We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good experience overall.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #76 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

i would of preferred a high rise but the hotel was fully booked out.
I noticed the coffee in the lobby wasn't up to the hotel standard though.
staff were friendly and helpfull, room was very clean and i was a nice couple days overall

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank osamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great location close to everything and the rooms are nicely decorated and modern , the beds were really comfortable. The staff were really helpful and friendly and I had room service one of the nights and it was lovely.
The block out blinds were fantastic so much so I'm looking to have them installed in my own home... The only downfall would be that the rooms and bathroom in particular are quite small but we were out so often it doesn't cause to much of a bother. I would stay here again no hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOJO74_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I ended up here through a lastminute.com secret 4 star deal.

Check in was handled quickly, efficiently and professionally. I was offered a complimentary late checkout on the spot which was a good gesture and a soft sell to join Accor's loyalty program.

My room on the 7th floor was small to medium sized, kind of L-shaped at the back of the building. It over looked nearby buildings and a bit of a courtyard. Not a great view, but not claustrophobic either. Everything in the room was spotlessly clean and in good working order. Kudos for an ipod dock, for powerpoints in sensible locations and aircon that is thermostat controlled and can be completely switched off if one wants to. My only major gripe is that the only time I've encountered a smaller hotel bathroom was when travelling in Japan. Another small criticism is that the lobby is bland and soulless, the corridor to the lifts on the ground floor looks like the service entry and hallways on each floor are also a bit bland and industrial looking.

Not bad overall however - especially at the discounted rate I paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden view side appear to be a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to receive feedback and are constantly working on ensuring the overall upkeep of the hotel. We are currently reviewing the hotel’s lobby decor; there are some changes planned for the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Karen Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

On the whole if you are looking for personality don't expect it here. Its a standard box hotel with an emphasis on fitting in maximum number of rooms. No extras. The reception is like a ticket booth. Dining - restaurant meal average. Its in a more expensive part of town in terms of eating options outside the hotel. Will need to walk a little further for a range of cheap eats.
I had a top floor room with view of gardens which I requested and paid for and this was great. Bright and chirpy modern decor in the room but the bathroom was made for one - just.
Service is rated low as the only connection with service was checking in and checking out and a meal in the restaurant. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank msova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

I was sorry that you did not have more interaction with our team during your stay and that you scored the service as low due to this. The personality of any hotel certainly has a lot to do with the people and experience you have during your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the garden view and modern decor and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very good location and good surroundings. Room was clean and tidy. Meals were good.
Staff are friendly and efficient. Carpark is a major problem particularly if one has a large vehicle. Alternative parking is available a few minutes away however. This is the major draw back with this hoteland, the fact that the bar does not stay open very long. It has been disappointing to return after a footy match at the MCG only to find that the bar is iether closed or about to close. We will be staying there again soon, and providing the features praised above remain as good, well into the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pixal162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Perfectly located in Spring Street, this hotel offers a great base for business. The renovated rooms are stylish and comfortable, and the staff are exceptionally helpful. For best value book well in advance and choose a garden view room. Skip breakfast for better options in Melbourne's many cafes close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Aus841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your favourable review, we appreciate you passing on your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

While this mid-range hotel has a great location, that is just about all it has going for it. I had a top floor room which would have had great views across the gardens, except that when the sun came up it was almost impossible to see through the grime on the window. That left the room, which was definitely on the small side such that every time I tried to walk around the bed I tripped on the legs of a very stupidly designed desk chair that was crammed between the bed and the desk. Had it had rollers on it I would have rolled it out of the way altogether, but it was next to impossible to move. The trip to the shower was even more disappointing. A tiny trickle of hot water at first soon dried up to nothing. Might have been worth $50 a night. Will never return.

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so I can address the issues that you had and we can be made aware of the room you were in to ensure no recurrence. Once again please accept my apology that your stay was not enjoyable.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 162 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 162 in Melbourne
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#80 of 162 in Melbourne
983 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing