We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we went to watch the ashes at the MCG. The hotel is lovely, clean and modern, They serve excellent food and the staff are very friendly. We were within walking distance of the MCG and the city centre. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We appreciate your positive review. I am pleased that you enjoyed both the service and the food from Lime Restaurant. Thank you again for your feedback.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good hotel, great caring and friendly staff, walking distance to the MCG for the Cricket and Melbourne Park for the Australian Open Tennis. Breakfasts and an evening meal in the restaurant were fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KayeandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your fabulous feedback. We really appreciate the positive review. Yes, we are very fortunate to be so close to many local sporting events. We look forward to seeing you again soon with so many fantastic sporting events in Melbourne!
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for three nights primarily for the Australian Open. The location is brilliant as we were able to walk everywhere that we needed to go, including the Open and Lygon Street.

We opted for the upgrade to the privilege room, which came with wifi, coffee machine, magazines, ONE bottle of water a day, newspaper, bathrobes and a balcony. Now, to book the upgrade or to not book the upgrade! mmmmm.. don't book it if you are wanting it simply for the wifi, as for the majority of our stay, our wifi didn't work! We asked the management many times and they were very good at trying to make it work but it basically didn't. My husbands phone picked it up occasionally but it would drop out all the time. We really didn't used the balcony as it was so dam hot!

The bathroom was very small but the shower very roomy. The staff were very friendly and extra things were delivered as we asked for them, such as pillows and extra towels. The coffee machine was nice to have as were the T2 teas. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I am very fussy with my beds as have a bad back.

One disappointment was the set out of the large desk which basically accommodated the power points. This was incredibly disorganised, with all the power points up one end and none down the other, which meant everything was cluttered up one end - such as coffee machine, kettle, laptop, phone charges etc.. they should really just install another double power point down the other end.

We didn't eat in at all, as there are so many lovely places to eat and I would really recommend Café Excello for breakfast just up the road. Family owned and fresh wonderful food.

Upon check out we had a taxi booked for us to take us to the airport. I was really impressed with the front staff when they offered us a private chauffeur car to the airport for a flat rate of $60. What a fantastic thing to do!! thanks so much - we had a bottle of water, lovely driver and a gorgeous comfortable car to travel in ! So worth it and a great option as a taxi would have been close to this anyway.

Would I stay here again - yes. Would I book the upgrade - probably not.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and we had no outside traffic noise and we were facing the road/gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 360lovetotravel360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kes08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a very well presented hotel .Staff where lovely very helpfully,have no complaints and would stay again .Very good position for the Australian open ,or just to visit Melbourne for the weekend ,the treasury gardens opposite are lovely .tram straight outside the door .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gbwalsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family had a good stay in a twin garden view room with queen beds - perfect for our family of 4 with 2 children. Very good for a Mercure hotel. Service was excellent. Good bar/restaurant. Modern renovation. Good location in city with easy access to free city circle tram. Very nice buffet breakfast. Lots of free newspapers. Parking downstairs is very squashy - I advise parking in the nearby Wilson carpark. Late checkout Sun - 2pm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the twin garden view room with two queen sized beds met your requirements. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding the team and your experience in the restaurant for breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for a conference at a more expensive neighbouring hotel.
The Mercure is located just opposite the Treasury Gardens. It;s a great place to be based to access the CBD and the rest of Melbourne, easily walking distance from restaurants, bars etc. The Treasury Gardens were a nice place for a morning stroll, or for a jog for those more active than myself.
Rooms are a bit small and on the basic side. They are very clean though, as you would expect. Rooms at the rear of the hotel have a view of a car park (and a few sky scrapers). The front of the property is much better, with views of Treasury Gardens. I had an issue with a crew from an airplane deciding they were going to party in their rooms, so constant slamming of doors and shouting down corridors well into the night. Delightful people. I called reception, who were great about it and upgraded me in the middle of the night to a superior room.
Breakfast was very good but way too expensive for my taste. There are plenty of cheaper breakfast bars nearby. The hotel has a nice looking bar, although I didn't drink there.

It's definitely a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Treasury Gardens. Ask for a room not on the same floor as airplane crews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DATbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mantra on Jolimont
#98 of 161 in Melbourne
1,846 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 161 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing