We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #104 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for almost a week, and loved the location.The room was oddly proportioned, with a huge bathroom and small bedroom and living area. Our friends also stayed here in a studio apartment which seemed to be a more practical, pleasant and sunny room. The windows were all frosted, so the room was fairly dark. The facilities were updated and reasonably clean. For some reason, our room was not cleaned every day, even though we were told it would be. Our only significant issue was the very loud noise coming from a nightclub nearby. We are used to some background noise so were not concerned about it initially, but the noise on Friday night literally made it impossible to sleep - I called reception but they couldn't do anything, so we ended up walking around the city until the noise stopped at around 3:30am. The manager organised for our balcony door to be sealed the next day which seemed to help on the Saturday, but we were not offered a discount or any compensation for our lost night's sleep. Overall, we were happy with the hotel, but thought we would have received better service considering the amount of money we paid and the time we stayed.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the free WiFi when you are checking in, and avoid staying in a corner room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear MissKarlee,

Thank-you for leaving your feedback after your stay with us in March this year.

There are indeed nightclubs nearby which operate on Friday and Saturday nights and generate noise levels that can be heard from some of our rooms, though our windows are double-glazed and when the panels are appropriately closed this significantly reduces the impact of the outside noise on guests.

Our special 5 night and 7 night rate packages are available for longer stays with reduced nightly rates based on limited housekeeping services during your stay; while our housekeeping department operates daily your stay was only ever scheduled for one mid-stay service. We would like to apologise if the conditions of your booking were not reiterated to you on arrival and for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused you. We always recommend contacting reception during your stay if you have any enquiries about the service or inclusions of your booking.

We are glad to see that other than these hiccups in your stay you enjoyed the location and other facilities of the hotel, including the free wireless internet access, and we hope to see you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 482 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked here as had a wedding in the cbd. It was a perfect location, there was no noise from nearby clubs (on Queen St). The rooms were older but had been redone up with great facilities. The size of the room we stayed in was suprisingly big as we had booked the studio room. The staff were really helpful with parking and directions for restaurants. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara_smith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hello tara_smith53,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments. We trust that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am a frequent guest at this friendly "home away from home". Suites have everything you need for a long or short stay including a well equipped kitchenette, ironing board, washing machine etc. Always sparkling clean and very quiet, except perhaps Friday nights, but even then not intrusive. Great base for touring and seeing the city with trams just down Bank Place. Great staff (more like "hosts") and a very attractive tariff. No front of house fro meet and greet but many great cafes, pubs etc very close by. Only drawback is no on-site parking but there is an arrangement with parking station about 200 meters away. Comfortable and cosy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible as they are always busy. Rooms at the front are a bit noisier, particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rodiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear rodiMelbourne,

Thank-you very much for your review after your most recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place. We are happy to be your 'home away from home' and we look forward to seeing you next time you need a stay in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, convenient spot with lots of food and drink options close by. Highly recommend happy hour at the bistro on the corner. The apartments are in need of a spruce up - some cupboard doors were off hinges etc, and the furniture was tired. But overall, the location and friendly staff made for an excellent stay and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Jan C,

Thank-you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Melbourne; we appreciate your taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay.

We are indeed in the process of renovating and we are glad to see that you will return to stay in one of our 'spruced up' apartments and experience another excellent stay with us.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A fantastic location near pubs, restaurants and the city centre. But with no on-site or easy street parking, very hard to get to just to check in. This of course is due to the CBD location, so not totally surprising, but with the hotel being up a narrow lane, it was a challenge to park, lug the bags up and check in. And, while the check in staff were great, it was then a surprise to find that cost-effective parking was a long way off with a long walk back to the hotel. The hotel had negotiated reduced 24 hour parking rates, so that lessened the pain. The rooms were a good size with a separate bedroom and and a lounge. Free wifi was great, but the rooms were a little tired and the air conditioning struggled to keep up (it was nearly 40 C to be fair). There is a great curry restaurant right downstairs and a fantastic wine bar across the street, both of which I would recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel was in early stages of refurbishment when I stayed, so maybe that is completed by now? Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear NZ_Wine_Traveller,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne.

As you mentioned, yes, the parking discount that we have arranged is approximately 5 minutes' walk from the hotel. There are closer parking stations which unfortunately will not offer our guests any rebate on their casual rates but it is at the prerogative of the guest whether or not they wish to use the heavily discounted parking arrangement that we have or leave their vehicle elsewhere. We recommend that guests drop their luggage off via the Little Collins Street access to Bank Place before taking their vehicle to the Wilson Parking if wishing to take advantage of the reduced parking rates.

When you stayed last November there were indeed refurbishment works going on, and while they are still in progress we are nearing completion and most of our rooms have been updated by now.

We hope that you were able to overlook the difficulty you had with vehicle access and parking in favour of our great staff and fantastic location and you will return to experience one of our recently renovated rooms.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Small and very quite.All you need for a short stay and the small sitting room with cooking area is ideal if you wish to eat in.
The suite we had was very clean and comfortable.
Walk out the front door and you can stroll along Bank Place through many bars and eaterys.
Trams are only a block away and shops and theatres within walking distance.
We will stay again and recommend The Metro to those who do not wish to pay a fortune but who want comfort

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank younggreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear younggreynomads,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to share your views of our property after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, Melbourne.

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return; we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this hotel based on a special through travelzoo.com, the rate was great and previous reviews of the hotel were pretty good. We were so impressed when we arrived, we had a studio apartment on the 3rd floor which was nice & big with microwave/fridge/kettle/hot plate etc The apartment had been recently refurbished and it may not be the flashest it was new & clean. I should add, we travelled with another couple who had a 1 bedroom apartment (this had washing machine & dishwasher also) however they were on the opposite side of the building to us and unfortunately had the noise of the rubbish bins being empty throughout the night down the side laneway - but they both still said they would def return!!
Location of this hotel can't be beaten either, just off Little Collins we were walking distance to so many restaurants & attractions and very close to tram stops. We could not recommend this hotel enough and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussieTravelAddict8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear AussieTravelAddict8,

Thank-you for your lovely comments after you and your friends recently stayed with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our renovated Studio Apartment and that your friends were also happy with their stay in the larger One Bedroom Apartment. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to arrange a future stay in Melbourne, we are only too happy to assist you.

Kind regards,

Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#145 of 161 in Melbourne
250 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#91 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $86 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing