We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modest Melbourne hotel with great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #74 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A modest Melbourne hotel with great rooms”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here one night post cruise, and managed to both check in early (09.45) and check out late (16.00), though the latter cost $40. However the front desk staff were very helpful and obliging. There are steps up to the hotel and you have to carry your bags as there is no bell service. The lobby was always crowded, in part due to the presence of a conference group with a self help theme, whose participants spent most of the time lounging on the sofas and chairs. However once upstairs our room 306 was great with a balcony and view over the gardens. Excellent King bed, Nespresso machine, air conditioning (it was 40C outside). Reasonably quiet with the balcony door closed, though the trams run outside. there is a bar and restaurant adjacent to the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Karen Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    868
    353
    80
    29
See reviews for
345
713
161
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

To start with we booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds each for 8 people, but was given 2 rooms with 2 queen in one and 1 queen in another. When asked was told we booked through Expedia and they cannot help. The room booked was garden view but one side was the hotel wall and cannot see anything. Had to sleep on the floor to accommodate my family on to the beds. The attitude of the night receptionist was the worst I have seen in Aus, telling me that " I am trying to be a MAN in front of my family" when asked about the condition and facilities. Toilets are so small there is hardly enough room to turn around in the shower. There is no point even in complaining to the reception or the manager. Had paid $1200 for 3 nights for 2 rooms which is not even worth half. The motel we stayed in bellarat was a lot better than this so called 4 Star hotel. Would never recommend to any one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damodara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The front counter staffs are very helpful and friendly. They did a good jobs. The buffet breakfast had enough items to choose and are delicious. The room for family is quite spacious and the double beds are comfortable. The tourist information a bit hard to find and need more brochures.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Karen Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

this is a nice hotel for it location with great access trams and walking distance to mcg and fed square rooms where nice appointed with nice art decor on the walks during my stay the hotel lost hot water which was a pain been in the middle of winter but this stuff happens the staff where friendly enough didn't really eat at the hotel except for few bar snacks that where ok there a plenty of places to eat with in walking distance or quick tram ride, the reverse air con do need a clean thou don't look in the air vents if your a clean freak also they don't put out much heat but the blanket on the bed is warm enough

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family stayed for three nights just before New Year for a city getaway. We have two Children aged 2 and 4. We had a Twin room with excellent views over the Treasury Gardens. The service we experienced was second to none! The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are clean and modern, though the bathroom is a little on the small side especially when you have two children. The breakfast was excellent and once again the staff were extremely helpful at all times. We would certainly have no hesitation in returning or recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is clean, situated in an excellent location near the park and the MCG stadium. Our family of four, 2 adults and 2 small kids, had a blast as downtown was on walking distance, the breakfast had plenty options, and the park view was great. The 2 double Queen size beds served us well. Would definitely go there next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam02468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear that your enjoyed our spacious family room. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards
Karen Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#88 of 160 in Melbourne
381 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
997 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
1,538 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing