We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great position; generally good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #79 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great position; generally good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

While at the bar on Friday evening, there was one particular young male bar person who by-passed several patrons while appearing to not really be doing much. However, other workers provided good service. Unfortunately the remnants of smoking still lingered in the room in which we stayed. The view was lovely and no road noise was discernible but noise could be heard from the corridor and adjoining rooms, quite distinctly. Breakfast was lovely - lots of variety and quite tasty; attractive park view. Service at Reception was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to update your recent stay at the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street on Trip Advisor. While in the most part it seems like you had a great stay, I apologise that we let you down in a couple of areas. Rest assured all feedback helps us improve and wherever possible the areas you noted will be addressed.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mercure in the near future.

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    765
    323
    72
    25
See reviews for
300
637
143
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Stayed at the hotel and was ideal for what we were after. We were after a budget, but good standard hotel and enjoyed our stay. Only other comment was bathroom was a little dated and shower head a bit low, but for what we were after - a basic room in the CBD - it was all we wanted. Very quiet even though we were in a room on Sprong Street.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_T61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
Many thanks for the feedback.

It was very pleasing to note that you found the hotel well suited to stay at, after a night out in the CBD.

We hope to see you again in 2011.

Kind regards,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We come to Melbourne for a concert at Rod Laver , The motel was so Close to it we could here the sound check from our balcony.
The room was great and the bed was very comfty!!!
The service was excellent one of my friends fell over on the steps and stubbed her toe( she Falls over all the time very clumbsy) and the guy at reception was very good with her , he had her fixed up in no time !!!
And the brekky in the morning was sooo good just what we needed after a big night out!!!
I will be staying here again !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Many thanks for taking to time to update your experience at the Mercure Melbourne on Tripadvisor.

It was certainly pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and will return. I hope you enjoyed the Eagles concert.

I will share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming back.


Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

When I booked into the hotel I I asked about the cost of having internet. I was informed that it was $27.95 per day. I have NEVER struck internet costs this high. However I was told that this was the maximum possible rate - and that if I did not stay connected the whole time, and/or used less than 100Mb the cost would be lower. I was also told that the management could not help the cost being this high - this is what the provided chargd and they were simply passing on costs. This is a totally unbelievable story, given the costs. This is an obvious case of "you've got them now - so charge the hell out of them".

When I booked out the interent cost on checking out, it came to well over $90 for three days. I asked how this could possibly be as simple mathematics indicated that it could not be this high. The surly person behind the counter adjusted the cost downwards to three times $27.95. Somehow, in spite of the fact that I unplugged the cable whenever I was not sending an email, and that emails were brief, I was charged the full amount per day.

This is a case of "nickle and diming". Present a facade of relative cheapness, and then charge for EVERYTHING at an exhorbitant rate. It is dishonest and it is an insult to the clients.

Hence I will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 218JohnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Brisbane Traveler

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Melbourne.

We strive to ensure all customers have a pleasant experience at the hotel, however I sincerely apologise that the Internet charges have tarnished your visit.

The internet services have been established at the hotel with the market standards in mind. All charges are clearly communicated at the home page prior to purchase. Please be assured there is no intention to mislead the purchaser.

If there has been a technical issue in your case, causing a discrepancy with the charges, please feel free to contact myself directly and I would more than happy to review the account.

I am happy to advise that for customer convenience, we have recently introduced 30 minutes free access to wireless internet in out lobby and restaurant.

Thank you for sharing your experience and should you allow us the opportunity to assist with your accommodation again in the future, please contact myself directly.

Yours Sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Comfortable, affordable, clean, facilities available excellent, staff friendly and helpful and centrally located to city activities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Thanks for sharing your experience.

It always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#58 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#57 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#96 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#81 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Lime restaurant, bar and conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing