We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #71 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Garden views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here with a friend and we were upgraded to a bigger room with a view of the park. Reception was friendly, but quite slow- but the upgrade made up for this. Being an old hotel, the corridors were rather dark and narrow, but once you got to your room it was nice and bright. The rooms have a modern trendy feel- mod striped carpet and photo bedheads with scenes of Melbourne. The rooms have a nice fresh feel, as do the bathrooms- but ours was tiny, but the shower itself was spacious and had good pressure and a good shower rose. It appears that the desk cabinet was not new and although it looked quite good it was a little chipped and could have done with a new top (when the hotel was recently renovated). Our upgraded room had a lovely view of the gardens and the MCG.

We were offered parking nearby for $30 and thought this was too expensive, so we parked at Crown Casino for $10. Breakfast was quite good, although the bacon was barely cooked and they needed to refill the eggs and pastries. The restaurant also overlooks the gardens. All in all a very pleasant place to stay and yes I would recommend the Mecure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhotelsightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    837
    345
    77
    27
See reviews for
331
693
156
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Mercure was good to stay at, as it was close to everything we wanted to see and was very clean and the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed the buffet Breakfast, they had a good variety to choose from.The room was very modern, clean & with nice comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We checked in on the 26th December 2011, 2 adults plus 2 kids (one just over 2 years old, the other 7 months). No on-street parking available and it costs AUD$30 per night to park in the public car park nearby.

We got a garden-view twin queen bed room; however it is on the 1st floor and the window is totally blocked by the trees, cannot see the Treasury Garden at all, it is really a pity!

Room is of good size and very clean. We moved one of the bed (with wheels) to the wall so the baby would not fall off. Air conditioning is quiet and we all slept well. The only problem is the bathroom is really small, and there is no place to hang our clothes even the towels. There is no bath tub and only an average-size shower, shower head is fixed to the wall so I could not bath the kids, could only use damp cloth to clean their bodies which is really unconvenient.

I like the location as it is not too far from CBD where a lot of food choices are available, but away from the traffic and is very quiet. The famous Collins Street is just around the corner; CBD is a few blocks away walking down Collins Street, or taking the tram is also very convenient.

Choices for breakfast are quite limited however it has almost everything you normally have for breakfast; I especially like it here because the kids can eat for free and it cost AUD$28 per adult; unlike Sofitel (just around the corner of the Mercure) that charges AUD$40 per adult and same charge for kids aged 0-16 (no difference if it is a baby or 80 years old).

Overall this is a good hotel and we all enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana_in_Lala_Land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The reception we received was very good. The quality of the room and the view of Treasury Gardens from the 7th floor balcony was also very good. The hotel is located at the top end of town and within easy walking distance from the central delights of Melbourne. Lots of cafes are within 5 minutes walk from the hotel and South Bank is around 10 minutes stroll along Flinders St. Parking is difficult in front of the hotel - we had to double park and wait for five minutes before we could unload the car and overnight parking is only available off-site and is therefore a little pricey. Overall, a comfortable hotel where we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimmers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Annual visit to Melbourne. Hotel in great location for public transport. Perfect for dragging young kids around - trams & trains etc. Had a great time, went to see Melbourne Tigers play, took the kids to the Myer windows.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel was brilliant and the rooms were clean, comfortable and very nice due to the recent refurbishment. The location and service received from staff was second to none. Thank you very much for a plesant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location is great. Close to everything but without the noise. Good rate on overnight parking. An alternative parking garage is available if the hotel parking is full. Relaxed and casual atmosphere. The room was very clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and the shower hot. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing