We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #70 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Thornton, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was my fourth stay at this hotel. It is a gem of a hotel, nice little place at the top end of town. Clean rooms nice view of gardens. My friend and I had a double bed each. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom small but functional, although toilet is a bit of a challege. Room very quiet. Buffet breakfast was included in rate and very nice, everything you could want.. Restaurant overlooks Treasury Gardens, lovely outlook. Bar did good business with happy hour. Staff polite and helpful, stored bags in luggage room before check in time. Parking close by at $25 reasonable. City circle tram stop on corner. Will look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: view of Treasury Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    837
    345
    77
    27
See reviews for
331
693
156
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

this is an ideal hotel to stay if you have work or business at the spring street end of the cbd
the arrangement for parking works well too
the rooms are clean, well maintained and smallish, which is fine for a short stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband had a conference in Melbourne so we spent two nights at the Mercure in Spring Street. This is referred to as the Paris End of town. The hotel has a great outlook. The Treasury Gardens. Great transport nearby. The rooms are older, smaller but extremely clean and we had a Nespresso coffee machine welcome cookies and a balcony. Staff were friendly, service a little slow. The room was very quiet and very comfy. The restaurant serves a good feed at reasonable prices. Breakfast was included with everything you need - hot or cold.

Room Tip: Take the tram to Casino stops at the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiwiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear wiwiani, sounds like you had a great stay.

Glad you enjoyed!

Best regards,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

The mecure spring street is a small but conveniently located hotel. We have stayed there often during the Australian Open and Spring racing carnival and most recently June long weekend. The rooms facing the park are our favourite as they have a small balcony for fresh air. The rooms are well equipped with coffee machine and nice toiletries. The staff are friendly and helpful and provide exceptional service without the stiffness of a five star hotel. The Restaurant and bar provide high quality food and drinks especially if you are pressed for time before a show or game. The city circle tram stops nearby and lots of great restaurants,shops and cafes are in walking distance as is the MCG,Tennis Centre and Federation Square.This is agreat hotel with a relaxed and friendly vibe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Newcastle Traveler

Many thanks for your great support.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace New South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

very welcoming staff on arrival and as usual had my room allocated to me that I had previously requested. which was spotless with all that had been described as being available to me. the views of the treasury garden then onto the fitzroy gardens and the mcg were magnificdnt. Transport by free cbd trams nearby as was parliment station. only a few blocks from the super shopping areas of melbourne, art and cultural musuems, sporting venues, theatres and much more. a wonderful hotel and good value

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KodakBrandyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

we stayed at the mecure spring st for 5 days in May 2011. the location was great. within wallking distance to most places & there were tram stops very handy to the hotel. the room was very nice, we had a great view of tresury gardens & across to the mcg. there was no traffic noise at all, and the air conditioning units were also very quiet, meaning we could have them on all nite. the service was great, our room was cleaned every day and for once the cleaners actually took not e when we left the towels hanging cos we didnt want them changed ( save the planet & al that) most other places leave you that note, but take your towels everyday regardless.
we didnt dine in the restaurant , but the bar staff were very helpful & friendly, we sat round the bar having a few drinks most nites. They were also very proffessional in dealing with the drunk aborigines who happened to be staying in the hotel ( no bother & no fuss)
for the price I would recommed it as a great place to stay.
Jane Gadsby

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Jane

Great to read you enjoyed your 5 day stay and thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing