We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, breakfast average, small bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #76 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide
4
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Location! Location! We like the location of this hotel and always ask for a park view room. What lets this hotel down is the breakfast which is very average and misses nice breads and fresh fruit like apples and bananas etc. Cereals are sugary and sliced fruit is spoiled by vanilla sticks and other unnecessary adornments. They should leave these foods alone. Grainy breads are absent. The evening meal menu is good (thank goodness).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here with the kids and booked 2 rooms back in September, 2010. Had problems then and again this time. This holiday was for my husband and I without the kids for the first time in 18 years. We booked the Privilege 1 queen bed Garden View with balcony. (Their description upon booking) "The ideal choice for extra comfort. Enjoy Deluxe facilities, plus gourmet tea and coffee, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary internet, welcome chocolate, mineral water, magazines and newspapers. Up to 2 adults" .We decided to splurged a bit and the room was an average $247 over 5 nights = $1235. When I checked in there were people being offered free breakfast for their June special. Oh we should qualify I thought and asked when I began my check-in. "No" the guy said, unfortunately you have booked a different offer. I was a bit upset but thought oh I bet you pay for it with a more expensive room rate. Not so. When I came home I punched in 5 nights starting on a Thursday and checking out on a Tuesday and up it comes free breakfast and a total price of $1165. So the room is cheaper and you get free breakfast? Then on our first morning we opened our door expecting our complimentary newspaper to be outside. No - no newspaper. Hey, hang on, there should be magazines too I remember when wondering about our newspaper. When we went to go out for the day I enquired at the desk. Oh no you have to order the newpapers I was told. WHAT???? And the magazines? They should be on your coffee table. I thought oh no way there aren't any there but I checked when I arrived back as I didn't want to be upset about something that was there and I just didn't see it. When I went back upstairs, sure enough no magazines. I left a note for when the room came to be made up asking if we could have some magazines and found them when we arrived back later in the day. As we had drank the coffee and tea supplies, we looked forward to this when we arrived back only to find the supplies had not been replenished. I couldn't believe it and took the opportunity to ask at the desk for more and if they considered nescafe to be gourmet coffee as listed as one of our complimentary items when booking the room. Yes the young man at the desk nodded. Well the next day as we hadn't had our tea and coffee replenished, I left the mostly empty tray on the coffee table for the rooms servicers to see and guess what? Again we came back to the exact tray of a couple of teabags. Over our 5 nights there, they gave us one hot choc sachet. No tea bags and only decaf coffee. I wasn't going to ask as this is someones job and instead of complaining I just don't go back. This hotel is so handy to trams, MCG and Crown Casino but I'm sorry I will be looking elsewhere next time we come back to beautiful Melbourne. Oh and the complimentary internet for this room is only if you have your own laptop. Printer wasn't working this day to print my boarding passes when I used their computer and I had only used it for 2 minutes and wasn't offered a refund.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Dear crab67tkf

Thank you for choosing the Mercure again on you recent visit to Melbourne. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and I apologise that it was not the case in your experience.

We very much appreciate all feedback as it is with this we can facilitate improvement. Simple services such as the newspaper and coffee should be seamless and I will certainly follow up these and other issues with the team to ensure we get better.

Thank you again, and should you allow us the opportunity to assist with accommodation in the future, please contact myself directly. I will be more than happy to restore your faith in the Mercure.


Yours Sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
bendigo
11
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have been to many hotels throughout the world , and have paid the best for quality..
This was a moment to come to the football... and the position was great the friendly service at front counter poor.. the room which l paid anothr 20.00 for upgraded was poor ..
so l will not be here a again..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We appreciate the feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure.

While it was pleasing to note that you enjoyed the service and location, I apologise that we let you down with the room quality.

I am happy to advise that the rooms will receive a makeover during winter this year and should you allow us to assist with your accommodation again, I am sure you would find the changes to your liking.


Sincerely,

Phil O'Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
1
Reviewed June 7, 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Excellent Reception/breakfast and dinner staff.
It would have been nice to have had the heating on in the room as it was a cold day. The room however did warm up after we put the heating on but took a while.
As I don't like parking in the 'car park' round the corner I travel by train and taxi which causes some inconvenience as we have quite a distance to travel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jai37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during my business trip for almost 20 days. There are few USPs for this hotel and few negatives. USP - its is located in the CBD where market and all other place are at a stone throw away. It is in front beautiful treasury garden.

Negatives - Small rooms and service is slow. Otherwise its OK to saty here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aarora_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for the feedback aarora_98

It was great to read you had an enjoyable 20 night stay at the Mercure.

We very much appreciate your support and your comments on Tripadvisor and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Phil O’Brien.
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 162 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Mantra on Jolimont
#96 of 162 in Melbourne
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#80 of 162 in Melbourne
983 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing