We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #70 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

The staff were friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a view over Treasury Gardens which although on a busy street was not noisy. The room was fine except for the stains on the carpet. The bathroom definitely needs updating as it was extremely small with a shower over the bath. We ate out for breakfast but had dinner in the dining room one night. The dinner menu was very ordinary as was the food but the service was good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cebazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Dear Cebazat,

Thank you for your recent visit the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We strive to ensure all customers have a great stay, and while it was pleasing to note that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, I sincerely apologise that we let you down in the restaurant. Most certainly your experience should be favorable and I will certainly address you comments with the restaurant team to ensure improvement.

Cebazat, many thanks again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future


Kind regards

Phil O’Brien.
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    837
    345
    77
    27
See reviews for
331
693
156
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

I had a two night stay at the Mercure Melbourne. Though it was overall a clean hotel, there were some small issues which took away from my overall stay.

Front desk service ranged from polite on my first encounter to outright rude towards the end of my stay. I was traveling for leisure and had front desk staff ignore me for the business travelers, which I found both amusing and irritating since I’m usually a business traveler who stays in hotels 5-7 weeks a year. The room was smallish and I was obviously placed in one of the worst rooms in the house –close to the elevator, no view, and hard twin beds. The washroom was cramped with a slightly leaking toilet and no counter space. The water handles on the shower faucet fell off easily and the shower was spastic in strength with inconsistent temperature.

On a positive, the hotel is located by the tram lines and close to Chinatown, the main train station and several shopping streets. While accommodation in Melbourne is higher priced, the Mercure Spring Street could have done much more to earn their rating.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank game_misconduct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Internet fees were ridiculous
TV channels were very limited
Room was very small
Bathroom was even smaller
Location was alright, but not very close to shops and restaurants

Overall, it was bearable. But for the price and star rating, there are many other, better hotels in the city. I recommend Novotel on Collins St.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Dear aiueo

Thank you booking the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street and updating your comments on Tripadvisor.

We greatly value all feedback and strive to meet all guest expectations.

I sincerely apologise that we have let you down on this occasion. We have noted your concerns and wherever possible we will address them.

Apologies again from myself and the team.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

We booked this online via a "secret hotel" deal. Previously we have had great hotels this way. It cost $179 for 1 night and $79.50 for the other three nights. If we had paid the rack rate I would have been outraged. Reception is tiny, but the staff (only ever one person) were very pleasant and polite. The first hitch was when we went to our room - only to find another couple emerging from it. They had checked in 10 minutes earlier. Could have been tricky! We towed back down from the 6th floor, and they apologetically gave us another room on the floor below. The room described on our paperwork said "stunning city view". We had a huge concrete wall outside our window. Although the room was clean, it was tiny and sparsely furnished. It is the first time I have been in a hotel room which does not have a single drawer for one's clothes. We mentioned it to reception, but were informed that as it was a standard room it did not include drawers. On going out later, we returned to find our door cards did not work. It happened 3 times in all. Grrrrr. Basically, we got what we paid for. A very basic room with dodgy door cards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mctKalmundaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Dear mctKalmundaWA,


Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street.

Our goal is to ensure all customers have a great stay however sincere apologies that it was not the case in your experience.

Most certainly you should have had a trouble free stay, and most the concerns you encountered could have been avoided with closer attention to detail. Rest assured the team will learn from this, in order to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

mctKalmundaWA apologies again for any inconvenience experienced. Should you allow us to assist with your accommodation needs in the future, please feel free to contact me, and I will be more than happy to ensure true Mercure service is experienced.

Yours Sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Cook
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We booked this room through the channel seven show, coxys big break at a special rate of $129 with breaky. As it was our anniversary we thought we would have a night out. On arrival the very friendly receptionist after hearing of our special day gave us the garden view room, and what a great view it was. The room while not of a large size as it was only a standard room was roomy enough and comfy, but the bathroom is very small. The toilet is too close to the sink, maybe if the bath was removed and shower only, it would make more room. We had room service twice, the food great plenty of it and not expensive, and served with very friendly and chatty staff. We also went to the bar at happy hour and the bar lady was also friendly, Top marks for having friendly staff. Love the idea of breaky til 11am, hate having to rush. While the breaky was good i thought it was pretty average and not really worth the full price of $25. Maybe $20. Went to get the fried eggs only to discover they were all with very runny yolks, and while this is only a minor gripe i asked the chef if there were any with hard yolks but being from another country he did not understand me properly, and the juices not labelled but as i said only a minor gripe.
Checkout also good, will stay again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Dear Diane90

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street and updating your experience on TripAdvisor

We greatly value feedback from our customers and rest assured where ever possible the concerns you noted will be addressed.

It was really pleasing to note the positive comments regarding the team.

Diane90 many thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future
Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed in a priviledge room at Aus. Dollars 249 per night for 2 nights on single occupancy basis. At this rate facilities included mineral water and welcome chocolate as facilities offered .On checking in it was noted that both were missing . Even after pointing the same out to the front desk ( who promptly phoned housekeeping ) the next day the same was not adhered to . I did have a housekeeping person come and state that the room was cleaned ... while not addressing what was pointed out . I let it go assuming that the hotel was perhaps short of these items.
On the positive side a room service meal ordered of fish and chips was very well made and good while on the down side the hot items as mentioned for their morning breakfast buffet service were indeed cold items.. and most dishes were close to empty . Also the size of their bathroom was very small .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Dear ipk9

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Melbourne Spring Street and updating your feedback on TripAdvisor

We greatly value all feedback as it is with this improvement is achieved.

I sincerely apologise that we have let you down on this occasion. Rest assured the areas you noted will be addressed in order to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

Apologies again from myself and the team. Should you allow us the opportunity to assist you with accommodation in the future, please feel free to contact my self directly and I would be more than happy to ensure a comfortable stay.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

While this hotel and its rooms are a bit tired and the rooms are somewhat small and bathrooms even moreso, the service that we experienced on our stay was exceptional and this more than made up for it. We were originally checked in to a room (I think any room that end is a 3 will be like this) that was not only next to the lift well, but seemed to have the lift well as part of the room. Having stayed here before and getting the same room I rang and asked to be moved. The staff were excellent, they immediately did something for us and upgraded us to a room on the other side (garden view) of the hotel. From this first positive experience of their customer service everyone seemed to be very helpful will and able. Overall a better experience than we were expecting given the rooms and for anyone on a tight budget this hotel is excellently located (City Circle tram very close) and has excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crui5erFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Dear Dat68s

Thank you for the positive comments about your recent visit to the Mercure and taking the time to share them on Tripadvisor.

We greatly value all feedback as it allows us to monitor and improve our services. It was especially pleasing to note that we were able to turn around a potential issue into a positive outcome with great service.

Dat68s thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#81 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Mantra on Jolimont
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing