We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy Treasury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Trendy Treasury”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were warmly greeted on arrival and check in was fast, efficient and the staff were very helpful. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller but modern and adequate. The room lighting however wasn't adequate, very dim and the desk light didn't work. The bar and restaurant are on the ground floor and overlook the Treasury gardens and so a pleasant outlook whilst having dinner. Our meals were of good quality and we shared a delicious dessert tasting plate which was huge so recommend that for the sweet tooth. Despite the friendliness of the staff, the general ambience was just a bit clinical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Post4sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    849
    348
    79
    28
See reviews for
337
702
158
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here after getting a great deal on the room. Very happy!. Great location, a quick walk into the city and all its great restaurants and laneway cafes.
Room was not huge, but it didnt need to be. Large comfy King bed. Tastefully renovated. Clean shower and bathroom.
At the top of the city with views over the park, and bathed in sunshine in the morning!
Great service from the staff. Would DEFINITELY book again at this hotel/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew1971Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review, the team really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights 12th & 13th April in Room 412 it was a Privilege Room with a balcony with views of the MCG,AAMI Park,Rod Laver Arena the Hilton in front of us and the spire of St Patricks and the Park Hyatt sign to the left of us..
Room had bright striped carpet and the bed head was amazing. Our one was of the old GPO arches-it seems they have used Melbourne icons there is even one with Flinders Street Station.
We have been all over the world and never seen anything as good as this.
Everything was so clean the bathroom was small but adequate with a large walk in shower but no bath, the wash basin was oval shape big enough to bath a baby in, They could have got a good 6 inches each side for extra space if they had used a smaller basin.
There is a 4 rail towel holder at the back of the toilet we were lucky our toilet bags have hooks so they fitted on one of the rails perfectly as the space around the basin is a bit small.
The room came with a Nespesso machine and pods were supplied also free internet and water and a cute little box of really nice fudge,
I did not see any of the other rooms but I can say the Privilege Room is really good.
It is a good size and of course with the balcony it seems quite large and traffic noise is no problem even with trams running till late into the night.
The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen and good pillows.They have a pillow menu just dial 7.
The staff were excellent everyone we came across had a greeting and a smile.In fact our first encounter with staff was on the footpath-we had just arrived in a taxi and our case was put on the footpath-we turned to go up the stairs at the hotel entrance when a young lady picked up the case and said"I will put it inside for you" she must noticed the look on my face because she said"It's alright I work here". She had been waiting outside the hotel for her lift home.
So that was the start of a good weekend at Mercure Treasury Gardens.
You get a card to swipe the outside of your door to enter but better still you swipe the lift and choose your floor-that is an excellent security measure as the lift won't work until it is swiped .
Now the Breakfast buffet this is really something-we were there for 2 mornings and there was no way you could get to try everything.The Prawn & Ginger Dumplings are not to be missed our second morning we were much later for breakfast and when we lifted the lid"No Dumplings"-not a problem a little later out came a fresh new batch. They were topping up the food all the time and I might say it was all top quality food.
I am saying this because the breakfast is $25 pp we have paid $43pp at a 5 star hotel at the top of Collins Street and these two breakfasts were very much the same in fact in some things the Mercure Treasury Gardens was better.
We had lunch and Dinner both days and the food is really very good.
There is a desert that is so yummy-white Chocolate and Cardamon Kulfi with Pistachio crumbs and shredded orange peel.
We had Braised Shanks one night I think they must have cooked them all day they were so tender. The Duck and Green Papaya Salad is a great taste and they have a Cob loaf served with Olive oil and Balsamic vinegar the Cob is big enough for 2 people.
We are booked again to return next week and then at the end of the month we are booked into the Executive One Bedroom Suite.
Not sure if I will be allowed to give a review on the Suite room as I think you have to have a 3 months wait before you can do a Tripadvisor review on a previous hotel you have stayed at.
We are glad we have found the Mercure Treasury Gardens it's nice to have a change and the bonus is we have found food that we enjoy
We thank you all for making our stay enjoyable..

Room Tip: The view of the Treasury Gardens is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here with my mum during a recent trip to Melbourne to attend a wedding at the Treasury Building, so this was the perfect hotel as it was only 5 minutes away! The hotel reception was friendly and accommodating and check in was smooth (I've done all my bookings through Agoda.com, they've never failed me). The rooms are clean and well-kept, featuring a contemporary design. Didn't have much of a view though, was facing an alley but i could still see some parts of the Melbourne skyline. I spent an evening at the hotel's Lime Restaurant and Bar - the service was lovely but my only disappointment during my stay was that the bar closes quite early. The Treasury Gardens are across the road - nice for a stroll when the sun is out.

A special mention to the front desk - one of my friends took quite a fall and suffered some cuts and bruises, and the front desk were quick to make arrangements to send him to the nearest hospital.

It's not located in busiest part of the city, which is quite nice, but if you plan to walk to the main streets, it takes around 15-20 minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mleong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel purely from a special off the TV. We were expecting nothing but a somewhere to stay the night- we couldn't have been more wrong. As people who normally stay at 5 star hotels- we were amazed at the 5 star service we received. Check in was extremely friendly- offering us a choice of wine when asked if sparkling was included- we were told no- but next thing I knew they had organised a bottle for us. They made sure we were on a high level so we had a good view of the gardens (which was beautiful- especially at night).
The rooms while on the smaller side, but decorated very nicely, with wonderful heavy block out blinds that worked a treat. We slept so soundly in the room- even though, in the morning, the sun was shining- we couldn't tell. The bathroom is extremely small & probably the only disappointment- especially as there was nowhere to put your toiletries, including a hair straightener/ hair dyer.
Breakfast was again a surprise- a huge variety and again- nothing was too much for them- Gluten Free bread and poached eggs (even though they weren't on offer) were no problems for them.
At check out again the service was superb- I enquired about getting a Heard Sun newspaper- which were all gone and Tanina went and got her own from out the back!!!
We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
This is what we strive for and I was thrilled to read that you had such a great stay and that the team was accommodating from all sides. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our basic double room was $120 a night (for two nights) thanks to a website deal. Bargain.

The room was bright, colourful and modern, and looked to have been recently refurbished. Fun liquorice-allsort carpet and cool black-and-white bedhead art. Minor complaint: The bathroom, while nice, was small and cramped. When a towel slid off the hanging rack, it landed in the toilet bowl.

The hotel's in a great spot on the south-eastern corner of the CBD. A short walk to some cool Flinders Lane restaurants (try Chin Chin for some creative Asian cuisine).

The reception desk organised our ride to the airport - a punctual shuttle-bus for a pretty reasonable $17 per person fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allansford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our checkin was fantastic with Ryan. Nothing was a hassle for him to help my daughter and I.
I have stayed lots of times before at this mercure but I have to say this was the best reception I have had.
We ordered room service and it was delivered promptly,friendly staff again and food was just fine.
The room had a really comfortable bed and was clean and quiet. the bathroom on the small side but adequate. Airconditioning/heating system worked fine.
I have always loved this hotel for its close location to many venues including mcg and rod laver and to bridge road richmond and to shops in the city. Only downside in priviledge room was the choccies were not nice and I would have loved a good magazine to read. T2 great!
Thanks very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlie2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#82 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#67 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Jolimont
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#72 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing