We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #73 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Stayed at the Mercure Melbourne last weekend. Was a great stay and was not noisy at all. Room was small and compact but very tidy and clean. We didn't have a gardens view but were not in the room much to notice. Front Office staff helpful with giving me driving directions and general information. Only a 5 min walk to the central city shopping area which was good. Parking was available but it was offsite which is a nuisance. Apart from that we had a fantastic stay and would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    869
    354
    80
    29
See reviews for
346
715
162
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Found this hotel old and tired and it had that old smell. The rooms have been refurbished but I paid for Deluxe Balcony which was very small and the bathroom was tiny with the toilet placed on an angle like it had just been shoved in. Bathroom Walls paint peeling and plaster work had holes in it. Televisions are old and do not work properly. For the price I paid I could have got alot better. Would not stay again for the price. 2nd Accor establishment in a week that is a let down, Advantage Plus member and I want my money back.

  • Liked — nothing in paticular
  • Disliked — old and over priced
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Small, stylish and comfortable hotel. The rooms has everything you would expect, the beds were comfortable and there was a cute, classy little place next door for drinks. The room was quiet and had a nice view of the park.

The only thing with being on this end of the city, if you're not a fan of walking, is that you would need to take a 1 min cab ride to get anywhere. Walkable to federation square.

  • Liked — Stay here twice, great value for money
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shnookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Location is excellent, staff superb. Noise was not a problem. Not a luxury hotel but it does not claim to be. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moondyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2006

Perfect location, right on the free trolley line (and lots of others not free that will take you farther afield)and with a gorgeous view of extensive gardens across the street. I had no trouble whatsoever with noise and the staff was wonderful to me. There is a mall with a movie theater that shows "small" films just around the corner--perfect way to wind up a busy day of seeing the sights.

This hotel used to be a Sheraton (I think); it's not new but was well designed as a business hotel originally and has been well renovated or maintained. The room and bath were not at all cramped and I didn't pay extra for the wonderful view of the stadium and park.

A convenient place to stay in Melbourne, especially if you can find a good rate.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2005

The location of the hotel was very nice especially if you pay for a room overlooking the Treasury Gardens, which was worth the extra $20 a night. The staff were very inexperienced & they were having trouble. I booked and fully booked my room through an airline & when I went to check in they didn't have my booking & I waited about 30 minutes for them to sort out which they didn't but they gave me a room eventually - I had written proof I'd booked & paid in advance. In the end I found out it was Reception's error. The staff are far too young & not well trained enough but the rooms were very nice & I had the best view onto the Treasury Gardens, waking up to hot air balloons floating by my window each morning. I would stay there again regardless of the inexperienced staff as the location of the hotel was well worth my booking error.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amethyst1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

This hotel is well located and definately worth the rate paid. However the walls are thin! Could hear every tap, toilet flushed, shower etc. - which made for very early morning rises!! Reception staff were rude - but all other service was fine.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank SMMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#87 of 160 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#78 of 160 in Melbourne
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#75 of 160 in Melbourne
1,005 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing