We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, professional service and a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Perfectly located in Spring Street, this hotel offers a great base for business. The renovated rooms are stylish and comfortable, and the staff are exceptionally helpful. For best value book well in advance and choose a garden view room. Skip breakfast for better options in Melbourne's many cafes close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Aus841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your favourable review, we appreciate you passing on your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

While this mid-range hotel has a great location, that is just about all it has going for it. I had a top floor room which would have had great views across the gardens, except that when the sun came up it was almost impossible to see through the grime on the window. That left the room, which was definitely on the small side such that every time I tried to walk around the bed I tripped on the legs of a very stupidly designed desk chair that was crammed between the bed and the desk. Had it had rollers on it I would have rolled it out of the way altogether, but it was next to impossible to move. The trip to the shower was even more disappointing. A tiny trickle of hot water at first soon dried up to nothing. Might have been worth $50 a night. Will never return.

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so I can address the issues that you had and we can be made aware of the room you were in to ensure no recurrence. Once again please accept my apology that your stay was not enjoyable.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Hotel is in a great location, only a short walk to the centre of Melbourne, the tennis centre, Riverside and lots of cafes and restaurants.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful and the room comfortable enough. We stayed in a twin Queen room so I can't say what the standard rooms are like.

The decor of the room was a little strange with loud colour schemes and unusual bedheads but it seemed clean enough.

As an Advantage Plus member , for breakfast, I chose to walk a couple of minutes around the corner and make use of the dining room at the Sofitel which is convenient if you want a more relaxing experience.

My main criticism of the hotel is the tiny (very tiny) bathroom

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrvan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback on the location, cleanliness and service. Just to explain the theme behind our bed heads, these are in keeping with the region, the various modern images highlight attractions and famous architecture within Melbourne CBD. We value your patronage as an Advantage Plus member and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxykat79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

To my surprise the room, its decor, the bathroom, the sheets, the view excellent..
Appealing, comfortable and so clean. Good customer service and welcoming staff.
The cost of the mini bar products, the paid tv serivce and cost of parking blew the budget..
Room for improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevanja_ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. At the edge of Melbourne’s CBD, and overlooking the beautiful Treasury Gardens, it is walking distance from a lot of central Melbourne’s attractions. Okay, walking to Queen Victoria Market may not be for everyone, but it can be delightfully exploratory walk.

The rooms are small, with very little navigation room. The bathroom is really small, and would be really difficult to navigate for a generously proportioned person. Most requirements for a business traveler are there, but chargeable such as the net. Adaptors can be borrowed if available. There is an ironing board, and an electric kettle. A huge poster of Flinders Park Station is the only aesthetic touch in the room.

Breakfast at Lime Café Bar was average, very businesslike. Which isn’t great as the staff was not really open to suggestions or questions. The fare was quite basic too. But it has a nice view of the park, and its white theme with fluorescent mint touches are soothing.

The corridors are pretty poorly lit, and once I got stuck in the lift and pressed the emergency button, but no one came. Finally I prised the door finally and walked down the staircase, and there was no one to help. There is little to distinguish between a lift door and room door, and you have look a fraction longer to be sure you are pressing the right button.

Opt for it if on a budget. Accor itself has a large number of hotels in the vicinity, and there are many others around too.

Room Tip: Garden view always!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I am pleased that the location suited you on this stay however we aim to offer a lot more that just location. Your comments have been noted and passed on to our team to ensure we offer a high level of service at all times. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and ensuring a more memorable experience.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for work. Arrived late & the staff were very friendly. Conference was at the Sofitel around the corner so this was perfectly located. Only a 2 minute walk over. Rooms are very clean & the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast room service was quite expensive and there wasn't many other options downstairs for food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
1,915 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#93 of 161 in Melbourne
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $109 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing