We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great CBD location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

At the top end of Melbourne, this hotel is good value for money. Clean with a very comfy bed. Overnight parking around the corner was great - could park all the next day until 6pm - and only $30. Great buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macca4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in December, and having got a good deal through the Mercure membership scheme opted for one of the 'superior' rooms overlooking the Treasury Gardens. Most aspects of the hotel live up to the solid reputation of Mercure I've experienced elsewhere (this is the only Mercure I've stayed at in Australia), and it had some really good points, including the location opposite Treasury Gardens, the room art/feature walls and the quietness of the room. However, there were a few niggly points that took the shine off this hotel for me. First, there was a fine layer of dust on several smooth surfaces in the room. Second, the carpet did not look freshly vacuumed. Third, the minibar fridge was so packed with pay-for merchandise it was difficult to put one's own purchases in there. Fourth, the room was advertised as coming with bathrobes, slippers and luxury chocolates. If a hotel is going to offer these nice little touches, it needs to do it properly. The luxury chocolates in question were over-packaged and amounted to two small rectangles of what would basically be called flapjack in the UK, that sat on the border between fudge and miscellaneous mush. It would not have cost much to place a few (not two!) decent chocolate pralines or similar in the room, and would have given a much better impression. Instead, I was left thinking someone was playing a cynical joke on us.
Overall, I would stay in this hotel again, but only on a special rate, and if I'm not jetlagged next time I'll certainly be letting the staff know about any housekeeping issues on the spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BemusedAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed when visiting Melb and once again service was excellent - we had a room on the 10th floor- overlooking the gardens which was a fantastic view - buffet breakfast was good - good location - and able to catch the city circle tram 3 minutes walk away - Will stay again

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank McFarlanesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael5961
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great - a quick tram ride to the CBD or easy walking - the room was clean but disappointed to pay for a city view and get a view of the roof - that is a bit misleading.

I have to complain about the breakfast - it was stone cold 2 mornings in a row - the hash browns and tomato tray had no lid and were inedible - the bacon was also cold and chewy - I think to serve food cold is unacceptable especially after paying about $25 for it. Also just a machine for coffee which was disappointing - much nicer to have it bought around to the table which is the case at most hotels I have stayed in. I would stay again but definitely would not eat breakfast here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I was glad that you enjoyed your stay, however disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable breakfast experience. It is important that we deliver a consistently high breakfast product and I was sorry to hear that this was not the case on this occasion. I agree that you should have received a hot meal, please accept my apology and feel free to request this of any of our team members in the restaurant in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We found this hotel to be extremely conveniently situated for our weekend activities, ie a concert at Hisence arena and attending a cricket match at MCG, plus a visit to China Town. The hotel and rooms were clean and well appointed. Service staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
1,797 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
998 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $101 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing