for a yummy Indian food

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 958Raylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear 958Raylee,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place Melbourne. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us on you trip to Melbourne in April and we appreciate your comments; we also think that Le Petit Gateau in Little Collins Street and the Curry Vault in Bank Place are great food options nearby.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We’ve stayed at the Metro Apartments on Bank’s place during our visits to Melbourne for the past four years. The main reason we’ve kept coming back is the handy location, friendly staff and the one bedroom self-contained units which are especially great for a family of three. During our most recent visit we decided to book the budget room for two nights (a small room which is fine for use if you’re only planning to use it for a place to rest your head, bed was not that comfortable but ok for one or two nights).
The hotel is located in an area with a few pubs etc. so on a weekend it’s impossible to get a decent night of sleep, when you finally do get to sleep you’ll be woken at 7am by the noise of rubbish collection (and bottles breaking). The other problem we encountered was that there is an Indian restaurant underneath the hotel, unfortunately the smell of Indian food permeates throughout the hotel rooms and gets into everything. (Either you’ll get used to and forget about it or if you have a very sensitive nose it could drive you insane).
If you don’t mind the sleeplessness and the aroma of Indian food then this is a good place to stay. Clean rooms, good location, lovely staff.

Room Tip: As far away from the side rubbish is collected every morning....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1World1People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear 1World 1People,

Thank-you for your continued patronage with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place when you stay in Melbourne.

Due to the location in the building of our Budget Rooms (the smallest and most cost-conscious room that we offer) they are subject to external noise and we go to every effort possible to advertise this, including featuring this in the room description as it appears on most of our online listings including our own website and all possible third party booking engines. This is not such an issue for people who may be staying in the city to attend functions at the clubs nearby but in the interests of the comfort of those who may not be in the city for these reasons we go to the effort of making sure that you are aware of this in advance of booking.

We hope that you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Melbourne and that we are able to offer the best room for your needs at the time of your booking.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a couple of nights while in Melbourne for work. The location is great and the apartment was a good size (would have been fine for two people to spend a week in and not feel they were constantly tripping over each other). There is a little supermarket around the corner to buy breakfast supplies as the apartment has a good basic kitchen.

The only thing to be aware of is there are about 10 steps up from the street to reception/lift so if you can't lift your suitcase you might struggle. I didn't stay on a Friday or Saturday night so can't comment about noise from the clubs as other reviews have, but I slept very soundly the nights I was there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear SharonP76,

Thank-you for leaving your comments after your stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in May this year.

We do indeed have steps up from street level to access the hotel and we try to advertise this in all our online listings; we do have front desk staff nearby who are happy to assist those who may have difficulty in negotiating these steps with luggage, prams or other such bulky items on entry to the hotel.

We are glad to see that other than this matter you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope this means that we will see you return on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for almost a week, and loved the location.The room was oddly proportioned, with a huge bathroom and small bedroom and living area. Our friends also stayed here in a studio apartment which seemed to be a more practical, pleasant and sunny room. The windows were all frosted, so the room was fairly dark. The facilities were updated and reasonably clean. For some reason, our room was not cleaned every day, even though we were told it would be. Our only significant issue was the very loud noise coming from a nightclub nearby. We are used to some background noise so were not concerned about it initially, but the noise on Friday night literally made it impossible to sleep - I called reception but they couldn't do anything, so we ended up walking around the city until the noise stopped at around 3:30am. The manager organised for our balcony door to be sealed the next day which seemed to help on the Saturday, but we were not offered a discount or any compensation for our lost night's sleep. Overall, we were happy with the hotel, but thought we would have received better service considering the amount of money we paid and the time we stayed.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the free WiFi when you are checking in, and avoid staying in a corner room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear MissKarlee,

Thank-you for leaving your feedback after your stay with us in March this year.

There are indeed nightclubs nearby which operate on Friday and Saturday nights and generate noise levels that can be heard from some of our rooms, though our windows are double-glazed and when the panels are appropriately closed this significantly reduces the impact of the outside noise on guests.

Our special 5 night and 7 night rate packages are available for longer stays with reduced nightly rates based on limited housekeeping services during your stay; while our housekeeping department operates daily your stay was only ever scheduled for one mid-stay service. We would like to apologise if the conditions of your booking were not reiterated to you on arrival and for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused you. We always recommend contacting reception during your stay if you have any enquiries about the service or inclusions of your booking.

We are glad to see that other than these hiccups in your stay you enjoyed the location and other facilities of the hotel, including the free wireless internet access, and we hope to see you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked here as had a wedding in the cbd. It was a perfect location, there was no noise from nearby clubs (on Queen St). The rooms were older but had been redone up with great facilities. The size of the room we stayed in was suprisingly big as we had booked the studio room. The staff were really helpful with parking and directions for restaurants. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara_smith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello tara_smith53,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments. We trust that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am a frequent guest at this friendly "home away from home". Suites have everything you need for a long or short stay including a well equipped kitchenette, ironing board, washing machine etc. Always sparkling clean and very quiet, except perhaps Friday nights, but even then not intrusive. Great base for touring and seeing the city with trams just down Bank Place. Great staff (more like "hosts") and a very attractive tariff. No front of house fro meet and greet but many great cafes, pubs etc very close by. Only drawback is no on-site parking but there is an arrangement with parking station about 200 meters away. Comfortable and cosy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible as they are always busy. Rooms at the front are a bit noisier, particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear rodiMelbourne,

Thank-you very much for your review after your most recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place. We are happy to be your 'home away from home' and we look forward to seeing you next time you need a stay in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#90 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Property: Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing